2001 MG ZS Reviews

2001 MG ZS 120+ 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired64500 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 25

Summary:

The car is a very very good car, and they need to keep making these cars

Faults:

Brake pads and discs need changing.

General Comments:

The car is a wonder to drive, and so responsive; sticks to the road like glue.

The seats are very very supportive and comfortable.

The steering I found to be very communicative, and tells you what is happening on the the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2010

2001 MG ZS 180 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Giant-killing cheap blaster

Faults:

Needed a new clutch bracket.

General Comments:

Well if anyone's interested in truth, rather than utterly ludicrous performance claims, I have owned both a Clio 172 and a ZS180. Both are very similar in performance figures, and both are cracking driver's cars. The wider flexibility of the V6 does make a difference in the real world terms; in the Clio nothing much happens until about 4500 RPM, and then it's WAHEY and off you go, great fun, but the lack of low-down torque can be frustrating at times.

The ZS is a raw, old school car; basic inside, but very supportive seats. It is however very communicative; you know exactly what's going on, no traction control to nanny you round the corners. This car will shame many a far more expensive machine, and you can buy them for peanuts now.

And one thing they are never is boring. The rasp of the V6 as the inlet paths open at 3k is wonderful, and the revs rocketing round to the redline is addictive. For a V6, it is surprisingly revvable.

Handling and braking are the best I have ever experienced in a FWD car, and frankly is better than most RWD cars out there.

Buy one, and enjoy annoying German car drivers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2006

30th Sep 2008, 10:36

The only Impreza you'd have dusted is a non turbo. I'd believe you could keep up with the lower powered turbos; WRX, 2000s etc, but would not beat them, let alone dust them!

30th Sep 2008, 11:34

Was the Impreza a WRX or turbo? Or was the other driver racing you? Probably not.

30th Sep 2008, 18:43

What type of Impreza did you leave in the dust? If it was anything with a turbo, I find it hard to believe he was going flat out. At best you might stick with a lower powered WRX from a rolling start.

1st Nov 2008, 17:09

Need help!! I've had my ZS 180 for about 18 months now, have done 27k, not a problem, apart from 1 small annoying 1. Since I've had the car, every now and again, the mileage will read 2222222. It has 70k on clock now. The only way to get it off is to switch the engine off and restart it. The car has gone for fault tests and the garages can't find the problem.

24th Nov 2008, 11:52

I bought one a couple of months ago, stormer of a motor. It wasn't 100% when I bought it, but I'm converted, great noise when you hit the loud pedal but drives lovely when you're in economy (grandpa mode) trying to get the mpgs up.

Timing belt is a scary price from the stealership, but I managed to get a guy to do it for 150 notes.

Perfect family car if you want the option of caning it when you are on your own, and great boot size. Would recommend one to anybody, but if you can go for the 180, the V6 doesn't have any head gasket problems.

1st Dec 2008, 12:15

Where did you get timing belt done? Mine cost me £400 for all 3 from a mate and that was cheap, is yours the V6 or 1.8?

2nd Apr 2009, 07:33

I'm thinking of buying the V6 180 on an 02 plate? 54k very clean and tidy looking? What sort of price is the 02 plate worth???

12th Jun 2009, 09:44

No it's the V6 one okay, just a case of knowing the right people; all 3 belts for £150, couldn't beat that.

2001 MG ZS 120 Plus 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carVolvo V40

Summary:

Most fun car I've owned

Faults:

Boot lid wouldn't close properly - catch adjusted and cured.

Metal spike in rear seat (!) - removed by dealer.

Rattle from engine - cured by dealer.

General Comments:

Wonderfully fun to drive, has so much grip you wouldn't believe it and an incredibly firm ride.

Engine sound is raucous and fun, and although it's only a 120bhp car, it feels like a full on sports car. Makes you want to drive it hard.

Downside is fuel consumption is quite high, but that's probably the way I drive it...

Sports front seats are very grippy and the most comfortable I've ever had in a car - full marks there.

Dashboard is dated though and not enough storage spaces - glove-box is ridiculously small.

Rear seats are quite cramped, but the boot is a good size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2003

31st Jan 2006, 18:27

Don't worry about the dash board looking dated, when you come to sell your car you can call it "retro". Modern style designs will go out of fashion as quickly as MPV~S.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 3 reviews