2002 MG ZS Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2002 MG ZS MG 120+ 1.8 16v MPi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v MPi Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carMG Rover Montego 1.6 LX

Summary:

Extremely Fun car, Handles like its on rails!

Faults:

None! Its only just over 2 years old.

General Comments:

Handling is second to none! I can see from the other reviews that everyone agrees here! Superb half leather seats in looks and feel! 1.8 engine is very willing. Not needed the dealer. Never broken down, well it won’t its only done 18k. Kenwood CD player as standard. Very fun car to drive. Wish apart from the insurance costs gone for the V6 MG ZS 180! Opted for the 5door hatchback incase needing to carry larger loads which it is fine with. I don't think the press drove the ZS by the reviews they gave it. Only the Rover 45 and thought it would be the same and didn't bother!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2005

2002 MG ZS 120+ 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Coupe

Summary:

A fantastic drive and cheap to run too

Faults:

Rear caliper sliders seized, but the calipers had been dismantled by the previous owner to paint them, rubber cover had been split as part of dismantling. Considering the Mileage I have done apart from sliders and a set of pads (fault induced by previous owner) it has been very cheap to run.

General Comments:

This is a cracking car and fun to drive well worthy replacement for my previous Rover Coupe. Handling is great 'like being on rails' and I would imagine that many people would grow horns when they get behind the wheel of one of these. I am so impressed my local dealer has found me a brand new one which I am hoping to take delivery of in September.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

2002 MG ZS 180 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 kilometres
Most recent distance28000 kilometres
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

The best handling fwd by far

Faults:

I had to have a new engine put in at 14000 miles, after the first one starved itself of oil.

Also had to have a new power steering pump put on.

I have had a few other niggley bits, but nothing major.

General Comments:

The best car I have ever owned, it's quick, handles brilliantly and a laugh to drive.

It has plenty of power to have a "play" with other cars on the road and the noise it makes me smile all the way.

I would definitely recommend them over golfs civics etc

Now the price has dropped, everyone should go and buy one, brilliant value for money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2005

2002 MG ZS 120+ 1.8 DOHC from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

Superb to drive and own

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This is a great car to drive!

You may find you don't want to stop when you arrive home, just keep on driving.

Ride and handling are excellent whilst performance is very good for a 1.8 normally aspirated engine.

My previous car was an Ibiza Cupra 20VT and although it was very quick it was nowhere near as relaxing and enjoyable to drive.

The 4-door saloon I have has a huge boot whilst the interior feels classy and well screwed together.

There are no rattles or unwanted noises within the cabin although wind noise can be heard at higher speeds.

A car of this performance returning a combined 38mpg (claimed and confirmed) is excellent and I am very happy with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2004

2002 MG ZS 180 2.5 V6 24v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 24v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance16950 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Pajero

Summary:

A good bargain, there are some good examples for good money and this car will embarrass most

Faults:

Dealer replaced scratched seat back before delivery, which came off. Sorted now.

General Comments:

This car is a black sheep of the Mg Rover group, performs amazingly well o-60 of 7 seconds, it feels a lot quicker than my old Renault 5 Gt Turbo and will keep pulling to 135+

Handling too is absolutely brilliant and Mg have done an excellent job in the suspension setup, however the ride is a little harsh on minor roads!

The interior is dated, but is acceptable and there is nothing which could go wrong unlike the more technical interiors out there.

The car returns over 30mpg on a run and around 22-25 around town which is to be expected for a car of this size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2004

10th Jan 2006, 11:31

Watch out for the head gasket as they are prone to fail early on.

26th Mar 2006, 06:32

The head gaskets only go on the 4 pot, not the 6 pot engines.

1st Apr 2006, 15:10

The 1.4 is not as prone as you might think, I hill climb a Metro GTI with no problems. The gaskets go usually when the engines over heat, the all alloy construction bends very easily also the header tank holds a small reserve of coolant so a small loss can soon cause a lack of cooling.

Day to day I run a wide track 180 saloon, good car, reliable and quick. The handling is definitely it's strongest point due to it's very effective and quite sophisticated double wishbone set up.

2002 MG ZS 120 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance74600 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Does your car get looked at like this one?

Faults:

Nothing, zilch, zero.

General Comments:

OK, it's not the most up to date or knife edged technology, but it is a looker, handles as though it was stuck to the road, paintwork is simply brilliant and after 70,000 + miles, it still shines like new albeit well waxed.

Now the dashboard, some say it's outdated, some say it's plain boring. I suppose they are correct in some circumstances, but then again, with the hi tech versions in some cars, you'd never use any of the gadgets. SatNav? What a joke. How many times have you used it, eh?

Basically, for the price and the fun to drive, not a lot comes close.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2003

30th Jun 2003, 06:09

74000 miles in a year! What do you do for a living?

7th Mar 2006, 17:02

When you can pick one up for a shade over three grand, then I have to agree... When you spend 9K on the sod and keep spending is when I would question it. : (

Paintwork is good though.

2002 MG ZS 120+ 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance6140 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A lot of car for your money

Faults:

No problems at this time.

General Comments:

Very good looking car.

Handles very well and is comfortable even on long trips. I drove from London to Poland, in heavy rain for most of the trip, in 17 hours and didn't feel uncomfortable at any time!

After riding a bike for 6 years I had to buy a car. My choice had a lot to live up to, but I am more than pleased with the ZS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2003

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 10 reviews