2004 MG ZS Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2004 MG ZS 180 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Previous carVauxhall Calibra

Summary:

OK for the money I paid I guess!

Faults:

Cuts out constantly when reducing revs - roundabouts etc...

Poor Handling

Poor Accelleration

Stereo with tape deck - Whats that about??? Whats a tape? LOL

No spare wheel - what good is a can of spray stuff when you have a puncture or blow-out on the motorway?

General Comments:

Not the best purchase ever made. For a 2.5 V6 175BHP, it is sluggish and cannot compete with my 2.5 V6 Calibra (which is 12 years old!)

Handling is very poor, even with 17" profiles.

Interior is very plastic and badly manufactured

But... The good points, it is comfortable inside and cheap to buy as no warranty now! LOL.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th September, 2006

2004 MG ZS 120plus 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Previous carAlfa Romeo 156

Summary:

Great fun, but loook out for niggles

Faults:

Air con needs re gas despite the system being run at manufacturers guide lines. Have a real trouble with the srs warning light constantly on/ can't get manufacturers warranty any longer so I am stuck with a faulty system.

General Comments:

Great fun to drive loads of room in the boot and the flat base colour shines up perfectly. This car is way quicker than I would first have imagined and it corners brilliantly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2006

9th Sep 2006, 13:25

Now had the car a year, frony pads wear badly, gear select oil seal is needing replaced. That said I have had great fun with this car and fully intend running for a least another year.

2004 MG ZS 120+ 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Distance when acquired7555 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carFiat Marea

Summary:

Best value hot hatch type around

Faults:

Had a few niggles with the interior trim and the car has only done 8000 miles.

Rear door not closing properly on occasion and I suspect this is down to the linkage mechanism that is used rather than the central locking itself.

General Comments:

Great fun to drive and will go really well when pushed. Corners like it is on rails.

Have only driven five hundred miles or so and already love the ride to bits.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th December, 2005

22nd Jan 2006, 16:47

Your rear door problem is probably on passenger side. Fit a wsher between each striker bolt betweent he striker and body then it will probably be OK.

Also there are rubber buffers in the door to adjust it and get the closing right, they may not be screwed in far enough.

Depending on what you were driving before, the ZS doors need a bit of a slam as the seal force is high, Good, stops rattles and keeps the car rigid.

2004 MG ZS 180 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance10900 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Steer Clear - Slow + reliability issues!

Faults:

Keeps cutting out when raining, dealer doesn't know what the problem is!

Front windows leak water then fail to open sometimes.

Interior is very poor quality compared to my 323i Y reg BMW.

Paint work starting to peel on the front bonnet!

General Comments:

Poor performance compared to the HYPE of some owners. Isn't and doesn't feel at all quick. My BMW 323i was quicker and FAR better quality.

Engine sounds a bit harsh when pushed and it has "terrible" fuel consumption!

Handling isn't so great either! The car feels too heavy and lazy.

Final straw came after an ST170 Focus blew me from a standing start to well above 70 mph! Was giving the car plenty, but off he went!

I'm more worried about the build and reliability issues of this car though, so will be selling it on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2005

23rd Nov 2005, 12:30

You must have been sold a lemon then mate, these cars outperform a 328 no problem, as I also own a 96' 328.

23rd Nov 2005, 13:24

What did you expect! You bought a peice of junk then wonder why you have all these issues with it?

If you were after a performance car, WHY buy the SLOW ZS180???

You should have got a Seat Leaon Cupra, it would WASTE the ZS any day of the week and won't fall apart or break down. Better still you should have kept the BMW it's a far superior car and its quicker!

ZS180 is NO quicker than the OLD FOCUS ST170.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 14 reviews