1991 Mitsubishi 3000GT Reviews

1991 Mitsubishi 3000GT VR-4 3.6 twin turbo from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.6 twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carDodge Charger

Summary:

Amazing!

Faults:

Mostly very little things, clutch which you need to replaced anyways. But the seats do get worn down, but that doesn't affect much.

The automatic windows, and door locks had to be replaced. Nothing crazy.

General Comments:

This car is truly a beauty, the twin turbo with 300hp and AWD really makes this car separate from the others (GT and SL).

Extreme acceleration and handling make this car amazing for racing on circuits.

Still to this day people still mistake it for a Ferrari.

One of my favorite parts about the car is the many controls such as the stereo, and the amazing feature that allows you to control the sound of the exhaust.

All in all, this car is a very amazing car, and would without a doubt blow my 73 Charger into the dust!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2009

1991 Mitsubishi 3000GT SL 3.0 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance204000 miles
Previous carPorsche 924

Summary:

If it was rear wheel drive, I would never buy anything else

Faults:

Car was behind on maintenance when purchased.

I installed new timing belt twice.

Replaced valve guide seals.

Replaced water pump.

Replaced clutch at purchase.

Replaced CV joints twice.

Speedometer cable broke and was replaced.

Clutch slave cylinder was replaced at 160,000 miles.

Radiator cap keeps wearing out and overheating the car.

General Comments:

Much more reliable than my Porsche.

Good performance value for the money.

I bought the car with lots of problems because previous owner couldn't keep up with maintenance. I dropped $3,000 immediately after purchase to get things back in shape. Since then I have had only minor problems.

Handling is awesome for a front drive car. Very little torque steer. As you pass 100mph the car hunkers down to the road and feels even smoother.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2005

24th Nov 2011, 03:42

GTOs are all wheel drive...

1991 Mitsubishi 3000GT SL 3.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles

Summary:

This car looks great inside and out and is faster than it looks with few problems

Faults:

The clutch just went out at 144000 miles.

The power antenna also broke.

The defrost vents cracked, but this is a very common problem.

Drivers seat has 2 tears in it, this is a common problem.

Any part for this car is rather costly, but that's what you get for getting such a nice car.

General Comments:

My car is a 3.0 liter, v6, DOHC, naturally aspirated sports car.

The blue is the best blue I have ever seen on a car.

This car has always run strong and is very fast even though it is not a turbo.

This is a very fun car to drive, but I am only 15 so its my first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2004

7th Mar 2005, 16:04

I can't believe you own a 3000GT at your age I think you just a wannabe who wants to own one.

6th Dec 2005, 16:50

I got a dodge stealth r/t (same as a 3000gt) this summer. I have had no problems with it. It has 78,000 miles on it and runs like brand new. I love the looks I get with it, everywhere I go it turns heads. And by the way I am also 15 and this is my first car. I love it.

17th Aug 2006, 21:48

The Dodge Stealth and 3000GT are not the same car. They're made by completely seperate companies and this guy obvously had a previous owner hell-bent on killing his car.

18th Aug 2006, 15:40

They are the same car bar a few styling differences and badges on the back and front. Same goes for the eclipse, eagle talon, and plymouth laser lines as they were all shared and were the same car.

18th Aug 2006, 20:37

The dodge stealth r/t and Mitsubishi 3000GT VR-4 are basically the same car just cosmetically different, same as the Mitsubishi eclipse and eagle talon. (Diamond-Star Motors)

26th May 2008, 19:19

Hi there... so your 15 and you have a 3000gt... what's the insurance like? I'm 17 and thinking of purchasing one.

24th Oct 2008, 16:29

Wow, gotta love it when the younger generations are still dying to drive a 17 year old car, I just bought my 3000GT SL this month and I am absolutely loving it!

1991 Mitsubishi 3000GT SL 3.0 N/A from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 N/A Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Speedy, reliable, a wonderful car to use as a daily driver

Faults:

The Clutch went out at 100,000 miles. It put in a good life though.

The main computer went bad at 103,000 miles. Was very expensive to have replaced.

General Comments:

This car has very good power for the engine size and being naturally aspired.

I personally think this car handles great.

Even though it is not the fastest car on the street, it will still turn heads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th April, 2002

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 4 reviews