1992 Mitsubishi 3000GT Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1992 Mitsubishi 3000GT SL 3.0 DOHC from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles

Summary:

A dream ride..

Faults:

My front left strut went bad, but Mitsubishi dealer said the replacement would cost $200 + manual. I went KYB shocks replaced all four. Cost me $220. The handling of this car increased 2 fold. This car's cornering is so impressive I can't believe it.

Then my IAC and ECM blew. Again went the outside route. Got the rebuilt ones saved myself $800.

General Comments:

This car is a dream come true. Fast and awesome. Its '92 and it has seen so much snow, but even today the paint just shines. Sometimes I prefer to spend time with my car than my girlfriend. When I compare both this ride is much better ;)

But of course maintenance on this puppy is not cheap. Any thing goes and you are looking at a steep sticker price. And you mostly have to go to the dealer as they only have the scanner to analyze the computer. And thus you get ripped off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2004

20th Oct 2004, 14:59

I am 18 and have had my 92 3000gt for 2 years now. It has 177k miles on it and I have replaced the engine twice and it just went out again. I love my baby, but I don't think I can afford to keep her anymore. I bought it for 2000$ and I have put about6,500$ into it and still no progress. I don't know what I should do anymore.

5th May 2005, 17:57

To the person who commented before me, here's a concept that works about what you should do. Sell the car. After engine number 2, "I" would not have put another one in it. There are many other 3000GT's like it I'll assure you.

1992 Mitsubishi 3000GT Base 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Faults:

The timing belt jumped about a month after a bought the car.

I had to replace a few valves, a piston, and rebuild the crankshaft.

It was caused by someone replacing the timing belt and not putting it together right.

The overdrive in the transmission went out around 113,000 miles. I haven't got around to fixing it yet.

General Comments:

The car has a lot of power and is very comfortable. If I could afford to buy another 3000GT, but newer I would.

This car isn't for everyone though. They are very expensive to maintain, and hard to find someone the work on them. Unless you want to go to a Mitsubishi dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2004

1992 Mitsubishi 3000GT SL 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

A money-pit sports car

Faults:

Every time I have had to fix my car (4) it has cost me $1000. after having it only 1 month I had to replace the tensioner $900. rebuilding my auto transmission wasn't cheap either.

General Comments:

The car is incredibly fast, and very comfortable. I love the body lines and the overall performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2004

6th Nov 2008, 00:26

Maybe you just got a beat up one. My 1991 runs great.

1992 Mitsubishi 3000GT VR-4 Twin-Turbo 3.0L V6 Twin-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Twin-turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance173000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Nothing can handle better or faster, than this car for under $200,000

Faults:

I bought this car with 170,000 miles on it so I've just recently began finishing fixing it.

Timing belts, serpentine belts, spark plugs and wires all replaced in 60k tune up.

Broke shift linkage to transmission second day I owned it.

Stock clutch went out a month after I bought it. I replaced it with an XTD stage 3 racing clutch (for GTPro 357 turbos '17g')

Brakes had to be replaced, replaced them with drilled and slotted rotors.

Nothing else really, great car for the mileage.

General Comments:

I love this car. I race it late at night from stop light to stop light with whoever dares challenge me. I've only ever lost once and that was to a Mustang Saleen S281 the first night I got my car which, at the time, was missing in 3 cylinders, so it's quite amazing. Although mine is nowhere near a stock vr4, pushing 500hp@18psi, I would recommend a VR4 to anyone who can afford it.

They do require a lot of maintenance, and a driver who knows what he\she is doing, so they aren't for everyone. Serivce is very expensive, but if you do it yourself parts aren't that expensive.

Overall this car is great. 0-60 around 5 seconds and a 0-30 in 1.3 seconds, top speed around 170 and this is all just stock! These cars are wonderful and I will never part with mine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2004

10th Mar 2005, 20:38

What is the gas mileage on this car?

13th Oct 2005, 23:53

Actually there are a ton of cars that will out accelerate and outhandle a VR4 for less than the cost of a VR4 when it was brand new.

Go to an auto cross some day and tell me how many VR4s you see.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 14 reviews