1993 Mitsubishi 3000GT Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1993 Mitsubishi 3000GT GT Twin Turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired103457 miles
Most recent distance143457 miles
Previous carMitsubishi 3000GT

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

ABS Sensor light came on, but it was a sensor (Common problem) Under pulley broke causing fan belt to get chewed up. Had a racing lightweight pulley installed and new belt adds about 2-3 HP. About 350.00

A/C upgrade blows ICE cold. New vented rotors and racing calipers (about 450.00 parts and LABOR) Stops on a dime. That's it. Engine rebuilt prior to my owning runs great.

General Comments:

Super fast (watch out for police) My sons a cop and that has gotten me out of many tickets. Handles like a Porsche even better, on the oversteer factor. Looks great and turns heads like you would not believe. Big time chick magnet. Definitly NOT for the weak and timid driver it demans High test and I use Lucas's fuel additive every other tank full. Great on slippery or snow covered roads of Southern Ohio. Has saved my life at least once when on freeway (people down here have NO clue how to drive.) The overall most comfortable long driver I have ever owned. If you can find one that is NOT beat to hell grab it drive and hold on to your (#$%^^@#$)!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2005

1993 Mitsubishi 3000GT vr-4 V6 twin turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Very fast great looking car that handles great!!!

Faults:

Nothing at all runs great, but I still need to take it in for the transfer case recall.

General Comments:

Found a great car only 24 k miles very hard to find on a vr4. The car handles like its on rails you can take it through corners at 100 plus easy. The turbos don't lag at all and it is a very fun car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2003

20th Apr 2004, 18:52

I live in north wales u.k, and own a black 1993 3000gt British car with 64000k.i payed £6100 for it last year and could probably command the same if I sold it after one years exhilerating motoring.

1993 Mitsubishi 3000GT vr-4 6 cylinder twin turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

A VR4 rocket

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with this beast is the active aero in the front air dam sticks, and the clutch was slipping so I upgraded to a racing clutch.

Besides that it has performed flawless since I got it.

General Comments:

This is a very fast and affordable car or should I say rocket.

I upgraded the turbos to 20g turbos and nothing can come close to me.

The all wheel drive tears up the road off the line and grips the road through impossible turns.

This is a must have sports car with excellent acceleration and power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2002

5th May 2005, 17:40

You say that it is an affordable car to maintain... for whom? Might I ask. I have heard numerous times.. that this is an expensive car to maintain.

6th Jul 2005, 08:02

I have found no difference in cost to maintain over my ford focus 1.8 petrol hatchback. There is a lot more to go wrong, but I'm sure with regular servicing it would perform as well as most modern cars, depends how you look after it.

27th Aug 2005, 02:22

? I have heard many times that the car has many problems and must be taken to the shop very numerous times. My uncles and relatives, who are all racers, tell me it is a hard car to maintain due to its problems. nevertheless I still want it.

27th Aug 2005, 21:30

I owned a 1992 VR4. Wonderful driving machine when not in the garage. I had numerous problems and I'm a fairly competent home mechanic. Things just went wrong which could not be prevented. It's been awhile since I had the car, but I won't touch another Mitsubishi ever again. Repairs cost a fortune.

31st Oct 2008, 00:33

I have owned a 1994 VR4 for a while now. I have never had any problems. I regularly clean the injectors, change the spark plugs, oil, and other maintenance as scheduled, and the car has maintained peak performance for over 14 years without any need of repair. My particular VR4 has been considerably more reliable and more inexpensive to maintain than any of the other 3 vehicles that I have owned. The only problem with the vehicle is the consistent temptation to want to fly down the road.

24th Mar 2010, 09:07

I daily drive my VR4, 3 years running, never been left on the side of the road. Regular scheduled maintenance has cost me about $1000 + (oil changes every 2k miles(personal thing)). Most people don't do regular maintenance, so when they sell it, buyer has no clue if it's done and/or that it needs to be done (both these people should not own cars).

1993 Mitsubishi 3000GT V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

A great car for anyone under six feet tall!

Faults:

The clutch disk went out along with the slave cylinder. (The lady who previously owned my car sucked at driving.)

My rear windshield wiper stopped working.

My antenna does not go up and down.

General Comments:

It is my "mini-Viper." I just wish it had the same power! I love this car and I am sure it will last me for a long time.

The car does not shake at high speeds (I've only had it to 140mph).

My sister has a '95 Firebird Formula, and her seats make mine feel like a Lazy-Boy recliner (with pedals).

It gets good mileage for a sports car (front wheel drive has a little to do with that).

It handles well on ice and in rain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2001

4th Sep 2001, 10:27

How does front wheel drive affect your gas mileage?

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews