1984 Mitsubishi Colt RC 1.6 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Great car Vince colt will live forever

Faults:

Well the door has no seals at all.

Wheel stud broke

Engine leaks oil

Burns oil

Rear brakes are shuddering - hand brakes.

Revs high in gears because of burnouts and hand brake turns.

General Comments:

The Colt is a beast. It doesn't matter what you do to the car, it never breaks. I've taken it 4wding over massive jumps through parks and yet it still runs fine and starts first go. Bought the car for 400$, and one year later it still runs fine.

One thing, it will struggle to go over 130 kmh, 145 kmh is pretty much max speed. 1st gear will pull 50km max, second 110km, and third 145 max.

The car is great on fuel when not driven very hard.

The hand brake is amazing - you can do great power slides.

Note the car won't do a burnout standstill unless it has a lot of oil on the road.

A lot of jumps over 2 metres high may break the CV joints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2006

1st Aug 2006, 06:02

Vince, what an animal ^^

4th Aug 2006, 09:58

This car sounds like a masterpiece of engineering and mechanics. where can I get one!!

5th Aug 2006, 04:59

You should be able to find one on the side of most major Australian highways without rego plates or windows, wheels etc, that you could have for free, like this one will be soon enough.

18th Dec 2006, 15:51

Dude colts are the best car, I have a 1984 RC Colt 45 and man it rules, my colt has only done 66,000k's and it's the best car I have ever owned.

1984 Mitsubishi Colt GL 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Excellent for first car buyer or first manual driver

Faults:

Passenger window jamming up, needs help when opening.

Window washer motor (front) leaking, had to replace.

Rear window washer blockage.

Electrical problems behind the dash.

Interior light only sometimes works as does in-dash clock.

General Comments:

Difficult to install central locking.

Over-all I am very happy with the car.

Handles excellently even without power steering.

Not much cabin space, although I found the seats to be quite comfortable.

Easy to re-spray.

Cute design.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2004

1984 Mitsubishi Colt 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Its the best rust on wheels ever

Faults:

Car Battery has tended to go flat quite easily, but problem was eventually fixed with a new battery. Runs dry very quickly on oil. Car Boot door no longer stays up on its own (causing some very sore heads). Car seat covers required as seat become very sticky in heat.

General Comments:

Does some great rear wheel burn outs much to friends surprise.

Reads your mind.

Very Slow acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2004

13th Nov 2004, 00:37

How could you do rear wheel burnouts, as it is a front wheel drive car???

1984 Mitsubishi Colt SE 1.4 leaded from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A joy to drive

Faults:

My breaks caused me trouble when the pads came loose.

Then 3 weeks late my transmission died and I had to buy a new one, which cost a lot of money.

General Comments:

I love my Colt she gets me everywhere, when she was off the road I was lost.

I would tell anyone to buy a Colt because they are a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2004

1984 Mitsubishi Colt GL 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

It is cheap to run

Faults:

Air does no work.

General Comments:

It is fast for a small car and handles quite good for a car with no power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

1984 Mitsubishi Colt GL 2.0 leaded from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

It was a very powerful little car

Faults:

When I got the car the only problem was a little bit of play in the steering.

The water pump has just recently packed up.

And the heater doesn't work.

General Comments:

It had a lot of grunt for a little car. It got to about 100km/h in around 9.5 seconds. It didn't take much to get the little front wheels spinning at all.

Lots of people call all Mitsubishi cars rubbish, but if you treat them right they'll be faithful.

It could of handled better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2003

12th Oct 2006, 08:11

I agree, if you treat a car correctly it ill treat you correctly which means taking good care and not HOONING around in them!!!