1989 Mitsubishi Colt Reviews

1989 Mitsubishi Colt GLX 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired204000 kilometres
Most recent distance218000 kilometres

Summary:

She has personality

Faults:

When I first got my Colt, we got on the road for cheap...

The first day of driving the Colt, her back axle stuffed up and needed repair... this was actually surprisingly cheap... it only cost $400...I've had my left CV joints fixed, and her brake drums and petrol pump...

I still have some small work to get done.

General Comments:

I love my Colt. I call her Mitzi or my red rocket... she gets up and goes, and hits 110km and wants more speed!

I plan to take her off the road and clean her up...

She is red now, but when I'm done plum... I'm planning on looking into giving the engine more power... turbo... pump her to a 1.8.

To anyone thinking of buying one, I'd say do it; the car has personality, it's cheap to run and has enough power when you need it...

The Colt is cheap to buy; if you look around I only paid $750, and to me you she's worth loads more.

My 1989 Colt is a beast, and I highly recommend the model to anyone looking for a small sedan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2008

22nd Nov 2010, 02:47

I just purchased a 1989 GL RE for a grand and I love it. It has 112000km on the clock and just needed new shocks and front brake pads. No rust and all interior is original (even the radio).

She can crack more than a ton on the freeway (did 135kmh) but a bit jittery.

1989 Mitsubishi Colt GT Turbo 1.6 liter turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Colt

Summary:

Low 13's for less than $3000

Faults:

Let's start with the bad. The timing belt snapped @ 48,000 miles. I rebuilt it for under $1000.

The ECU needed the capacitors replaced 2 years ago.

Tires keep going bald up front.

General Comments:

If you can still find one of these awesome little cars buy it. They haul ass even as stock.

Want to make it faster? Get a TDO5H/14b/6cm turbo from a DSM and scare all your friends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2001

20th Aug 2004, 21:36

Hey man I just got my 1st clot gt a couple days ago and id like to drive it. I also need a turbo help someone!!

31st Aug 2005, 06:10

Hi. I am Mozeh from Uganda. Just bought a Mitsubishi Colt 16v 1.8-litre GTi (DOHC). It is awesome!! Only Problem I have is the engine makes some funny noise (like vibrations) when running and it quite makes me sick. I was advised to use heavy engine oil, like that of Caltex, but the problem has persisted. Anyone out there guys with a few tips? Otherwise, with this car, I can't think of any other cheaper and reliable sporty machine!!! Thanks.

Reply to mbergzie@hotmail.com.

6th Oct 2005, 00:09

I have a 1989 dodge colt turbo for sale its black has some body damage, but the engine reads 140k on the ticker

hareboy1979@hotmail.com.

15th Jul 2006, 18:32

I brought my 1989 GT Turbo Colt back when it was new off the showroom. There is about 65,000 miles on the engine. That's because it has been sitting in the driveway for about 8 years. But I think it is time to get this puppy up and running once again. I had just replaced the timing belt. But there has been a problem with a water leak in the driver side door. The whole inside except for the driver side passenger seat has been removed. My brother is ready to get it back in running condition and back on the road.

1989 Mitsubishi Colt GTi 16v 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

An often ignored fast hatch, but I love it

Faults:

When I bought the car it was low mileage for the year, with a full service history. So it came as surprise when the cam belt snapped, caused major damage. I had to find an imported low mileage engine which took two months of waiting.

Occasionally the tickover seems too low and makes the car cut out, but this problem seems to have gone now.

General Comments:

I really do like the cars` looks and it is so distinctive and always stands out. The engine is smooth with a unique sound.

Despite it's age, it still looks like new with a very tidy interior, and the exterior is still very smart.

The only gripe I have is the boot is too small for my family, for shopping, holidays etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews