1992 Mitsubishi Colt Reviews

1992 Mitsubishi Colt GTi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Bora

Summary:

If you can find one, buy it, hang on, and sleep well!

Faults:

As the car is a 1992 model (getting on a bit) and I bought it from the North (lot of rain) the underneath of the car was quite rusty. Subsequently, I've had to change the exhaust (OUCH!) as one section was only available from a dealer for £260!!!

My girlfriend was filling up one day and noticed petrol coming onto her feet! The filler pipe going to the tank had corroded through.

Other than 2 oil changes in 2 years or so, the car is one of the most reliable I've ever owned.

Parts though are frankly stupidly priced from the main dealer, considering the age of the car, and because they are a rare car, second hand bits are hard to source.

General Comments:

In my opinion, this is one of the most handsome of all the nineties superminis, with lovely smooth lines and rounded rear end. With 138 bhp as standard in such a light car, do you think this car is quick, YOU BET! I beat a Merc CLK Kompressor from the lights not so long ago, he was very very surprised.

The interior is a little plasticky and the seats could do with more support, but that's about it. If you like a sporting drive, go for lowering springs and uprated shocks, makes a world of difference.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2009

2nd Oct 2009, 16:35

Very informative and well written review.

4th Nov 2009, 11:55

Very good, check the downpipe flexibraid as can be expensive to replace.

Cracking car, mine is used as a track car and shames a lot newer posh marques!!!

1993 stripped Colt GTi 1800 twin cam.

Check out the Proton Satria GTi as it's the same car.

1992 Mitsubishi Colt GLXI 1.6 petrol from Sweden

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Automatic gearbox sometimes acting weird.

General Comments:

A very good car, reliable and fun to drive, like a go-cart, especially with the automatic transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2008

1992 Mitsubishi Colt GLXi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carCitroen DS

Summary:

Total death trap. Wonderful!

Faults:

I smashed the pig off the road backwards at about 70 mph, over a concrete post, through a wire fence and into a field, and it just started no problem, sweet as a nut.

The beast did start to fall apart after that though; the exhaust was wrecked, no electrics, except lights on the dash board started coming off. It leaked, then the suspension collapsed like a diseased lung.

Absolutely no engine problems though, but it started leaking fuel, and of course wrecked my driveway. Hilarious.

General Comments:

Loved the dog, it was a riot. Everyone who drove it said it must have a twisted chassis, but I didn't care, I just think it had character.

It wasn't very nice when it tried to kill me though, but fair do's, I had the thing crushed into a cube. It's a coffee table now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2007

25th Jul 2009, 07:22

This is an excellent review.

1992 Mitsubishi Colt GLI 1.6 from Norway

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired215000 kilometres
Most recent distance238500 kilometres
Previous carNissan Almera

Summary:

Great car!

Faults:

Now at 238500, the brake rotors have to be replaced. They're not good any more.

I think there is a hole in the benzine tank. So when I fill the tank, benzine leaks out, not too much, a little bit here and there. I fixed the problem by not buying a full tank of benzine. He he..

General Comments:

Well for a car that is 13 years old, and that has traveled 238000km, it rules. It's really reliable, starts all the time. Even at winter time here in Norway, when temperatures get to minus 20C, it starts without problems.

I'm really happy with this car! I will buy the new Colt CZT as my next car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2005

23rd Feb 2007, 15:49

I sold it. For 5,000Nok. Somewhat over 300,000km.

It was begining to mould inside, back seats.

Would not start when left to overnight in wet/moisture.Problem with fordelerlok (Norwegian).

And the new owner crashed it after two weeks.Total write-off..!Colt rip!

1992 Mitsubishi Colt GLXi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Pocket rocket

Faults:

Electric window broke due to stupid friend leaning on it whilst I was putting it up!

Sunroof doesn't slide due to not using for a while!

Overall extremely reliable keep the oil fresh and servicing is a must!

General Comments:

This car is awesome, its fast, it turns heads, its smooth and reliable what more could you want?

Comes with all electrics including central locking just add alloys a sound system and polish and your ready to go. The sweet 4g92 engine revs freely and delivers good power. Because its light it grips the road and for a 1992 car is extremly agile and poised.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2003

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 7 reviews