1984 Mitsubishi Cordia Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1984 Mitsubishi Cordia GSL 1.6 litre SOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 litre SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired199179 kilometres
Most recent distance206890 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Reliable, powerful, wonderful

Faults:

Clutch died due to previous owner doing burn-outs.

Carb needed replacing due to blocked jet.

General Comments:

Handles brilliantly.

Very economical.

No road noise from inside the cabin.

Smooth power delivery and easy starting when cold is excellent.

Seats are kind of ugly, but you can live with that. Motor was only 50,000kms old when purchased.

Still not bad for $100 (old owner thought it was seized due to having an oil leak and wouldn't drive it).

Needs a re-spray (which is coming up soon), but has no rust in the entire car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2002

1984 Mitsubishi Cordia L 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1990
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles

Summary:

Mitsubishi's bread and butter in the 1980's

Faults:

This car is unsafe. I have been in three minor collisions with this vehicle from street racing, and the damage assessment was downright frightening.

General Comments:

The seats are ideal for small to average-sized drivers. The exterior design remains clean and tasteful despite its age. Ride and handling is smooth and stable on smooth pavement due to larger tires, longer wheelbase and less body lean compared to the competition at the time. This slick fastback was one of the few Japanese cars that had personality. I pray they follow Volkswagen and see the lucrative benefits of nostalgia by reviving an old nameplate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2002

13th Nov 2004, 23:46

My parents wrecked out 88 Cordia L 5 spd and it seemed to hold up. I got put back together then handed down to my dad then my dad traded it in and I bought it back. Its currently going into the shop for a 4g63T engine swap heh. Time to have a rare car beat up on some new quicker cars and have them not know what the hell just beat them!!

1984 Mitsubishi Cordia GSR Turbo 1.8 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Colt

Faults:

Sometimes the exhaust gets smoky.

General Comments:

Who would think a 1984 car can kick the crap out of V8?

Have never been left behind in a dare.

The torque is felt greatly at mid-gears.

Top speed is great and is achieved very quickly.

The interior is beautiful.

The semi bucket racing seats are great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2001

1984 Mitsubishi Cordia GSR 1.8 turbo leaded from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo leaded Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Sigma

Summary:

Great potential for extreme performance, stuff those stupid fog-light cars

Faults:

Wiring shorted out on first night. No indicators ahoy. Cost $70 to fix.

Flat tyre next morning.

Oil leak from the lower engine.

Fluid leak from the power steering.

Driver's seat is a little worn.

Injector timing things loose, needed new brackets.

Fuel pump died within 200 km of purchase. Cost at least $300 to replace, about $800 for a genuine part.

Alternator died when left with the mechanic to fix the fuel pump (suss?). Turns out the alternator is a very specific model, have been quoted between $50 and $930 to replace. Only found one alternator which is exactly the same as the original, quoted $110, but haven't purchased yet.

Seems a bit smoky at around 4 grand on the tacho, haven't had enough use of it to find out why.

General Comments:

I have only driven this car for about 400 km's since buying it a few months ago. It looks really good, has great power and handling, it's just a shame that I picked it up at the wrong time.

However, I bought it for only $500 so it was a major bargain. Should be able to resell it for close to 10 times that after I've finished working on it.

Not much torque down low, however once the revs hit 3 grand you find yourself being kicked in the back when the turbo ignites.

Keeping it in the rev range shows some serious performance potential, with straight-line wheel spin possible through third gear.

Powering through corners can be dangerous as it likes to rip around quicker than you can turn your head, however generating wheelspin on a bend will induce some frightening moments of understeer, keep the handbrake handy in the wet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2001

1984 Mitsubishi Cordia 1.8 turbo leaded from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo leaded Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 kilometres
Most recent distance152000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Make sure it's got a turbo....

Faults:

Rust is starting to bite in on the passenger side door, besides that though, nothing

General Comments:

If you get one of these little babies stock, first thing you should do is take the straw they call an exhuast and replace it with a 3" one Mmmmm....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2000

6th Dec 2000, 07:44

I am 17, my first car is a Cordia Turbo 1.8L and I love it. My dad got it from his mate for four grand Aus.

It came with a 2 1/2" exhaust and 16" Momo wheels which have already being stolen, but I got $1000 insurance on them so who is complaining.

They are great 1st cars, but be careful, you need to know how to drive so you don't kill yourself, they're very powerful.

10th Apr 2001, 05:20

I'm 18 and have the 84 GSR Cordia. I don't think I ever want to buy another car for the rest of my life. I absolutely love this Cordia. They look great, drive great and with a nice exhaust, sound awesome. I wish I had some more money to buy a whole lot of them and restore them.

28th Jun 2001, 10:29

After months desperately looking for a cheap Cordia Turbo I decided to get a GSL instead. My DREAM CAR is still the beautiful king of all cars, the Cordia GSR. I decided that I will keep my GSL and buy a GSR as well. If you know anyone who is selling one for about $500 to $1200 (Doesn't have to have a straight body or have rego) please contact me on tolga_84@yahoo.com

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews