1993 Mitsubishi Diamante Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1993 Mitsubishi Diamante LX 3.0L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired900 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Starion

Summary:

A Outstanding performance sedan

Faults:

ETACS Computer failed at 80,000 Miles

Air Conditioning Failed at 110,000.

General Comments:

It has been an excellent vehicle with very high reliability, handling is very good and with 141K miles it will still cruise in the low 120mph range topping out close to 140.

This car still looks and drives like new.

The build quality is outstanding. No rattles, squeaks or loose trim.

Repair costs have been substantially above normal on the pieces that have failed and on maintenance.

I have absolutely no complaints, the car, while being expensive (37K) when purchased new, the longevity and quality have made this car well worth the investment 10 years later.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2003

1993 Mitsubishi Diamante ES 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired123100 miles
Most recent distance126955 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

A real eye catcher

Faults:

When the vehicle is started it runs perfectly. When I put the vehicle into gear it sometimes dies.

Burns oil.

General Comments:

Purchased the car a month ago and couldn't be happier with the car.

The car is both luxurious and sporty. Has a lot of power for a full size sedan.

Has every option that the car came with including sunroof, 6 disc trunk mount CD changer, auto. windows and locks and keyless entry.

Recently got the car painted and installed a cool air intake and front and rear sway bars.

Very nice car for the price I paid for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2002

23rd Apr 2003, 22:15

Hello. I also have a 93 Diamante. I was just writing to find out where you bought your strut towers... please e-mail me back at jennbabe187@yahoo.com. Thanks!

14th May 2003, 22:55

I am also the owner of a 93 Diamante ES. I see that you noted that it burns oil. I was curious as to the extent of the oil burn in your vehicle. Mine burns an ungodly amount of oil and I leave a thick cloud of white smoke behind me every time I accelerate from a standstill. I was just wondering if this could be a general model flaw, or just an isolated case. E-mail me at JestoMack@aol.com please.

23rd May 2003, 20:07

What size tires do you have on it- original 205 65R15s?

I bought an used 205 70R15 as a spare and haven't tried it yet. Just want something a little wider/ taller- guess I should ask at the tire dealership.

Ron.

16th Mar 2004, 17:13

I have a 1994 Diamante` LS... The car is a dream a 202 HP vehicle... I do not burn oil so maybe it is the ES that has this flaw, if it is white smoke I would not worry about it, but if it is blue smoke then you have a problem... I need to find a body kit for my car, I have pics of a hot body kit someone has on their Diamante`... if you are curious to see what it looks like, please e-mail me at... thebatman1985@aol.com.

1993 Mitsubishi Diamante ES 3.0 litre V6 (175 hp) from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre V6 (175 hp) Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

A great investment

Faults:

Idle motor trouble, fixed quite cheaply.

Seats have worn slightly.

Trouble with the power steering belt, but was because of age.

High maintenance, again because of its age.

General Comments:

Very sharp car.

Has great power for a full sized sedan, and has overdrive as well as power and economy engine settings for maximum performance.

Has some transmission downshifting trouble, but it's because of adaptive shifting, and is an acceptable fault.

Very high tech car for a 1993 model.

I am planning to purchase a 1999 Diamante, based on this experience with the car.

I'd recommend it to anyone who likes large sedan's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2002

9th Jul 2003, 07:11

My 1993 Diamante wagon also has some transmissions woes!. It recently downshifted from overdrive into 4th gear at 55 MPH. It stayed in 4th gear the rest of the hot summer day, even in stop and go traffic. Was fine the next day, but don't know if this is a normal behavior for these cars. Any advise??

1993 Mitsubishi Diamante ES 3.0 litre V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance121400 miles

Summary:

A very good car

Faults:

Car stalled when started. Problem was solved with a 40 dollar idle tune up.

Chewed up a power steering belt 3 months later. Needed an $80 replacement. Problem was the belt was just getting old.

General Comments:

This car is a great speed demon. It chuggs 175 hp and delivers great acceleration.

It has overdrive control, Power and Economy engine settings, and all options except CD.

The car is very safe, practically runs itself, and is a very smart car for a 1993 model.

The only complaint I have is that it is a very high maintenance car, but that's mostly because it's an old car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2001

1993 Mitsubishi Diamante ES 3.0L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0L SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carEagle Summit

Summary:

A bargain for a luxury car

Faults:

Idle problem for 3 month. Car dies when started but get to normal after running for about 10 seconds. Dealer checkup suggests a bad idle motor and replacement for $500. If this does not work, replace the computer for $1200. I took off the idle motor and cleaned it up with carburator cleaner and put back on. The idle problem is gone and everything is normal.

So far no major problems except tire, oil, and fuel filter changes.

General Comments:

Dependable car with comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th August, 2000

11th Jan 2001, 21:32

How did you remove the idle motor, I think I have the same problem?

26th Feb 2001, 17:23

I have a 1992 Diamante and it has an idling problem. It is my first car and it is alright, but I would sell it in a New York minute.

21st Jan 2002, 17:24

How do you remove the idle motor? I am having some problems with my idle.

19th Jun 2002, 15:57

How did you remove Idle motor? I have the same problem myself - took it to Firestone, did Computer Engine analysis - but in vain.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 16 reviews