2001 Mitsubishi Diamante Reviews

2001 Mitsubishi Diamante LS 3.5 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Good looking but cheaply made

Faults:

Well known air conditioning leak at 60,000. $750.00 repair.

The car eats brake pads.

The car eats tires.

Check engine light repair numerous times; miles of vacuum lines to go bad.

Oil leaks everywhere possible.

ABS/traction control light problem.

Rear antenna broke at 40,000 miles.

General Comments:

Only good points are the car still looks good with a peppy engine, but was expecting more reliability from Mitsubishi.

Bought this car new for $29,500. Resale now is next to nothing.

Owned many new cars, and this is by far the most expensive to operate I've had.

My first and last Mitsubishi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th March, 2013

2001 Mitsubishi Diamante LS 3.5L from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

I bought a 01 Diamante in 04 with 40,000 miles.

Replaced the heater core at 57,438, got it from a Mitsubishi service center for 300, had it put in for 250..

Trans went at 80,000, and I mean 80g, did all the tune ups and maintenance to keep it running good, then had to replace the park/neutral safety switch...

General Comments:

They always had a bad rep, and I know why I won’t talk about the 98 Eclipse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2009

24th Jun 2009, 05:42

This review came from the US, not Australia or NZ. The car however was built in Australia.

14th Jun 2010, 01:30

At that low kays I would think of how hard you are on the car. And an American review should not be likened to OZ.

2001 Mitsubishi Diamante LS 3.5L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.5L
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

Not bad

Faults:

Heater core gaskets gone when I purchased the car.

General Comments:

The car is pretty fast and handles good.

I can say I really like the car. All except for when I have to work on it, it's a pain in the a**.

If you ever need to fix the heater core, just sell the damn car, get rid of it so you don't have to deal with the headache

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th September, 2008

2001 Mitsubishi Diamante LS V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

I won't buy a Mitsubishi again!

Faults:

Multiple problems: Car makes ticking sound from front axles when cold, traction control and anti-lock sensors went out at 46k miles and warning lights are illuminated on dash...annoying!! AND heater core leakage found @46k also, probably happened much earlier.

General Comments:

Car look good exterior and interior, but as far as the reliablitly and durability are concerned this is a horrible car, esp. b/c mitsubishi knows of these problems and nothing was done to fix these issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th March, 2006

8th Jun 2007, 14:04

I am having the same exact problems and I just purchased a 2001 with 96,000. should I just return the car before my 30 days is up.

2001 Mitsubishi Diamante LS 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

High level of amenities for a reasonable price

Faults:

Front rotor and pads needed to be replaced at 27,000 miles.

Back pads were also replaced at the same time. Seems sort of unusual to have to replace this much of the brake system with this low of miles. However, seeing that I purchased this car used, not sure how the previous owner's braking habits were.

The standard 16" Goodyear tires that came on the car need to be replaced already. There isn't much tread left on either the front or back tires. But again, since I wasn't the original owner, not sure of previous owner's driving habits. The tires have a 50,000 mile warranty. These shouldn't be this worn with such low miles.

General Comments:

This is the third Mitsubishi car that I've owned. It's the best Mitsubishi car that I've owned. I like the styling of the vehicle and the engine is a jewel. I bought this car for 1/2 of what it would have been had a purchased a new 2003 model. Unfortunately, this car does depreciate in value quite rapidly. Mitsubishi doesn't make many of these cars each year which is a good thing as you don't see too many Diamantes on the road like all the Accords, Camry's etc. So this makes this car stand out from the rest.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews