1994 Mitsubishi Eclipse Reviews

1994 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 1.8 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

A fun, reliable car to drive

Faults:

There was a small tapping noise during idle, but it was easily fixed with an oil change.

The Check Engine Light is constantly on, but this was due to a broken sensor in the air filter and easily replaced.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive and also a very good investment if it is maintained well.

It is very small, but it fits two people comfortably in the front seats.

It is very easy to care for and maintain even with little automotive experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2004

1994 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Faults:

Left rear caliper failed.

General Comments:

Overall an absolutely great car and very reliable with very little major repair work needing to be done. If you change oil regularly and keep up with scheduled maintenance, this vehicle will last a long time. I have not had any major problems, and the car has so many options for customizing that it's ridiculous! I have the 2.0 gs model with red paint, being a 1994, the car still looks like it is new... 10 years later. Don't drive your car like you're a Mario Andrietti wannabe, and you'll find this car to be one of the greats for an occasional stint and a reliable sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2004

1994 Mitsubishi Eclipse ES 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10

Summary:

Underestimated Sports Car

Faults:

Cracked Header.

General Comments:

Awesome little car. Not over powered, but still room for upgrades. Fun little car to customize and cruise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2004

8th Aug 2009, 21:51

Tell me about it. I just got a 94 Eclipse 1.8 standard, but the valves were bent so I swapped it to the 2.0 DOHC. I had the engine on a Sonata and it was slow due to the Sonata's weight. You think it'll be fast enough to beat a 95 Neon SOHC, a Celica 92 GT or a 97 Probe?

Am not done with it yet, I am having some electrical problems due to the new engine, if somebody knows?

1994 Mitsubishi Eclipse Sport IDK from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission IDK Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Great value

Faults:

The clutch went out and had to get that replaced.

The alternator kept going bad causing the battery to die.

It started leaking oil really badly leaving my garage a mess.

Mind you all of this started happening after I'd put 100k on the car.

General Comments:

This was my first car out of college and I loved it.

In it's old age and high miles it began to spend more and more time in the shop, but I feel I got my use out it.

I would recommend an Eclipse to someone that doesn't require a lot of space for friends to ride. I got away with a lot because people didn't want to cram in my car.

This car is decent on gas mileage,. The dashboard is a little hard to see over, but obviously I adjusted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th January, 2004

1994 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

A perfect cheap sports car

Faults:

I had a really ruff idle for a few weeks when it was really cold out. Plus when shifting into reverse it is really hard to get it into gear sometimes.

General Comments:

I love this car! It had the potential to be really fast, but yet gets you around town as fast or as slow as you want to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2003

1994 Mitsubishi Eclipse 1.8 L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance100088 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

A fun car if you want to pay

Faults:

When I got this car, the next week the turning lights were causing the car to shut off. I had to replace the alternator (it went bad because of an oil leak through the cam). A few weeks later, the car slipped into 2nd when I was trying to go into 4th (a very well known problem with this car). The timing belt slipped and blew the head and also bent all of the valves. $900.00.

Then, recently, the starter went out. It was only $50. Right before I bought it, the car had to have the main computer replaced for $700. It also has an oil leak in the oil pan, oil switch, and oil plug. And, the engine mount is bad. Also, the syncronizer is going bad.

General Comments:

The car runs well when it works, which is hardly ever. I have heard that the car has either very many problems, or absolutely none. So, if I were to buy one, I would get a history. And, remember, don't forget to change the timing belt at exactly 60,000 miles. If it is past, ask the previous owner. The head WILL blow. Also, the air compressors go out.

If you are planning on having more than one other person in the car, forget it. Absolutely minimal room in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

21st Jan 2002, 02:45

Well, all I gotta say is that I have 110,000 miles and never changed the timing belt, and now my timing belt is broke? (probably), and I'm sure its gonna co$t A lot!! But other than that I haven't any problems at all. If it counts, I really am GLAD I bought this car, and it has only brought me many smiles, and till now, hasn't had any problems. This is one car I am proud to own!

1994 Mitsubishi Eclipse RS 1.8 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carPontiac Formula

Summary:

Great car for the money

Faults:

Other than the cracked head, I have right now nothing..

The interior and exterior have held up great. It's 7 years old and still looks like new.

General Comments:

For a base 95 horse power it has great take off, will keep up for a little bit, but not much on the top end, but hey, it's not made for that..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2001

1994 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS Not sure... the smallest one from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Not sure... the smallest one Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Pretty reliable... but when something goes... lookout wallet!

Faults:

The second day I had it, went out to get in it and all of the engine coolant was in the driveway due to the dealers failure to tighten the hose clamps. Had it towed to dealer at their expense.

Replaced muffler.

I had the same paint problem as everyone else in 1997... I called the dealer and asked for their regional manager so I could file a complaint and they repainted it for me for free, (whole car). Also, had timing problems so I took it in and we caught the timing belt probably one day before it snapped and destroyed the engine... still cost me $900.00.

General Comments:

I wouldn't buy a Mitsubishi again... they are good cars, but when something does break, it's major. Also, my insurance recently doubled because of the lack of replacement parts...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2000

19th Dec 2001, 14:30

I was wondering if your insurance was high since you own the car?

Email me @ Dominator4209@aol.com.

10th Jul 2007, 11:52

One reason your insurance may be high is because your eclipse is red. It's proven that red cars have more expensive insurance rates.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews