1994 Mitsubishi FTO GR 2.0 V6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Sexy and style

Faults:

Nothing has gone with my car yet.

General Comments:

Nice looking and fast; does 140mph.

Good acceleration; 0 to 60 in 6.6 seconds.

My mates like it; Lee called it sex on wheels. Good looks.

It's got mivec.

If I was you I would get one. Mine is black and is a sporty model. You can get one from as little as 3000 pounds up to 8000 pounds. Mine cost 5000 pounds, and I thought it was a good bargain.

It has got plenty of room for small kids.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2007

31st Aug 2010, 01:51

Wow. I had a Ford Mondeo previously. Then I got a 94 FTO V6. It's so much more responsive. It burns gas more than I thought due to the big engine.

1994 Mitsubishi FTO GPX 2.0i MIVEC from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Great fun to drive

Faults:

Battery Died.

General Comments:

Best thing about this car is driving it. Until you have you cannot judge it.

0-60 is a bit on the slow side for how the car looks (7s) and you only really get the power up around 4500rpm. However you redline at about 8000rpm at which point it sounds amazing.

Tiptronic gearbox is OK and responds well, but unfortunately it saps about 20bhp from the 200bhp engine over the manual.

Would I buy another... yes... but it would be a manual that is stock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2006

1994 Mitsubishi FTO GR-X 2.0 non-turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A sporty, performing ride guaranteed to turn heads

Faults:

I have had some difficulty with the idling stepper motor stopping and starting, causing the engine to cut out at traffic lights. I fixed it myself, in under an hour. I need to repeat the cleaning procedure once every year.

The window guides in the doors are a little rattly, if the windows are half-down and you drive over a bump.

General Comments:

The FTO is very stylish and unique-looking.

It is well-built, although the interior could have done with more dressing up.

Performance is very good considering the car isn't turbo-ed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2003

5th May 2005, 08:20

Hi how did you go about fixing this as I have the exact same problem!!! contact me at brianmartindempsey@yahoo.com if possible thanks.

1994 Mitsubishi FTO GPX 2000 cc Mivec V6 24V from Malaysia

Faults:

Nothing major so far.

General Comments:

This is a great sports car with tremendous handling in fact even better than my previous car which is a BMW 328i, the engine note is fantastic and the performance of the 24V V6 Mivec engine is superb, it's a wonder how Mitsubishi is able to squeeze out 200 BHP from the 2 litre engine. Also great is the Invecs transmission which is a semi-automatic which allows the driver to choose gears when required. The transmission is also very intuitive when left at full-auto, seems to know what I want and my driving style. Shame that there is no official importer in Malaysia and it is difficult to source for parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 1999

26th Nov 2002, 00:33

Hi, My name is Brandon. I'm from Malaysia KL. I'm planning to get a mitsubishi FTO soon. My budget is about RM 90-100 K. can I get a good condition FTO with this price? any recommendation from you? thanks.

3rd Jan 2003, 10:12

The only FTO you could get for that money will be a run down wreck, i'd advise you to up your budget or look for a different car.

1994 Mitsubishi FTO GPX 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Electric window on passanger side only works intermittently.

General Comments:

At 200bhp it has staggering power and will give all the traditional sports cars a very good run for their money.

Specification very high CD, A/C, Electric sunroof, mirrors even 'park'.

As not ever sold in Europe it has rarity value, but parts can take a while to arrive if you need them (I haven't needed them yet, though the timing belt will need changing sometime soon).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 1998

7th Jun 2005, 06:21

I just wanted to know how's the fuel consumption on the V6 Mivec engine under normal driving and flat out full throttle driving? My straight six bmw does 30 mpg under normal driving, and 20 on hard driving when the Vanos unit kicks in at 4200 rpm!