1990 Mitsubishi Galant Reviews

1990 Mitsubishi Galant GSR 2.0L DOHC 16v from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0L DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Excellent first car

Faults:

Engine replaced with import at 215000kms.

CV joints replaced at 226000kms.

Clutch replaced/air con re-gassed when engine replaced.

ECS suspension was overhauled before I bought the car; had to replace rear struts.

General Comments:

ECS suspension fantastic, but expensive, and if I didn't already have spare struts to swap for the leaking ones, I would have put normal struts in.

Holds speed well/easy to cruise, but picks up when required.

Comfortable, spacious interior.

Large boot space and the ability to drop the seats for the 1.8m of boot has been essential for my commuting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2007

1990 Mitsubishi Galant Glsi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired109500 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

A slow, thirsty car with weak gearbox

Faults:

Alternator failed although it had been replaced 14000 miles before.

Reconditioned auto gearbox failed and car had to be scrapped. It had only covered 20000 with the reconditioned unit.

General Comments:

Previous owner had spent a fortune on repairing this car including a £1270 automatic gearbox + torque converter reconditioning. When purchased it run superb in terms of comfort and handling. However, this auto version is a very slow car to the extent that you think you are driving a 1.6 or even a 1.4 car, not a 2.0ltr.

Overtaking was always tricky business since it took for ever to pick up speed and you had to have a lot of road in order to overtake safely. To add to that the consumption was excessive, around 20mpg overall I believe.

At cruising speed was very comfortable though with all the toys (electric windows, heated mirrors, electric sunroof, cruise control etc.).

Overall I would say that this car has a weak point and this is the auto gearbox. Many of them get scrapped because of that reason since it is uneconomical to repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2006

1990 Mitsubishi Galant GSR 2.0 DOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired294000 kilometres
Most recent distance294500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

Luxury Sports Bargain

Faults:

Gear stick is a bit loose.

Electronic suspension was replaced before purchase. (Assuming it was faulty).

Few electronic buttons broken.

General Comments:

Great cheap car. Fully optioned out, feels like a luxury car with PLENTY of space. Stock looking.

Still reasonably quick with engine rated at 135 HP. Handles extremely well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th May, 2004

1990 Mitsubishi Galant GSR 2L Twincam 4g63 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2L Twincam 4g63 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired186000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Great car, go buy one!

Faults:

Electronic Controlled Suspension failed. Replaced with new suspension.

General Comments:

Car has been great for reliability.

About to do a turbo conversion on the car as I love it that much.

Would recommend the car to anyone who would like a 4 cylinder with some power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2004

1990 Mitsubishi Galant 2.0L SOHC gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L SOHC gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired212000 miles
Most recent distance268000 miles

Summary:

Excellent and very reliable!

Faults:

The transmission is beginning to slip, but otherwise she's a real champion.

General Comments:

I recently had to replace the engine because it threw a rod and cracked the block. It was relatively simple to replace and the old girl is running like a Swiss watch again.

As for power she gets a good amount of get up and go.

The interior is roomy enough for me and I'm about six foot tall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2002

1990 Mitsubishi Galant 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles

Summary:

A reliable piece of transportation

Faults:

Had to replace the front CV joints when I first got the car from a used car dealer. Went to Pep Boys so they are under lifetime guarantee.

Had to replace the rear axle for $600 after 1-2 years of owning it.

It has started leaking motor oil in the last two years, but it's not a major problem. Oil is cheap compared to other things.

General Comments:

Car has never let me down.

Good on gas. I commute about 1 hour daily 5x/weekly and I get about 33 miles to the gallon.

I bought the car thinking I'd only need it for 2 years, but it's lasted 5 already.

For a 4-cylinder, it has some pep to it.

I'm 6'2" and fit comfortably in the driver's seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2002

1990 Mitsubishi Galant GLS 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Fantastic family car

Faults:

Nothing I can remember.

Very reliable car. And thats' the gods honest truth!

NOTHING went wrong with it!

General Comments:

Father bought the car brand new.

Travelled back and forth from Germany to Scotland 4 or 5 times. Which explains the high mileage.

This car was a dream to drive. And heaven to be a passenger in.

Even at this base level of GLS the car had every extra.

Electric everything.

Very comfortable for those long drives, the arm rest in the back seat was a nice touch.

The reason we don't have it now? Well despite its good handling, excellent fuel economy and luxurious spaciousness, it didn't tackle a Ford Transit very well. Darn mother!

If you are thinking of getting one, DO SO! Even a G registration, they're great. No complaints here!

My dream car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2001

7th Nov 2005, 11:08

I quite agree that the car has a major merit of roominess and economy. However, it is pertinent to mention that the body of the car is not strong, making it unattractive to auto users.

Notwithstanding, i would like to credit the car for unbeatable interior, highly effective air-conditioning and general elegance.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews