1996 Mitsubishi Galant S 2.4 from North America


Reliable for your money


Nothing major.

The engine mount was broken when I bought.didn't observe it then.

Took about 70 bucks to replace.

Rest all was tires and a bent thing at the rear end which made my rear tires worn soon.

General Comments:

It has been pretty reliable for the price I paid (2800 bucks)

Had a long drive for about 1200 miles and handled pretty well.

Over all I am satisfied with it until now. the previous owner took a good care I guess.. looks new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th June, 2005

1996 Mitsubishi Galant VR4 2.5 V6 Twin-turbo from Australia and New Zealand


This car is the "ultimate" wolf in sheep's clothing


ABS/ASC Brake System Recall - 3 years after it was announced in Japan.

Fuel Solenoid Fault and replaced.

General Comments:

This car uses the EVO V/VI chassis and drive-train, which includes Active-Yaw-Control.

This is a complex car and requires careful and regular maintenance. However as with any 300+ hp car; this should be expected. Service every 6 months/10,000 miles and change the oil every 3,0000 miles, and you will have minimal problems.

If you are going to get this car, replace the wheels/tyres with Goodyear Eagle F1 GS-D3 and 17" alloys. This will really make the car perform as it should. i.e. the technology will then work properly, without the TCL always kicking in sapping you of power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2004

1996 Mitsubishi Galant LS from North America


My next car will be a Galant LS!


The power antenna stopped working.

General Comments:

I have previously owned many domestic cars. This car is my first foreign car, and I am very pleased with it. The biggest difference I have found is that it is very easy to drive, especially on curves and turns.

I'm impressed with the ample leg room in the front and the comfort of the power driver's seat. Back seat passengers are very uncomfortable as there is very little leg room.

The "check engine" light has been on for a year, but the mechanics have never solved the problem.

The car is sporty and turns heads once in awhile. It's a fun car to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

1996 Mitsubishi Galant ES 2.4L from North America


Excellent Car


I have to play with the ignition in order to start my car, but I think it might be the starter.

My horn quit working and don't know what to do.

I can't open my trunk with the keys I start the car and unlock my doors with.

I had to buy new timing/fan belts because they popped for no reason.

I put some new brakes and rotors on.

General Comments:

This car is a mid-size car and it is good for a first time buyer. It's reliable and quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2004

1996 Mitsubishi Galant S 2.4 gas from North America


Money pit


Constant front end repairs (ball joints, control arms).

Brakes done twice in one year.

Front end rattling, mechanics can't find source.

General Comments:

Very expensive to mainatin.

Always something going wrong with the car.

Hondas, Nissans, Toyotas are more expensive and have a higher resale value, now I know why.

Styling is nice and the car is roomy but my advice is if you cannot afford a Maxima or Accord, rather than settling for this, get a cheaper Honda or Toyota (Civic, Corolla, etc.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st June, 2001

1996 Mitsubishi Galant S 2.4L gas from North America


An inexpensive sporty sedan


Water pump (warranty).

Valve lash adjusters (warranty).

Oxygen sensor (warranty).

General Comments:

This car was far more inexpensive than the Accord or Camry. Although a few things have broken, they have been repaired under warranty. The car will out-accelerate and has better ergonomics. In my opinion, it is also more attractive.

This is the fifth Mitsubishi that I have owned (the other four have been Mirage Turbos) and I really like the products that they make. Also, my local dealer has been outstanding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2000

27th Jul 2005, 11:19

1996 Mitsubishi Galant S. It's an excellent running car with over 100,000 miles, but the paint job is horrible. My Galant along with many other Galants I have seen with the same color paint (black) is fading terribly. I called Mitsubishi Motors and they could not do anything.

27th Jan 2007, 22:44

I own Mitsubishi Galant. It's little too late and regret I didn't get Toyota car!!!