2003 Mitsubishi Galant Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2003 Mitsubishi Galant ES 2.4 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired28500 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Forenza

Summary:

Nice car if you are buying an used one

Faults:

Creaking sound from the front bumper. It just became loose due to no good reason.

General Comments:

This car handles much well than the Accord.

Fun to drive. Will take on lots of harsh handling.

The 4 Cyl engine has plenty of torque.

Lots of room in the trunk.

Rear Seat room adequate for three kids or two adults.

Very intuitively laid out driver controls.

Some negative points

- Rear dome light in the cabin would have been a nice touch

- AC could have been more powerful, doesn't cut in the californian summers especially during short trips.

- ABS is missing, which is now standard in all mid-sized cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2005

2003 Mitsubishi Galant ES 2.4 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired19400 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Good looking, reliable car for thousands less than Accord or Camry

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Overall very reliable, good looking car. I've put on about 30,000 miles in a little over a year with no problems. Just routine maintenance; oil changes, transmission flush, air filter, etc.

Replaced front brake pads at about 40,000 miles. Old and new brake pads squeak. Very nerve-racking.

Engine runs a little louder and rougher than Honda's or Toyota's.

Don't particularly car for cheap looking fabric on upper door panels.

Great car for money. Thousands less than Camry or Accord.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2005

5th Jun 2005, 18:59

I think your summary is good, however short. I have a Mitsubishi Galant and my brake pads don't squeak.

16th Apr 2006, 19:57

I have an 03 and my brake pads squeak badly.

21st Jun 2006, 11:37

I have had plenty of problems with my brakes too. They squeak all the time and now they are grinding, only after a year from the last time they were changed.

27th Jul 2007, 18:35

I have a 03 Gallant and my brakes squeak also especially in the winter. Also my paint is peeling. I have also noticed other gallants with paint peeling. Any one else having problems with peeling paint?

20th Feb 2008, 09:31

Is your car black? That is probably your problem right there. Mitsubishi has had a lot of problems with their black paint, it start deteriorating very fast, like within a couple years. Unfortunately they refuse to do a recall on them, so they can fix the problem.

As for the squeaking breaks, that is another problem with a lot of Galants, your best bet is to get new roaters and ceramic brake pads, that will eliminate most of the squeaking.

26th Dec 2009, 15:12

You didn't need to get your transmission flushed yet. Your car has only 50k, and you didn't need it until at least 60-70k or 100k-150k depending on how you drive. Don't let those mechanics rip you off. Read your cars manual on when you should have routine maintenance done and you will save money.

25th Apr 2010, 12:08

Squeaky brakes? Best solution is to apply copper grease to the metal on the REAR of the pads. This should cure the problem. DON'T apply too much, just a thin film should do the trick. Oh, and be sure NOT to get any grease on the surface of the pads! Good luck!

2003 Mitsubishi Galant EX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carMercury Capri

Summary:

If you buy used Mitsubishi, you got a great deal

Faults:

Nothing so far. Squeak in brakes 2 days after purchasing from dealer.

General Comments:

This car is very underrated. Decent performance, great interior, if a little bland. Seats are very comfortable for both short and long trips. Has all the features you need, and none of the junk you don't. Gas mileage could use some work, I average about 23mpg most of it at 50mph in 4th gear, going to and from work. Worried about the brakes due to this form, but if I check them every 5000 miles or so I should be alright. A weird feeling when coming down from a hard bump at 45mph or higher in the back, could be normal. Everything else seems bullet proof about the car. Very good value, very few mechanical breakdowns unlike VW Beatles. Feel much safer in it due to its size, use to drive a Mercury Capri, in comparison the rear bumper is where the backseat is in my new car. If you get an option, get Anti Lock brakes, worth the extra money by far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2004

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews