2007 Mitsubishi Galant Reviews

2007 Mitsubishi Galant from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carChevrolet TrailBlazer

Summary:

Mitsubishi abandons the customer after you drive off the lot

Faults:

Windows spontaneously collapsed into door.

Mitsubishi has no customer service.

Dealers are slow to fix.

General Comments:

The Galant is barely an OK car, nothing great, definitely not worth the cost compared to other sedans in its class. But, where this company really loses is in customer service. They have limited hours, close early every day (says they are open until 4pm pacific, called 2 days in a row at 15 of 4pm Pacific and they already had their ‘we’re closed message on,’ thus leaving me stranded for another 18 hours).

When I had a case that needed their immediate attention, the case worker called me back 26 hours later (after I was promised they would reach out to me within 24 hours) and left a message. I called back with 30 minutes, only to get her voice mail and no further attempts on her part to reach me. Then the next day, no attempt until 3 hours into the work day, and I had to call to make contact.

When I did, my case simply needed Mitsubishi to step out and absorb $60 in cost for a rear window that spontaneously collapsed into the door, as there was no dealer within 1.5 hours of my house, so I could have a mechanic diagnose the problem, so the dealer could have the parts I needed when I made the hike to get it fixed, so I didn’t have to take 2 days off to get this fixed. They refused to step out, and said they would rather lose me as a customer.

The supervisor refused to get on the phone with me, guess I was no longer worth their time or effort. Now to make matters worse, the dealer has only one Mitsubishi mechanic, and he was off that week. So I have an open window for over a week now that is exposed to the elements and an easy target for theft. Way to go Mitsubishi, you really know what it takes to care for your customer after they buy your car.

I am counting down the days to the end of my lease, so I can drop this POS off and never have Mitsubishi in my life again.

BTW, a similar thing happened with my Subaru 2 years ago where I needed them to step out of their warranty ‘rules’ as I was in a tight spot like I am now with Mitsubishi, and they really served me well, gave me a loaner car for 3 days while the warranty work was happening, and gave me a certificate for a free oil change. Subaru has my loyalty, and is my first stop after this lease is over!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th October, 2010

8th Dec 2010, 22:19

Mitsubishi Galants are fine cars and very reliable. I have owned 3 and never had a major problem with any of them. Pop the door panel off and see what the problem is. You don't need an authorized "Mitsubishi" dealer to look at a window. Why expect something that isn't covered under warranty to be fixed for you for free?

19th Dec 2010, 03:54

You can't blame a car manufacturer for having bad customer service because of that certain dealership. You should instead pinpoint that specific dealership as being rude. Our local Mitsubishi dealership is amazing! They really took care of me when they fixed my torque converter on my 00 Galant. They didn't act rude towards me, and said if I had any problems, to come back ASAP. If you expect a dealership to fix a problem like what you had for free, then your best bet is to go with a BMW. Otherwise, that's on your hands.

28th May 2011, 08:02

Since you purchased the car new, if you are still under the bumper to bumper warranty, they have to fix it for free. That is what bumper to bumper means. I had a 90 Pontiac Grand Prix, and the stitches got loose from the head rest, and it was repaired for free, since it was still under the 3 year period.

2007 Mitsubishi Galant from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Further pile of rust

Faults:

This car is running great. Except for the RUST on both back quarter panels on the car. Even though there is a 7 or 8 year warranty on this car for rust, Mitsubishi or the dealer will not fix the rust. I even stop and looked at other 2007 Galant for sale at used car lots and find two other car with the same rust spots. Who buys a new car with a warranty for it to just rust away after a year. This is not right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th August, 2008

24th Nov 2008, 10:28

What is their excuse for not covering the rust under warranty? Some Mazda 3's have this problem but they paint them up right away.

1st Dec 2009, 21:13

Is it good on auto insurance? I know that depends on many issues, but do any of you pay a high rate compared to other cars of its caliber?

28th May 2011, 08:05

You can take them to court, especially since it happened during the bumper to bumper warranty period. During this time, the car is covered completely during that period, and during the first year it is even covered for environmental things like tree sap. There is no reason that they should not be able to fix this.

2007 Mitsubishi Galant Ralliart 3.8-liter MIVEC V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8-liter MIVEC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance501 miles
Previous carJaguar XJ6

Summary:

You Get A Lot for Your $

Faults:

Well when I got the car the satellite radio antenna was not connected... probably a factory error, but other than that nothing. Still early though.

General Comments:

The car is awsome all around. This MIVEC V6 is no slouch pushing 258 hp from its stock engine. Handles well in corners. Has all the buttons and whistles of a luxury car, but still has a sporty look. The only negative is the turning radius is not that good, but so far I would buy it all over again if I had to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2006

5th Feb 2007, 06:06

I am planning to buy 07 galant, is it a good choice?

15th Aug 2008, 03:47

Do not buy this car... I have a 2007 and it's rusting on both back panels, and the 8 year rust warranty is no good, they won't fix it.

27th Aug 2010, 02:09

I have had many Galants, and never had them rust. If you are going to advise some one not to get one, make sure you know why yours could be rusting.

Not every one lives in the same place, nor uses the car the same.

Mine had fishing rods and ocean gear in all the time, and never rusted ever.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 3 reviews