2006 Mitsubishi L200 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Poor quality

Faults:

The vehicle was dealer maintained from new, including the cambelt change at the recommended interval.

8600 miles later the idler pulley failed, taking the cambelt and engine with it.

Idler pulley was not subject to any inspection or servicing procedure, so was a disaster waiting to happen.

The vehicle was effectively written off after 60000 miles and regular dealer servicing, as cost of repair exceeds the value of the vehicle.

Mitsubishi didn't want to know.

Avoid this vehicle and any Mitsubishi in general if you want a well cared for vehicle to last longer than 60000 miles.

General Comments:

Rear load area too short to be practical.

Very poor company.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th November, 2013

2006 Mitsubishi L200 Intense 2.5 DID from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Rubbish

Faults:

Stuck in 4WD at 19000KM. Main dealer had the car for 2 months, drove off the forecourt and shifted to 4WD, and it stuck again. Dealer had the car for another week. Covered under warranty.

Hose blew on the turbo at 27000KM. Covered under warranty.

Cylinder head cracked at 58000KM. Out of warranty. No comeback from Mitsubishi. 3200 Euro.

Oil pump gone at 59000KM. 690 Euro.

Stuck in 4WD again at 70000Km. 2000 Euro.

General Comments:

When it works I love it, but the amount of trouble I have had with it, I just hate it.

They fixed all the faults from the older model e.g. economy, turning circle, and rear seats, but the reliability has gone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th September, 2012

25th Apr 2013, 14:22

I have a 60 plate Barbarian. This vehicle would not tow 2000kg and certainly nowhere near the manufacturer's claims. The gearbox oil would overheat and the car would lock in 3rd gear.

After 2 years of problems when towing, finally Mitsubishi caved in and fitted a transmission oil cooler.

We also have a 60 plate manual Warrior, which is also showing gearbox problems and will not change down from 3rd to 2nd. Previously had Rangers that cost almost half the price and never had a problem.

Both vehicles serviced religiously and well looked after; one owner driver. Would never buy another; they're overrated and over priced.

The Barbarian has just blown a hose on the intercooler to the turbo. Time to go.

2006 Mitsubishi L200 Animal turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Wouldn't buy another L200

Faults:

Turbo pipe has worked it's way loose 4 times in as many months. First time Mitsubishi road side assist 'fixed' it. I fixed it the second time. Third time the garage replaced the pipe. Fourth time a Mitsubishi roadside fixed it.

The problem is the jubilee clip works loose and the pipe disconnects causing major lose of power.

General Comments:

Other than the problem with the turbo pipe, very happy with the L200 animal. Seats 5 very well and plenty of room in the back for work 'stuff'

Good layout in the cabin and plenty of extras.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2007

13th Apr 2007, 14:26

Wy don't you try doing the clip up tighter?

24th Jul 2007, 15:30

New shape Animal L200

We had one problem 1 week after purchase, and that was the jubilee click came totally off, and then a loss of power. We limped the car home, and road side assistance fixed the problem, but then we have had several problems with the vehicle misfiring. Mitsubishi have disconnected the power upgrade, which was 2 months ago, and still the vehicle is misfiring. The dealers are good, but after going into the garage 6 times with the same problem, it's becoming a pain. We would not now buy any automatic vehicle from Mitsubishi.

Has any one else had the same problem?

2006 Mitsubishi L200 2.5 diesel from Spain

Summary:

Very good car let down by lack of accessories

General Comments:

The car is far superior to its predecessor in comfort and style.

The turning circle is 100 % better than its predecessor.

The engine is far more responsive and quicker.

There is much more leg room in the back (double cab)

The main problem however, is that they cannot supply the truck cab for the back. I bought the car at the beginning of May 2006, it is now August 28th 2006,and Mitsubishi still cannot tell me when I can expect to have the cab fitted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th August, 2006

9th Mar 2008, 14:59

I think that this L200 has fuel economy and has its basic standard accessories. It is roomy and fairly cheap; between RM 60k. So far, I have had no trouble using this car.

Good work Mitsubishi Motors.

23rd Dec 2008, 08:08

Yup this car is far cheaper from the full accessories L200 (Storm). It has basic standard like kangaroo bar, CD player, however without turbo diesel, power window and it looks very cheap. Suitable for middle income.

The suspension is lowered and not very comfortable. No speaker at the back. At least it is cheap... (RM 60 K)