Mitsubishi L300 Reviews

1985 Mitsubishi L300 express 2 L petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2 L petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 kilometres
Most recent distance131000 kilometres
Previous carNissan datsun

Summary:

Very roomy economical transport

Faults:

Well bloke I got if off, had it parked in the sun for 18 months and all the fuel system dried out. So every perishable part has perished, fuel pump diaphragm, all the carburettor diaphragms and O rings.

The seats had virtually disappeared, and the brake rubbers had perished.

General Comments:

Absolutely heaps of room. Very Tardis like inside, and my dog thinks its great!

Very very smooth with the balance shafts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th July, 2005

1988 Mitsubishi L300 LS 2.4 liter from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Automatic
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Previous carPlymouth Grand Voyager

Summary:

This little van is a head turner!

Faults:

I haven't owned this precious little van for long, but I just adore it's looks. I fell in love with it when I saw it and had to have it. It is cream colored with wide gold stripes down the sides and along the bottom. People have commented that it looks like a Jurasic Park vehicle, a casino shuttle van, Scooby Doo's van...etc. It drives like a dream too. It originally came from California so it is virtually rust free. The interior is in great shape. I love the tracks that the seats move on. You can position the two "captains" chairs wherever you want them. They also swivel all the way around so that you can face the people in the back seat. The only thing that has gone wrong with the van thus far is the alternator, which we are replacing. The van has 193,000 miles on the body and chasis. I've been told by the seller that the engine was replaced with a used engine 7-9 months ago.

General Comments:

We are taking our van on vacation to Missouri from Michigan in April. And just try to find one like ours. Good luck. It's a keeper!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2005

5th Nov 2009, 00:41

My parents had an L300 (I never knew that's what it was called) and it is still my favorite van/car/vehicle to this day. Since there were so few of them it really is a joy to hear that other North American families enjoyed the 'ugly van'

When I was little my siblings and I argued over the 'turn around seats' (the captains chairs) which conveniently had a stretchy belt and a more firm belt.

I often wonder if the L300 was the inspiration for Chrysler putting the swivel captains chairs in their new van.

I cried when my parents L300 died.

1989 Mitsubishi L300 2.5liter diesel from Sri Lanka

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5liter diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance401385 kilometres

Summary:

A reliable workhorse of a van

Faults:

Seats have worn out, but then with the number of km we put on the old girl I can understand.

Re-bored and redid the engine once at about 200k km.

Put the vehicle in for bodywork repairs at 300k km.

The model I bought had only an AM radio.

Biggest fault would be the lack of an undercarriage. The body tends to twist.

General Comments:

On the whole I would say my old girl's been a good car. In 14 years we've carried everything from people to loads of bricks. Punished it in ways that would make most people shudder. Yet she's been good, and given us a long age of service.

I would like to state that she's not let us down yet, I've run her LITERALLY on diesel fumes.

Personally I would say the L300 is a great model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th August, 2004

1984 Mitsubishi L300 Starwagon 2.0 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

A stylish piece of junk

Faults:

Engine blew.

Everything on interior has started to wear.

Lots of rust in the roof.

Mold on the ceiling due to leaks.

Replaced the steering arm twice.

Replaced ball joints.

Replaced the suspension.

Replaced the gearbox.

Replaced the manifold.

Replaced the exhaust pipe multiple times.

Replaced the radiator.

Replaced the sunroof.

Tape deck is broken.

General Comments:

If it's a mechanical part - I've probably replaced it.

I love my Starwagon, it's served me well over the years, but it has also cost me about 3 times the amount I paid for it. I swore when the engine blew 6 weeks after I bought it that I'd never buy Mitsubishi again.

I was designed around the time the A-Team was in full swing and so is not short on style, but that's about all. I was initially very impressed by the sound system, which allows each passenger to listen with headphones to the radio or tape deck. It also had a microphone jack, this all broke about 4 years ago.

I, obviously, know nothing about cars, but now I know enough to tell someone only buy this one if you have a mechanic in the family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st July, 2004

10th Feb 2006, 06:24

I bought one in August, 2005. It had a 12 month old motor (with receipts), no fifth gear, and bit of rust. I had an earlier model with a good gearbox, but not much else, so was able to swap them over. It also has LPG and power steering as well as air-con that is beyond economic repair.

It drove beautifully and was a big hit with some of my friends. Drove it from Sydney to Melbourne and back, camping in it for two weeks. No problem, all good.

If I had replaced the old radiator hoses a bit sooner - before one burst - it wouldn't have fried the motor and cracked the head!

Ah, well, I'll get it running again, but the relationship has soured a bit. Such is life with old vehicles. And I still love it.

6th Nov 2007, 16:17

My `84 Starwagon has been the most reliable beast yet. Sure I have rebuilt the motor, Iknew it was due after 250oooKms. THe best thing I did was to cut off those stupid Balance shafts and fit Ford 121 slots with light truck tires. Being an auto it is not very fuel efficient, but I am happy the way she drives. All in all she is one of the most reliable I have owned yet.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 4 reviews