1999 Mitsubishi Lancer Reviews

1999 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXi Ltd (Sedan) 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 kilometres

Summary:

Best first car

Faults:

I had the car inspected by my mechanic before I bought it from the car dealer. The dealer said there would be nothing wrong with the car. My mechanic found that:

- The spare tire wasn't bolted in the boot. (You will fail WOF if it isn't bolted in).

- The brake pads were getting old.

- The car pulls to the left.

The car dealer agreed to repair this. So, note to everyone, even though you bought a car from a reliable dealer, it doesn't mean there is nothing wrong with it.

General Comments:

Excellent first car. It only cost about $60-$70 to fill up. It isn't too big, or too small. It looks really nice too. I'd definitely recommend this car. I am not very confident at driving, but I think this car is easy to drive, very straight forward.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2009

1999 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXi 1.8 EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 EFI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance84000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

A good, reliable, economical car

Faults:

Electric window component (regulator) became noisy. Replaced under warranty.

Carpet was lifting from floor on rear LHS. It had shrunk or was not cut correctly. Dealer replaced whole carpet under warranty. The replacement carpet has done the same after three years but I can live with it.

General Comments:

This wagon was actually a lease vehicle which I ordered and drove from new, then purchased after 2 years.

It has been (and still is) a great medium size car; reliable, economical, no oil leaks.

As it is a cheaper car and also a wagon, it is a little noisier than some other similar sized sedans. This is not an issue though.

The only time that I had to work on the vehicle when on a trip was due to the dealer servicing. They did not clean the top radiator hose when the radiator was flushed, and it leaked. I cleaned and tightened it, and did my own minor servicing (oil, brakes, radiator flushes etc) from this point as the warranty had expired.

I can definitely recommend this car to anyone requiring a cheaper, economical, reliable and zippy car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2006

9th Mar 2006, 19:50

Correction:

I am the originator of this review and realized that I marked the “running costs” as 2 out of 10. I meant to give it 8 out of 10. It is quite economical for a medium size car.

1999 Mitsubishi Lancer GLi 1.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22500 kilometres
Most recent distance85500 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Cordia

Summary:

A good reliable head turner

Faults:

My interior had to be replaced (warranty).

Crank pulley bolt had to be replaced as it was re-called (warranty).

Rear shocks replaced at 65000kms.

It Can be a bit ratly in the rear bumper bar and rear number plate.

General Comments:

Fantastic looking car and there is always things that you can Add to this vehicle, To make it a real head turner.

A cheap turbo conversion can really make it perform as it could be as quick as a SS commodore.

I do wish it was called its original name (Mirage) as in japan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2004

1999 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VI 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired43 miles
Most recent distance45 miles
Previous carVauxhall Calibra

Summary:

Amazing car, expensive to run, but worth it!

Faults:

Oil leak from centre diff, it was the gasket between the gearbox and transfer box.

Track end rods/strut tops.

General Comments:

Very very quick car, awesome looks, but when things go wrong they are not cheap to fix.

Insurance is also astronomical, but you get what you pay for!

Fuel economy is terrible too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2003

1999 Mitsubishi Lancer 1.3 glx from Portugal

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 glx Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carOpel Corsa

Summary:

I strongly advice to take a look at your nearest Mitsubishi dealer

Faults:

Nothing. The car is simply perfect.

General Comments:

The steering is very soft and precise.

The engine is very reliable.

The car has a brilliant design.

It has all the modern hi-tech devices in the market.

It's simply, perfect...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2002

1999 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

Ferrari performance for Mondeo money

Faults:

The car has been completely faultless since new.

General Comments:

I have had this car for over 3 years, and it still puts a smile on my face every time I take it out. The acceleration and grip is phenomenal and it is completely reliable.

Mitsubishi have very poor dealer network coverage in the UK, and as this car requires 4,500 mile interval servicing can prove to be a real headache.

The cars suspension is naturally very hard, and this can become uncomfortable on longer journeys.

The interior is typically bland Japanese.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

1999 Mitsubishi Lancer GLi 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

A reliable A - B runner

Faults:

The trim on the fronts seats is coming away from its stitching.

General Comments:

The body of the vehicle dents very easily.

Minor scratches are difficult to remove from the paintwork.

The interior is cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2001

1999 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 6 GSR 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carRenault 5

Summary:

The EVO 6 should need clearance from air traffic control

Faults:

Over fuelled, shooting flames out the exhaust and burning up all my money in unused petrol. As if it isn't expensive enough (thieving Prescott, the pie munching animal).

Some people say it's supposed to be over fuelled, but I'm not sure.

General Comments:

Words don`t do this car justice, so I'll not even try.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2001

1999 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXi Wagon 1.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17 kilometres
Most recent distance23652 kilometres
Previous carNissan Kingcab

Summary:

Basic transport cheap

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

This car has the most amazing head unit for a cheap car. NZ$19990 new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 9 reviews