1991 Mitsubishi Mighty Max Reviews

1991 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 2wd 2.4 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired179100 miles
Most recent distance179500 miles

Summary:

A good little workhorse

Faults:

I had a replace a heater hose, it runs a little hotter than other small trucks I've driven, but it doesn't overheat.

General Comments:

I bought it for hauling garbage to the dump and stuff for redoing my yard. It can haul a lot more than other pickups of it's size and it has good power. It has a lot of torque and the transmission shifts really smooth. The gas mileage isn't as good as I expected, but I am hoping new tires help some.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th March, 2007

1991 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Can't beat the cost to buy and operate

Faults:

Replaced the battery at 35000 and 65000 miles. Replaced the alternator at 60000 miles.

General Comments:

I bought it new ($5999) with.3 of a mile and have never had to take it back to the shop. I have only replaced the alternator, tires and battery. It has the same plugs, brake pads and rotors that came one the car. It is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. It is not a fun vehicle as the seats are not very comfortable and the ride is a little rough. Since I bought this truck I have had a 92 and 95 Ford Taurus SHO's and now have a 2004 Acura TL. I will probably still have the truck when I trade in the Acura.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2004

1991 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired198000 miles
Most recent distance222000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A tough truck competitor

Faults:

Nothing really other than the expected.

The gear shift lever broke on me and costed $140+ to get a new one.

General Comments:

Its the toughest 4x4 I've ever owned. if I want it to go there it does. I would love to have another in better shape o I could rag this one harder to see what it'll handle. I've heard mitsubishi is bringing it back possibly in 2005.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2004

1991 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 2WD 2.4L MPI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L MPI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles

Summary:

A Heavy Duty Bargain

Faults:

Worn Valve Guide Seals at 151,000

Worn Piston Rings at 151,000

Engine Blowby At 151,000

Besides That nothing major has gone wrong with the car. The bad seals and piston rings are my fault as a result of using a Ram Air Intake that was made for a different car.

General Comments:

Great work truck. Excellent for a mechanic or truck lover.

Nothing really goes wrong with the truck. It always starts, sometimes it idles hard, but that's my own fault. As long as you treat it nice it will last forever. the only thing I've had to do since I've had it is change the tires. I got it for free from my dad, I love it, but unfortuantly have no use for it. Great first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th December, 2003

1991 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired86 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carMercury Tracer

Summary:

Superb pickup truck

Faults:

No significant signs of wear.

General Comments:

This is a great pickup truck exceeded my expectations if only other people knew how reliable of a truck these are. The mighty max is one of the best kept secrets.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2003

12th Sep 2011, 14:48

I bought a new 1991 Mits Mighty Max pickup, and have had it ever since. Since I have had it, I have went through 2 Taurus SHO's and now an 02 Acura TL. The only problem I had was when the computer went out. Other than that, it keeps going and going. It only has around 80k miles on it, but except for a tear on the seat, it is just like brand new. It will still run over 110 on the interstate, though I have not tried that lately. It will pull from a dead stop in 5th gear, although I don't recommend it. Bought new for $6500. Best purchase I ever made.

1991 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 2.4L I4 FI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L I4 FI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired169000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi 82 CelicaGT 2.4l2bbl

Summary:

A relatively well performing piece

Faults:

Water pump failure immediately after purchase.

While attempting to replace the water pump, it required in turn, removing the crank pulley with a harmonic balance puller to remove the lower timing belt cover, faulty design if you ask me.

Uncomfortable Seating arrangement, no possible way to adjust the seat.

Transmission is very rough, produces a lot of odd noises while driving down the road.

Along with that, the rear suspension seems to be making a progressing rattling noise, as if something is coming lose.

U-Joints going out.

General Comments:

I will admit, this truck is not brand new, and I just received it, but the amount of problems encountered immediately after spending $300 to repair minor things has already forced me to sell it, if anyone claims this is a reliable truck, I'm sure a few out there are, but for the majority I have seen, they seem to be problematic, and on top of that, parts seem to be relatively more expensive than most cars/trucks I've owned.

My 1982 Celica at 230,000 miles I have had less problems with in the last 60,000 miles I've owned it, almost nil to none.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd March, 2003

14th Apr 2006, 23:07

I love my mits truck and have had little problems with it besides the normal wear and tear.

10th Sep 2006, 21:28

MY truck has 112,000 miles on it and still runs great. NO problems except usual wear an tear items like timing belt and exhaust pipe.

30th Apr 2008, 15:03

I have a 1991 Mitsubishi Mighty Max V6 4x4. I was just wondering if anyone knew/knows why it lost spark and does not run anymore. Get back to me at allisonpride@hotmail.com

25th May 2008, 19:29

I have owned my Mighty Max ever since we bought it in 1991, and I have never had a problem. I drive it hard, I do burnouts, and I have pulled a Cadillac to the crusher with it, and with 120,000 miles on it I have kinda turned it in to race truck and run a 75 shot of nitrous, and it handles it with no problems.

18th Nov 2008, 01:28

I THINK IT'S A GREAT VALUE TRUCK!!

You get bang for your buck. It's as good as a Toyota in a lot of ways. They are a solid little truck. Motors last. Tranny too. Easy to work on. I can almost sit in the passenger side.

Great economical truck - 26 mpg freeway. Cheap to maintain other than a few parts, like for some weird reason the alternators are a bit high. But tune-ups barely dent the pocket, and so does the 4qts of oil to service.

It's not a Cadillac of trucks by no means, but a good little work truck.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews