1999 Mitsubishi Mirage DE Coupe 1.2L from North America




The AC motor had to be replaced when I got it at 58,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable.

I took it from Tampa, FL to Boca Raton many times, which is approximately 252 miles.

Minimal maintenance, only minor routine stuff.

Great gas mileage: 30 mpg in city, 38 mpg on highway.

It's a nice compact car that's affordable. I got it used in 2003 for around $4,500.

I wish I still owned it, but unfortunately it was totaled in an accident.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2005

1999 Mitsubishi Mirage 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand


Reliable and fun to drive

General Comments:

I purchased the car new in 1999, and it has since traveled 105,000 km.

The car is extremely reliable. I have had no problems with it.

The mirage is fuel efficient. It has a 50L fuel tank, which allows a range of between 650km (city) and 750km (country).

The engine performs well and feels rather spirited.

Last year I drove from Sydney to Queensland, approximately a 2000km return trip, which the mirage easily negotiated.

I have pushed the engine to an indicated 190km/h, yet the car felt very stable.

The 5sp gear box is light and easy to use.

Handling is also excellent.

I cannot find any real faults with the car. I am very happy with it, and I will most probably keep it for another 2 years. I would definitely recommend this car to someone looking for cheap reliable transport.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2005

10th Aug 2008, 07:52

Cool, I want one!

1999 Mitsubishi Mirage DE 1.5L 4 cylinder from North America


The Mirage is a beauty that cries for more power


The heat shield panel became loose causing it to rattle at lower speeds. The spark plugs went bad causing it to put put at take off.

The brakes needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

The four door Mirage is an absolute beauty.

It has a very comfortable ride and it handles very well.

The 1.5L engine is very slow and it sounds strained with the automatic transmission.

The car is very refined and its build quality is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2003

2nd Sep 2003, 11:16

I have a 99 Mitsubishi Mirage also. I agree about the lack of power. I have had a hard time trying to find performance parts for it i.e. computer reprogrammer like Hypertech or similar. The car has performed flawlessly over the past 3 years, but I have had to do the front brakes 3 times. Two times from a lame mechanic and once myself... no problems yet from the ones I did.

Check www.alldata.com for recall issues on the Mirage. They are just minor dealer fixable issues.

Keep up the good work Steven. Nice site.

P.S. if you know of any power adding features I can do besides a K&N filter, please e-mail me. Thank you buddy.

10th Aug 2004, 19:35

If your car stopped it might have gotten to hot I had that problem with my car and as you said everything else still works, you might want to check and make sure your waterpump is still working and the seal isn't broken.

1999 Mitsubishi Mirage DE 1.5L Inline-4 from North America


A fun and economic car


I have had virtually no problems with the car.

The only complaint that I have is that the manufacturer paint job chips and shows blemishes easily.

General Comments:

I purchased the car because I was looking for a Japanese economic compact car to modify.

I have found that after-market support for this car is almost non-existent in the United States. Although, I have been able to make modifications of the wheels, exhaust/intake system, mobile multimedia, and lighting. I have been able to find a few options for turbo upgrades, ignition, and the computer.

The car is fun to drive and handles well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2002

24th May 2003, 04:06

Paint wears our. Look at overspray between door openings. should be professionally inspected!

24th Jun 2007, 18:45

Virtually no problems-that pretty much sums up my experience with Mirage. The Mirage is not a popular car, that means lower production #'s and that can make finding parts much more expensive. I had to replace the rear window on my 01 and it was special order, $400. Ouch! As a rule though, I never have trouble finding parts, even though some have to be special ordered.

6th Apr 2008, 23:02

That's what I think is dumb! VERY VERY FEW people have a Mitsubishi Mirage! Obviously that makes this car a GENERIC brand car. Some people are obviously afraid of what other people will think of them by choosing a Mirage over a Civic (on which Civic cost twice as much to buy).

Read my review on the "J car" on the 97 Mirage reviews on this site. As I can comment: These cars are reliable and long lasting. My 97 was FAR better off than my Ford Escort on which the engine died at 133k miles. Evidently my transmission needs work now, BUT it still runs and drives, not like my 94 Ford Taurus when trans completely failed at 113k miles . My Mirage has 174k miles. First time a big thing happened. BUT remember, my 97 is NOT disabled completely, I'm still using now, but can go over about 55mph, since I don't have 3rd or 4th gear (automatic)

1999 Mitsubishi Mirage LS Coupe Evolution V 1.8 L 16v from North America


The best in its class!


The car body is very pretty. But the suspension in some cases would not be so good. It has a road noise that is mega bad. In some hills the car starts to shake at low speed and with minimum acceleration. But it is a good car. And very luxurious in its class. It comes with sun roof, fog lights, compact disc etc etc...

A well equipped car. And the best in its category.

General Comments:

The car has some performance problems such as road noise and the shaking in hills. But it is a good car and I will buy again :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2001

19th Aug 2002, 23:56

Evolution V? I think not. Mitsubishi did not release the Lancer Evolution in a coupe version. I presume the author means they have tacked on a plastic kit to make it look like an Evolution V - there is NO Comparison.

1st Aug 2003, 16:55

I wouldn, t go so far and say that it's an evolution V, but with the evolution body kit the Mirage is a real head turner.

23rd Jan 2010, 18:02

It's not technically called an Evolution V, it's just Technica Evolution period. Its the luxurious version of the Technica with carbon fiber style interiors, spoiler, moonroof. Same engine though.