2001 Mitsubishi Mirage Reviews

2001 Mitsubishi Mirage ES 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Cheap and reliable

Faults:

Audio system has not withstood the test of time. CD player no longer works and the speakers are shot.

These "problems" probably have more to do with the fact that the car started out life as a rental car than anything.

General Comments:

Most reliable car I have owned to date. Even if it dies tomorrow, I will feel that I have gotten more than my moneys worth out of it.

It consistently gets approximately 30 miles to a gallon of gas, regardless of how it is driven.

Interior is not fancy, but those of small to medium build should find it comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2013

2001 Mitsubishi Mirage DE 1.5L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.5L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

Reliable and cheap

Faults:

Nothing.

Simple tune ups and oil changes.

General Comments:

Make sure you change the trans fluid often. It is notorious for failure. But if taken care of, it will last.

The automatic is slow to accelerate.

Doesn't look the best.

Good car if you need to get from point A to B, without style.

The steering column is short, so if you are tall, you may be uncomfortable.

Other than that, a great car for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2011

2001 Mitsubishi Mirage ES 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles

Summary:

A stylish, reliable bargain

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car yet. *Knock on wood*

I feel very confident with its reliability.

General Comments:

I love this car to death, but would like a little more horsepower. But it is pretty feisty for a four-cylinder engine.

It handles exceptionally well, almost telepathically leading me around potholes.

The seats do not have lumbar support, so long drives can be hell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2004

24th Jun 2007, 18:51

I've taken my Mirage on many long trips and it's never felt uncomfortable.

13th Jan 2011, 20:02

I had one of these for about 3 years. It was incredible on gas, 33 mpg highway! Not very quick, terrible in snow. Worst car I've ever driven in snow actually.. No ABS, no traction control, small tires, no balls. In the summertime it was a joy. When it got around 130K, I had to replace all of the struts and it still rode rougher than when I originally purchased it with around 100K. Set me back about $700. Other than that, super reliable. Always started, never died. No real mechanical problems aside from the O2 sensor.

2001 Mitsubishi Mirage Hatchback 1.5L SOHC four-cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5L SOHC four-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance12967 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Sierra

Summary:

Superior quality and value for money

Faults:

(1) Rubber seal around right headlamp came loose: fixed by dealer under warranty.

(2) Power steering drive belt came off: fixed by dealer under warranty.

General Comments:

I bought this car brand new in November 2001.

The Mirage has a lot of performance as it is using the rugged 1.5L engine as used in the Mitsubishi Lancer, but the Mirage is at least 60-90 kg lighter than the Lancer.

Excellent fuel economy. I can easily get 4.6L per kilometer when freeway or highway driving and 6.9L per kilometer in suburban driving.

The cabin personifies comfort blended with practicality. Although the car's dashboard has often been criticised in car magazines for appearing dated, the dashboard still looks up-to-the-minute in my opinion.

Very positive manual gearchange... it is a delight to use as the engine is torquey and very punchy low down in the rev range.

The Mirage styling is still very much up-to-the-minute and exciting despite the Mirage having been on the Australian market since 1997.

Excellent all round vision thus providing me with a feeling of safety and confidence when driving in heavy or peak hour traffic.

The build quality of the Mirage is superb with well-fitted panels and excellent quality of paintwork. Contemporary equivalent size Korean cars and many other similar Japanese cars lack that feeling of quality and refinement.

The Mirage feels quite solid despite its small size.

In my experience, the service and support provided by Mitsubishi Australia has been excellent. I would be interested to know if other readers have had different experiences with the Mitsubishi service departments.

The only criticism I can make of the Mirage is that the boot area is too small as I had to carry some luggage in the back seat when driving from Melbourne to Sydney.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2002

6th Sep 2003, 06:36

Author's footnote - I have now traded in the Mirage for... another new Mirage for which I shall hopefully do a review on in the near future. I still highly recommend the Mirage for any keen driver who wants an excellent quality Japanese car with good performance and a touch of sporting flavour, but without a high price tag, believe me you won't be sorry.

4th Mar 2004, 21:09

I'm planing on getting a mirage myself. I just wanted to know a couple things. Firstly do fit in it comftabley, I'm wondering because I'm rather tall (5'11) and last time I was in a excel I was too tall. And whats it performance like, eg. how fast can it do 0-60 km and whats its top speed.

2nd Sep 2004, 10:18

If you fit 14inch wheels instead of the standard 13inch you must get the speedometer reset or you will end up doing more kph than indicated. That flash on the verge will be from the Government Revenue Star called Nova and it's very Multi. Been there and done that.

9th Sep 2005, 03:17

Yeah, look out for the revenue-raising multanovas!

2001 Mitsubishi Mirage ES 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles

Summary:

Overlooked and under-rated!!

Faults:

Nothing at all wrong.

General Comments:

This was one surprise! It feels like a much more expensive car. Very tightly built and well-crafted. Nice open and spacious feel for front passengers. The back isn't too bad either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2001

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 5 reviews