1997 Mitsubishi Montero Reviews

1997 Mitsubishi Montero SR 3.5L V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired77105 miles
Most recent distance138594 miles

Summary:

I wish they still made trucks like this

Faults:

Brake light pressure switch failed around 120k; was easily replaced for about $65.

Rear passenger door window stopped working for about 2 weeks around 80k, but then resumed again without further issue.

Driver's side low beam bulb would burn out and have to be replaced once every winter.

General Comments:

What an amazingly rugged vehicle. I was the 3rd owner of this truck and it appeared to be well maintained before I purchased it. I drove it daily for over 4 years without any major issue. I performed normal maintenance (oil, battery, filters, bulbs, tires, brakes, etc..) but it never required any repairs. I sold it to a good friend, and last I checked, it's now over 170k and has only needed a new radiator.

The 4WD drivetrain in the Montero SR is one of the best I've ever experienced. There was very little that could slow it down. I never had an issue getting to work on unplowed roads in the winter, or crossing through the mud and streams in the summer trips to the mountains.

One of the best and unique interior features was the large sunroof located over the middle-row passenger seats. Two people could stand side by side comfortably out of the sunroof. I haven't seen another manufacturer locate a sunroof so far back.

The gas consumption was not terrible as compared to other 4WD trucks of similar weight. I could get about 20 on long highway trips if I drove conservatively around 60mph. Its variable ride suspension could be adjusted with the flip of a switch to make it very comfortable on the highway.

I do miss having this truck around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2014

1997 Mitsubishi Montero LS 3.5L V6 Gasoline from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Most recent distance290000 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

AWESOME, and one of the most reliable vehicles I have every owned

Faults:

Minor oil leak when first purchase used.

Alternator damaged by above oil leak.

Ran engine hot and warped head (not the vehicle's fault).

General Comments:

This vehicle had over 90,000 miles on it when I purchased it.

I have had only minor problems that weren't caused by myself, due to pushing the vehicle very hard.

There is very little I can say negative about this vehicle. It has almost 300,000 miles and is still going strong. I would HIGHLY recommend a Mitsubishi vehicle to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2010

1997 Mitsubishi Montero SR 3.5 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Montero

Summary:

The Montero is an outstanding value in it's class

Faults:

I have no problems with my Montero.

General Comments:

This Montero is a real off road SUV. I use it a lot for hunting, camping, and off road adventures with my family. We have an old army trailer that works great with it. If you are looking for a real off road SUV that will get you there and back, this is it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2005

1997 Mitsubishi Montero SR 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles

Summary:

A fantastic SUV

Faults:

Replaced timing belt at 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck is great-handles well-looks great-body and paint holds up and in 4 wheel with Yokohama tires will climb trees.The square look on the 1997 SR is well defined-The interior (Leather) is awesome -I hope to put another 100K on this truck-

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2004

1997 Mitsubishi Montero SR V6 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Great looking, but not very reliable

Faults:

I've had this SUV for 2 years.

Replaced the battery twice.

Replaced the starter.

Replaced the alternator twice.

Replaced rear door hinges ($450).

One of the 4 wheel drive indicator lights has gone out on the instrument panel.

Cruise control only works half the time and randomly shuts off.

All interior and headlights flicker from bright to dim the fist 10 min of run time.

Steering is loose, feels like something is loose within steering system. Has a slight shimmy despite new tires.

General Comments:

I really like the look of the car, but it has given me nothing, but trouble. I would have sold it by now just to save on repair cost, but it's not held it's value well enough to make it worth selling.

It needs the spark plugs and wires changed which is about a $400 job since it's designed so you have to take the engine apart just to get to the plugs.

This SUV has stranded my wife and new baby twice and stranded us in the middle of a long road trip.

I will not buy or recommend a Montero to anyone and probably won't buy another Mitsubishi. The cars are good looking, but just don't hold up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th October, 2003

12th Nov 2003, 23:03

"It needs the spark plugs and wires changed which is about a $400 job since it's designed so you have to take the engine apart just to get to the plugs."

Are you serious???

1st Feb 2004, 09:43

Yes,

I just had my 2000 Montero Sport at the dealer and he quoted me $360.oo to do the job. They have to take the top of the motor off to do it. Better get 100,000 mile plugs when you do this. I will not buy a Mitsubishi again because of this.

Tom.

1997 Mitsubishi Montero SR V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

The Montero SR is reliable, spacious, rugged, stylish, and stellar off-road, the perfect SUV

Faults:

The alarm has started to act up, but I think it is because we purchased a new remote from the dealer and ever since they programmed it, it has been dodgy.

I left the sunroof open during a Florida down pour and thusly, the sunroof is also acting up. It works, but it is on its' own schedule. Considering the down pour (everything is the Montero was absolutely SOAKED), I would say that it is impressive that the only electrical problem is the sunroof.

General Comments:

This is my 3rd Mitsubishi (two Eclipse GSX's and this Montero SR) and when, or if, I kill this one, I will try to find another one same year and everything.

Aside from the brain fart of leaving the sunroof open in a torrential down pour, this vehicle has been absolutely stellar.

We, my Fiance and our three dogs (a pit-bull, border collie, and an 80lb New Finland/Lab mix), have gone from Montana to Mexico, and from Florida to Washington state in it and we LOVE it.

This is the most reliable, comfortable, spacious, rugged looking and performing SUV you can buy. It looks like a smaller version of the Landcruiser and actually handles and maneuvers much better than one. And with the locking rear differential, it four wheels about as well as one (and we have definately done some four wheeling in our travels).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2003

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews