1982 Mitsubishi Sigma Reviews

1982 Mitsubishi Sigma GJ 2.6L astron petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.6L astron petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired269009 kilometres
Most recent distance296400 kilometres

Summary:

Good first car

Faults:

Seat belts wore badly.

Exhaust rusted through and fell off.

Some oil leaks.

Fuel light broke.

Clock broke.

Brakes lock up when left sitting.

General Comments:

Handles well when going in a straight line, but round corners if you're not careful you'll find yourself sideways in a ditch.

Good visibility.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2007

1982 Mitsubishi Sigma gj SE 2.6 carb from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.6 carb Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance46904 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Sigma

Summary:

Great little town or first drivers car

Faults:

The rear tail lights were full of dirt and dust.

Some rust in the doors (been cut out)

Starter motor in cold mornings grrrr.

General Comments:

The car looks and drives well, but the tailpipe leaves black smoke stains below the right hand tail lamp.

The drivers side door sometimes bounces back when you shut it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th April, 2004

1982 Mitsubishi Sigma GSR 2.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance158000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 808

Summary:

Honest, no frills, super reliable transport

Faults:

Water pump at 130.000

Absolutely nothing else, except wear items...exhaust, radiator and tyres.

General Comments:

Being the original owner, I have looked after the car, changed the oil and filter every 5000k's.

It starts first time every time, and is so maintainance free and cheap to keep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2003

1982 Mitsubishi Sigma GL 2.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired93400 kilometres
Most recent distance93500 kilometres

Summary:

Really good first car!

Faults:

Slight body rust

Boot leaks

General Comments:

This is my first car car and so far it is cutting pretty sick!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th August, 2003

1982 Mitsubishi Sigma from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carDatsun 120Y

Summary:

Standard

Faults:

When I purchased the car in 2001, it was set up with a roll cage for speedway (in Gisborne NZ). The motor had a blown head gasket on number four cylinder. At the start of this season the oil pump bearing seized, which stripped the cam belt.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable and quick, with the standard 1997cc motor. With time spent on suspension tuning (using standard springs and wedges) it handles well. I'm looking a RWD turbo motor and parts for one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2003

1982 Mitsubishi Sigma GLX 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired117540 kilometres
Most recent distance257350 kilometres
Previous carVauxhall Victor

Summary:

A very relible and economical car for a realistic price

Faults:

Has had the alternator reconditioned at 199000 km. car broke down as a result of alternator failure.

The coil resister broke at 240000 and was repaired by the a. a so I could obtain another one.

General Comments:

This car is no rocket ship, but is very relible and economical and is specially good on long trips and does stick to the open road well as I drive slowly around town. once its in fifth gear its cruises beautifully.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2003

1982 Mitsubishi Sigma GJ Wagon Astron 2.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Astron 2.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance189078 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Sigma

Summary:

A bad lemon with sweet handling for a station wagon

Faults:

I swapped my Saturn 1.6 for an Astron 2.6, thinking that the power difference would be a lot, but the 1.6 went nearly 2 times as hard.

Major oil leak.

Eats the petrol so bad that you would think it is a six.

Petrol tank split in half while attempting to jump it over a hill. Had to scramble from the car before it blew up, and was unsuccessful; I got my shirt caught on the rear mud flap.

General Comments:

The car was sturdy and good for a four cylinder to thrash.

I suggest you get insurance, because these cars do have some bad parts. Mostly because the Magnas had the same motor, surprise surprise. I'll go for another Chrysler I think.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2002

1982 Mitsubishi Sigma SE 2.0 Litre SOHC 4 cylinder petr from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Litre SOHC 4 cylinder petr Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Most recent distance156000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Gemini

Summary:

A bargain buy. Get the manual

Faults:

3 Blown Head Gaskets in 10 years of ownership.

3 Cracked Heads (cracked the same time as gaskets blew).

Master cylinder replaced in 2001.

Constant rust problem.

General Comments:

It is slow, but fun to drive.

If you want a 2.0, choose the manual.

If you really want an automatic buy a 2.6.

Wagon has quite good load area especially with back seats folded down.

Seating kind of cramped for tall people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th May, 2002

27th Jul 2002, 21:11

I do not agree with this review at all, I have not owned one for as long, but have found it to be an absolute pleasure to drive throughout the entire time I have.

I believe the Sigma is one of the most reliable cars on the road today, how many other cars, from the same era do you still see on the road, without any major work, still going hard? Not too many. Acceleration is often slow, but once the car is moving it equals most of today's cars power-wise.

My Sigma was purchased for $AUD350 with only 68 000kms on the clock and only needing a windscreen and the brakes done. It has been written off twice and by going to the wreckers it cost no more than $AUD100 each time to fix completely.

I love my Sigma and think it was one of the best bargains I ever picked up, anyone considering buying one I strongly urge you to or look into it further, Sigmas are the best!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 11 reviews