1988 Mitsubishi Starion ESI-R 2.6 turbo Intercooled from North America


These cars are the bomb


The cam tower bolts in the cylinder head stripped out, resulting in a broken valvetrain.

The alternator and battery have also gone out, but the wear has been consistent with a car of this age.

General Comments:

This car is amongst the fastest I have ever owned, and I have owned some fast cars. While spanking most cars on the road, it manages to knock out very respectable fuel mileage.

The interior is a dream come true for anybody, with very supportive seats that have many adjustments. The factory sound system is of audiophile quality, and has controls located in the steering wheel.

My only real issue with the car is that it is a little difficult to get in and out of, but you soon learn a technique for it, and it's all good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2003

7th Apr 2004, 09:43

I'm getting one soon. I hope that this car is good. I wanna hook it up and stuff like that. Hopefully you can give me some pointers.

18th Jun 2006, 05:08

I'm thinking about buying a Starion, but end up finding not running ones, or a couple of thing are wrong with the car. I'm willing to work on the car, but just doing my research on the Starion. Anyone with good advice, let us know.

28th Sep 2006, 07:05

Looking for information on Starion/Conquest? try Top End Performance. They are out of California. They are very knowledgeable about these cars, also have good pricing. The best year to buy is 87 and newer. the 86' which I have is rare. Mits changed injectors half way through production year, thus resulting in very expensive injectors. These cars aren't a cheap fix, but are well worth it.

20th Mar 2007, 18:42

Try KDM Performance they'll help more than anyone else. They have helped me a lot and the products are great.They're out of California.Check out the website.

4th Nov 2010, 13:03

I have a 1988 Chrysler Conquest with a Mitsubishi motor. I have some much fun! 0 to 60 in 4 1/2 seconds. It depends how you shift. I hook my Conquest up with Lambo doors, the chicks love it. Thank god my dad passed it down to me! Turbo fun, fun, fun.

1986 Mitsubishi Starion ESIR 2.6 from North America


This car was well worth the wait


Head gasket went about 1000 miles ago.

Had a bad jet valve.

Fuel pump went at 129,000 miles, it was the original.

Had to replace the original fans, good idea living in the desert.

General Comments:

I had always wanted one of these cars! It was quite the bargain for all the speed and handling that come with it.

This car puts to shame the 1986 Mustang V8 I once owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

23rd Mar 2004, 18:31

Don't forget to mention the starion is a 4 bangger

1987 Mitsubishi Starion TSi 2.8L turbo from North America


0-60 in 5.4 sec, a very high performance bargain


Voltage regulator wire will burn out, replace with a stronger thicker 12 gauge wire so that it won't do it again.

Heads can go but gas never happened to me, oil pump can stall and destroy your engine if you don't get to it in time. Flush the engine every time you change your oil. Car will run a long time.

General Comments:

Very very fast car, I have a 95 Mustang GT now and it's much much faster plus it's a much nicer car to live with, it's got everything but a kitchen sink.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2000

15th May 2001, 07:44

I own a 1987 Mitsubishi Starion. I have done a lot of work to mine, it looks really nice but is practically stock. I was wondering if you could tell me were I can get a Mitsubishi Starion parts catalog or if it's even possible. Your review is right on the money. I have no arguments on your ratings.