1995 Nissan 100NX Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1995 Nissan 100NX Pacific 1.6 DOHC 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Outstanding performance and great looks, a real head turner

Faults:

To the present day nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

Surprisingly fast for a 1.6 and goes exactly in the direction you point it.

Standard acceleration is great, but is even better with a power boost valve fitted.

Far out shines my previous car, a Citroen Saxo, which was pathetic!

A very affordable introduction into the world of sports cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2003

1995 Nissan 100NX nx 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Sporty with economy

Faults:

The only fault is the tachometer which stopped working after 2 weeks!! This is the only fault I know of.. excellent reliability and good economy. By the way the tachometer is still not fixed!

General Comments:

Interior trip is in grey.. difficult to keep clean.. my best idea is to use a damp cloth on the upholstery to remove stains, dog hairs etc.. my dog shares our car!

The car is very comfortable although I do agree with other comments it is only a 2 plus 2 and not suitable for adults in the rear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2002

1995 Nissan 100NX 1.6 petrol from Cyprus

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A good quality car

Faults:

Parcel shelf hinges broke very easily.

Electric windows rattle when partly open and slightly leak when raining.

Paint work on plastic spoilers came off after a few washes.

Had to change the battery at 35,000 miles and the clutch went at 40,000 miles.

General Comments:

Apart from these faults the car has been very reliable.

Had no problems with the engine or the electronics.

No carburete problems that other owners seem to have had.

Surprised that have had no leaks from the sunroof.

The car is very nippy and good on fuel.

Had the car now for 6 years and very happy with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2002

1995 Nissan 100NX Pacific 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Good looking, reliable and economic

Faults:

Long running problems with the rear wiper, in the end the dealer realised it was a faulty relay and it's been fine since.

General Comments:

I love this car.

It could have been designed for me - I'm a small woman so there's loads of room.

You can get all your shopping in the boot, visibility all round is brilliant.

Its easy to park, the heater is efficient and best of all the roof comes off!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2002

1995 Nissan 100NX Pacific 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

A lot of fun for a little money!

Faults:

No sticky levers to report yet!!

General Comments:

What can I say?

I'm 23 years old, the insurance isn't too high, the car looks amazing with the roof off, it performs as a sporty looking car should, and drives even better than it looks!

Yes, I love my Nissan 100 Pacific!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2002

1995 Nissan 100NX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Great summer car, only

Faults:

Heater recirculation switch stuck - this was easily fixed with a screwdriver and hammer.

Driver's side window leaked.

Rear anti-roll bar bushes gone. Again an easy fix, but difficult to get the spares.

General Comments:

Really great car in the dry, especially with the top down.

Terrible drive in the wet. The front end was too light for the wide tyres (standard issue Nissan rims). It aqua-planed like crazy. This was apparently a known design fault.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2001

1995 Nissan 100NX Targa Pacific 1.6i 16v Twin Cam petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.6i 16v Twin Cam petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

The air recycling lever jams constantly.

Can fix by sticking hand up behind dash and pulling linkage or it will free itself eventually.

Door windows rattle like hell if not completely up or completely down.

Some paint came off nose cone when washing with hose (not high pressure).

General Comments:

Bought car 2 months ago, I was sold on it's performance, handling and it's T-bar roof arrangement.

I love this car, more now than at first, the styling took a while to get used to, but it definitely looks special with the roof panels off. The standard alloy wheels spoil it a bit by being too thin

and too small.

Driver and front passenger comfort is excellent, although I doubt I could pay someone to sit in the back for any length of time.

It's quite nippy (goes way past the max 120mph shown on speedo) and the engine sounds great, always attracts attention.

I love this car, when the sun is out and the roof is off and I'm cruising along the coastal road, I could even forgive it for sleeping with my girlfriend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 1998

12th Feb 2002, 05:04

UPDATE.

I drove this car for a year before upgrading to a Primera GTSE in which time the 100NX gave me a lot of pleasure and not too much pain.

Only dramas I can recall are skidding on some black ice and totalling a wishbone arm which a local garage replaced for £120 - dealership wanted over £300 - and trying to replace the roof panel bags, which were missing when I bought the car. I decided wrapping them in a travel rug would suffice after the dealer quoted me over £100! I also ended up replacing the rivets which hold the parcel shelf hinges on.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 10 reviews