1992 Nissan 200SX Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1992 Nissan 200SX 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance82300 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

High octane sports car with real street credibility

Faults:

No faults to mechanicals.

Drivers seat replaced due to wear.

General Comments:

Simply a road going bullet train.

Never fails to demand a look from onlookers.

Lowered suspension improves handling dramatically.

So easy to increase horse power.

Interior still looks relatively modern and functional and adds a great feel.

Add some nice alloy wheels and you really have a head turner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2003

1992 Nissan 200SX 1.8 turbo 16v from Hungary

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

An excellent, honest machine

Faults:

Turbo was dead when I bought the car.

Rear subframe bushings had to be replaced - which meant the whole subframe had to be replaced. Cost an arm and a leg.

Shocks were replaced - normal wear & tear, I guess.

General Comments:

Performance is great, handling is great, steering is somewhat numb.

The interior squeaks and rattles, but it's all right.

Not much torque under 3500rpm, but when boost kicks in, it really is smile time.

Gearchange is good.

Pretty tail-happy in the wet, but that's what a proper sportscar is supposed to be anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2001

12th Nov 2004, 10:26

"Rear subframe bushings had to be replaced - which meant the whole subframe had to be replaced. Cost an arm and a leg."

No longer necessary, you can get replacement bushings from Norris Designs http://www.norrisdesigns.com/. They are Japanese import. Don't let the Nissan dealers rip you off!

1992 Nissan 200SX 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Low flying aircraft

Faults:

There were only two nuts holding the turbo on when there should be eight.

Exhaust was blowing.

Needed a new set of bushes.

General Comments:

This car is amazing.

I spent £10,000 pounds on a 206 XS and sold it and spent £2,500 on my 200SX.

There's no need to spend thousands of pounds on a car, just buy a 200SX, it will be the most fun you'll ever have.

This car is like a low flying aircraft.

You can say bye bye to all the little boy racers, just watch them get smaller and smaller in your rear view mirror.

Modified to 214 bhp it's girl power, yes I am a woman and they hate that even more, that's if they get chance to see me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

5th May 2007, 06:15

Nice one there should be more girl racers.

1992 Nissan 200SX 1.8 16v turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

A low flying aircraft

Faults:

Only had the car two weeks, but everything seems fine apart from a new set of bushes and six bolts that were missing from the turbo.

General Comments:

I've sold a two year old peugeot 206 SX and brought a 1992 200SX.

Why bother spending £10,000 on a nearly new car when you can spend £2500 on a 200SX and have so much fun.

How fast are these cars?

I bought the car already modified to 240bhp, it goes really quick.

A bit dodgy on islands as I've found out.

Annoys the little boy racers even more when they see I am a woman driver.

What a beast of a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2001

1992 Nissan 200SX 1.8 16v turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Mind blowing machine

Faults:

Only now has it developed a massive flatspot at 2500 - 3000rpm sometimes losing all power. Local dealership tested the car and charged £18 for adjusting my idle speed down 250 rpm to 900rpm, suspect it got thrashed and was returned to me still knackered. Dealer obviously don't know how to run a proper diagnostic check on the ECU etc. Love the car though. Just hope she gets better soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2000

27th Mar 2001, 07:40

I had the same flat spot! turned out to be CPU fault and needed replacing. This fault caused me to crash the car. See "My tale of Woe" review above.

1992 Nissan 200SX 1.8 16V turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 16V turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 1.9 GTI

Summary:

Japanese rocket!

Faults:

Only had it a week. Though the previous owner replaced the turbo and clutch at around 70K miles. As well as general servicing, pads, oil change etc.

General Comments:

I owned a Peugeot 205 1.9 GTi before, and even though it was quick, it's nothing compared to the 200SX. The power you feel when the turbo kicks in at 4000 RPM is almost frightening!

It's a great looking car, a nice sleek design (especially with big 17 or 18 inch wheels!), as well as being very original.

Great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2000

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 12 reviews