2001 Nissan 200SX Reviews

2001 Nissan 200SX SX 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance75700 kilometres

Summary:

Awesome handling and performance

Faults:

No problems since purchased.

General Comments:

Purchased this car after test driving a number of turbo charged japanese spec cars.

Awesome looks, awesome performance without the huge price tag.

Cabin is a little cramped for me with a 6ft 3inch frame, but then again it is a japanese stlyed sports weapon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2005

2001 Nissan 200SX SPEC S turbo w/ intercooler from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission turbo w/ intercooler Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Previous carVolvo S40

Summary:

A reliable brilliant machine at an unbeatable price

Faults:

Nothing major thus far.

Tires and rims look like they will need a change soon.

Scratching of dash... Everything else is peachy cream.

General Comments:

Haven't had it long, but it is sweet thus far. Going replace dash with a carbon fiber one cause it's scratch central... A little restrictive for a guy my height (6 odd foot). Part from that brilliant driving position although with my long arms I wouldn't mind if the gear lever was a little shorter. Still all in all brilliant ride, smooth, quick, and coming out of an s40 a dream to park and take in tight places. A dream around corners, take care in the wet. An awesome package for this price. And the costs for running are sweet in comparison to my previous European s40. Dealer is forced to keep parts for 8 years which is awesome, as living in Australia can sometimes cause problems with getting parts for import vehicles (which this basically is!). Highly recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2003

2001 Nissan 200SX Spec R 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

Brilliant performance - Bargain price

Faults:

Nothing major so far apart from a few squeaks and rattles around the sunroof and the shroud above the steering wheel. These only happened after about 30,000k's and both problems were fixed promptly by the dealer under warranty.

General Comments:

This is my second 200SX after previously owing an S14 model for 4 trouble free years.

It's an absolutely brilliant car to drive and leaves you with a smile everytime you get out of it especially if the road is nice and twisty.

The Limited Slip Diff puts the power to the ground brilliantly out of tight corners and the six speed gearbox is a delight to use.

The handling is superb although some caution is required in the wet as with any high powered RWD car. It's a much more predictable car to drive in the wet when compared to the S14 model which was more akin to a dog on lino!

The SR20DET engine must be up there with one of the best turbo engines of all time. Very little turbo lag and it pulls strongly from about 2500rpm.

Gripes: Whilst the seats are comfortable there is nothing in the way of adjustments plus there isn't much head room if you are 6ft or over. The Spec S without the sunroof has slightly more headroom.

There is very limited rear seating, but hey it's not a family car!

The cockpit is very comfortable with everything in easy reach - I just completed a 4500km round trip to Adelaide from Sydney in 10days and had no problems with comfort.

There is no cruise control standard so it is worthwhile fitting an aftermarket one - best $500 I ever spent.

Overall this is seriously the best car I have ever owned and I hope to hang on to it for a long while yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2003

2001 Nissan 200SX Spec R 2.0 turbo Premium Umleaded from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Premium Umleaded Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance35600 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

An excellent car with both attitude and personality

Faults:

The hydraulic clutch cylinder failed at 5,000 kilometers. This was immediately repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

Pure enthusiasts drivers car. Not a quiet cabin nor too refined, but so much interaction you can't believe it. You can throw this car sideways at will with a slight blip of the accelerator into a nice power slide.

The front end holds tight into all corners and provides accurate feedback to the steering wheel.

Upon entering you lower yourself into the drivers seat. The cockpit fits tight like a glove.

Beautiful driving position with short throw gear shift lever in perfect position.

Six speed manual box is a delight to throw around without baulking between gears. The clutch too seems faultless.

The limited slip differential (ex GTR Skyline) is the best in the business and plants power well to the ground and also provides precise feedback when ready to break loose. The rear end is easily controlled under dry slide conditions.

I purchased the Spec R for the additional features despite this model being slightly heavier and therefore slower.

I have driven a Type R GT although the leather seats proved to be less than impressive and the rear spoiler interrupts the drivers view while looking out of place.

It should be noted that the S15 200SX will break rear end traction and spin around on any driver who lacks attention. The turbo charged, rear wheel drive, and limited differential combination make this a lethal weapon in the wet with great care required to keep it on the road. Once mastered though the S15 is the most fun you will ever have in the wet.

I have replaced one set of tyres at 35,000 kilometres which were all worn evenly.

Standard inter-cooler limits power delivery although 200kW is easily recognised with minor modifications.

This is a car that will outlook and outperform 99% of the cars on the road. No other manufacturer has this combination for under $100,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2002

5th Jul 2003, 04:29

A fine review! It makes me wish the S15 had been sold in the UK. Maybe it's the car I can move on to when my S14 retires?

10th Jul 2006, 00:09

After owning an S14 for around 7 months, I have finally got myself an S15. The 174kw produced at the wheels is more than enough for a beginner drifter.

As mentioned, with slight modifications the S15 is a rocket. As we speak, I'm having a HKS GT 25-40 bolted on with the matching HKS manifold. Also the stock ECU is being ditched as the "Stocker" hasn't got all that much going for it. I've decided to run an Apexi Power FC as they work brilliantly with all Nissan motors. I will be running around 0.9bar boost (13-14PSI) and expecting to make somewhere around 250-265kw on a moderate tune. All in all, the s15 is a great performance package, and is the best bang for the buck on the market for drifters.

Dave.

Mr.15.

28th Dec 2007, 18:42

Hey mate the S15 is a fine car however you commented that it will beat 99% of cars on the road.

Mate you have not been in a fast car...

I drive a Supra Twin Turbo and in stock form I was destroying modifed S15s with ease.

I do understand that the S15 is only a 4-cylinder and I'm comparing it to a Twin Turbo 6 however please do not make the S15 seem like something it is not.

On that note I would like to also say that I have driven many S15s and that the S15 is only quick for WHAT IT IS, A 4-CYLINDER TURBO...

Goodluck with your car and have a happy and safe new year...

Adam.

21st Jan 2009, 02:24

Most likely in the straights. My dad owns a Supra and it could never out corner an S15. Yes it is faster in straight line, but what does that prove?

23rd Apr 2010, 08:25

Hi there Supra lover: for all I know, the Supra is a six and the S15 is a four, so therefore you can't compare; they are in a different class... but for the record, the S15 is a much better car overall in all aspects!

Kiki.

2001 Nissan 200SX Spec S 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance3100 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Definitely high performance for the price

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

Fantastic car if you're a serious driver.

Have to learn to slide the car properly.

Rear seats are a little small, generally for legless passengers. But that's not the driver's problem right?

Turbo is smooth and gives you very consistent acceleration from 2500 to 5500 revs.

Seats are comfortable compared to the WRX and the 2001 Type R. Not as hard ride as the other two as well.

Rear wheel drive gives it better acceleration than the WRX and Type R, but is at a disadvantage to these when it comes to cornering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2001

26th Sep 2009, 00:56

Better acceleration than a WRX? You're kidding right? WRX are AWD, which gives you better traction, which in turn gives better acceleration..

2001 Nissan 200SX Spec R 2.0 litre turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11 kilometres
Most recent distance1000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Power, class and performance

Faults:

Not much. A little tight in the rear seat, however that is to be expected with a coupe.

General Comments:

The 200sx is my third vehicle fitted with a turbo. Previously owned a Saab and a Subaru. The Nissan really is a stand out for its smooth use of the turbo and consistent power regardless of RPM's. This also assists when driving around town as you are able to enjoy a smooth ride without the turbo kicking in resulting in an adjustment to your driving.

The spec R offers a sunroof, 6 disc HiFi, spoiler and bodykit over the standard spec S model. Well worth the $4-$5K extra in my opinion.

The new body shape is a real head turner also. I am delighted with the new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2001

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews