Nissan 280ZX Reviews

1980 Nissan 280ZX 2+2 2.8L straight six from North America

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.8L straight six Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Brilliant car

Faults:

I had to replace the front right idler arm when I first bought the car, put in some new spark plugs and an air filter, and made sure the fluids were good.

General Comments:

This car is affordable, fast, fun. Very reliable, and all around a well designed car. You get Japanese reliability, with sports car performance. It's the functional sports car; if you fold down the rear seats, there is a lot of room in the back to put stuff in the car.

This car was definitely not even close to babied (and had probably sat for a number of years), and still runs without giving me any problems or leaving me stranded.

I love this car, and would definitely buy another again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2011

20th Jan 2011, 19:14

My dream car is a 370Z. I would much rather have one over a new Camaro, Mustang, or Challenger. It's just as capable as any of them.

1982 Nissan 280ZX 2.8L from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres

Summary:

Built too well!

Faults:

The only major problem was a blown head gasket... probably due more to lack of correct coolant and/or blocked radiator.

But generally the car body/engine/gearbox/diff bulletproof. Built like a Sherman tank.

General Comments:

When I first bought the car back in the early 90's it was quite a head turner.

Into the new millenium it had been overtaken by many other cars.

However for reliability, looks, value for money there would be few other cars like it.

I've owned about five or six. They are just about indestructible... I drove one off a mountain and completely totalled another car that chose to turn across my path, with relatively minor damage to mine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2005

1983 Nissan 280ZX 2.8 Non turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 Non turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired281000 miles
Most recent distance289000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Speed demon with the sex appeal and class

Faults:

There is a tiny patch of rust on the edge of the T-Top. I will take care of that when I repaint the car.

Almost the entire bottom of the car is rusted through. There is a hole where the spare tire used to be. I plan to replace all flooring with powder coated aluminum.

It seems that the windows do not fit right. I will be replacing all the seals, including the wind sheild seals.

There is a knock from the transmission when you really use the car, but it is more of an annoyance than a flaw.

These cars tend to have electrical problems often. I am working on replacing all the gages with after market parts.

The suspension can be tricky. I have the Tokico set on order.

I just replaced all the belts and timing chain. I offer a word of caution. The timing chain is a pain to replace. The first timing chain was too big. It took 3 days to get it out of the shop. Find a wonderful mechanic to get a good deal. I was quoted $1,200.00 from everyone else. He worked hard for $565.00.

What is the back seat for again?

General Comments:

I am in love with my car and plan to restore and collect Z cars until I die. My other half used to own a 1982 280ZX Turbo so I knew what I was getting into.

This car has a wonderful history. The only previous owner has 5 other Z cars and takes great pride in them. He teared up when I bought it. He only gave them up because he cannot drive a standard any longer.

There is no history on damage to the longevity of this car. It feels as though I am just now breaking it in as a sports car because it was never driven over 5,000 RPM!

I love to drive this car and it looks somewhat like a Ferrari/Japanese/American muscle car. I get the thumbs up when this woman blows the military Mustang guru off the road. I cannot wait till I put my turbo on!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2003

14th Jul 2003, 10:44

By any chance you are in Southern CA? What is the name of the shop that did your timing chain?

11th Jan 2005, 08:25

With a completely rusted-out floor? doubt that this car is in CA.

For what it's going to cost to fix up this old rusted, high mileage example, you could get a later turbo with more comfort and performance to boot!

1981 Nissan 280ZX 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

Good cheap performance

Faults:

Transmission was replaced at 75,000 miles and normal maintenance costs.

General Comments:

Very smooth ride with quick and very controllable handling. Was very fast off the line if you weren't afraid to push the car. In a block to block race with a good set of wide tires on it, I would race anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2001

21st Jul 2001, 02:40

I know what you mean, I've owned one for the past 10 years, a manual targa top with 14x8 three piece alloys, this car can still go off the clock on the speedo, 200kph not a problem.

Cc.

Cheers

Paul

New Zealand.

18th Jun 2002, 09:44

Great handeling, very fast, I just got an 82'and that's my joy in life. Recomend one to anyone, but prepare to need work once you get past 100K. Overall, great, fast car.

Zach 2002.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 4 reviews