1994 Nissan 300ZX Reviews

1994 Nissan 300ZX TT 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

A soon to be classic

Faults:

The water pump seems to be a common problem on this model needing replacement at 35000 miles.

Tappets can be noisy, but a good valve cleaner used 200 miles before a regular service seems to help. Fully synthetic oil is a must.

Car sticks to road on bends, but the leather bucket seats seem to allow the driver to slide too much.

General Comments:

The 300ZX TT is one of the fastest cars I've driven and feels solid, even at 155mph+.

Very stylish interior, excellent driving position.

A Porsche beater at Fiesta prices.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2001

1994 Nissan 300ZX Twin Turbo 3.0 turbo petrol from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45633 miles
Most recent distance48333 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

The perfect car

Faults:

This car is the most wonderful thing that has ever happened to me... It's beautiful and sexy, and I don't think I could live without it.

I can't wait for 2002 when I get to get a new one!!!

Thank you NISSAN!!!

General Comments:

This is the most perfect car in the world... I bet God himself owns one :) And if he doesn't, he should.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2001

8th May 2001, 10:52

I understand that it is beautiful and extremely fast, but don't forget that they are very thirsty.

27th Aug 2001, 15:32

Isn't that to be expected with so much power though?

27th Nov 2001, 17:39

Not if don't have a heavy foot ;)

My friend's 5.0 which is at 520hp right now, gets 29 miles to the gallon... better than my Explorer :P.

16th Dec 2001, 11:38

Someone who just made 520horsepower has a light foot, I don't think so!

3rd Apr 2003, 17:23

I think that when you own and drive one of these cars, your surroundings, your issues and especially fuel is extremely meaningless. DRIVE ON Z OWNERS!!!

23rd Oct 2004, 15:32

520hp and 29mpg I think you might be on something.

24th Jun 2005, 20:12

I find it hard to believe that a 5.0 Mustang could get 29 MPG, especially with all of the upgrades made to achieve 520 HP. Did you mean 19? I drove a like-new Mustang LX 5.0 for two months and never got more than about 17 out of the pig, even when using my lighter foot. Now, I do know from experience that cars can be modified to get better performance AND gas mileage simultaneously, but I think more people would be driving V8 Mustangs if they could milk numbers like 520 and 29 out of them. I will believe 19 MPG though. Someone also tried to tell me once that their Escalade got 26 MPG, WITH NO UPGRADES!!! I'll believe it when I quit seeing them filling up twice a week.

11th Mar 2006, 17:38

Re the Mustang debate. My '93 SSP (look it up) CAN get 27mpg when I'm willing to average 62mph. Only happens after a tune up and I'm running a test loop to check my mileage. Same with my '86 GT ragtop which CAN get 29mpg. I just choose to live with around 24mpg. Ross

1994 Nissan 300ZX 3.0 Twin Turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 3.0 Twin Turbo
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10

Faults:

Propshaft UJs had factory fault, causing a "seat of the pants" vibration at 40mph and again at 90mph. Was off the road a total of six weeks at four separate main dealers trying to solve the problem.

Threat of legal proceedings prompted Nissan GB's involvement. Problem never really fixed; although the UJs were replaced FOC, the car never felt stable at high speeds.

Apparently, this fault affects a significant number of UK cars.

General Comments:

Stunning looks - even today, ten years on from its release - mask the fact that you should avoid buying a 300ZX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th October, 1999

24th Apr 2005, 00:42

I own a 95 Z32. I have had my Z up to 110 mph, and it is smooth as butter. Indeed the car is a beautiful piece of art. However, its beauty isn't hiding anything. The car runs and performs as well as it looks.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 3 reviews