1983 Nissan 720 Pickup Reviews

1983 Nissan 720 Pickup King Cab from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles

Summary:

Excellent truck!

Faults:

Seats are beginning to wear.

No major mechanical issues.

General Comments:

Best older vehicle I have ever driven. Runs like it just came off the assembly line.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2009

1983 Nissan 720 Pickup 4x4 2.4 from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired114400 miles
Most recent distance118452 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Great truck if it had a new carb on it

Faults:

The stock Hitachi carb. is a piece of crap. It needs a Weber.

I replaced the clutch when I bought it, tune up and oil change.

Seat spring broke from wheeling.

General Comments:

If the carb. was working right, it would be a great truck.

It has taken a lot of abuse from me and keeps on going.

It can get through a lot of things off road, but it needs a fuel pump, carb. and a few little things, but overall, it's a decent truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2006

1983 Nissan 720 Pickup King Cab 2.4L Gas 2-barrel from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L Gas 2-barrel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance255000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Quite possibly the best all-around vehicle I've ever owned or heard about

Faults:

Replaced the fuel pressure sensor relay at 130,000 and 220,000 miles.

Replaced the ignition switch at 180,000 miles.

Replaced the clutch at 188,000 miles.

Replaced the 2.4L block with an imported 2.0L at 194,000 miles.

Replaced the radiator at 196,000 miles.

Replaced the transmission at 210,000 miles.

Replaced the carburetor at 221,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck would still bring more money than I paid for it 17 years ago.

The gas mileage on a recent cross-country round trip was 28.75 over 3500+ miles.

I'm fairly tall at 72", and the King Cab has enough room to make long hours on the road bearable.

I love the 5-speed transmission.

The radio still works.

The seats break down over time, but this truck has a quarter of a million miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2003

1983 Nissan 720 Pickup z24 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission z24 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance285000 kilometres
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

It just keeps going and going and going

Faults:

I've read a couple of reviews and found out its common for the head gasket to blow between two pistons in the 2.4. that's really the only serious isue I have had. I rebuilt the head and now it runs like a clock again.

I have rebuilt the front end. Now it feels like a new truck.

General Comments:

This is the first foreign car I have ever owned. I grew up with oldsmobile. Couple of 442s, a 1970 Delta 88 custom coupe (was very fond of that one), 1972 98 sedan (a milk truck of a car). now I run my own appliance repair bussiness. I was driving an f150. I tried for over a year to buy this truck from a friend of mine, but he would not sell. finally he gave in. I can honestly say this is the best truck or car I've ever owned.

Its not the prettiest thing on four wheels. its not fancy. And it will beat you to death on a bumpy road. But you can't kill it.

I bought a wrecked one for parts and even that one runs like a clock. So now I'm thinking of finding one with a blown motor or trans and building my first 4 banger hot rod.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

1983 Nissan 720 Pickup 4x4 2.4 ltr. 24Z from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 ltr. 24Z Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98500 miles
Most recent distance145200 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

A capable and proven off road machine

Faults:

The head gasket blew at 100,000 miles.

Replaced timing chain and water pump when head gasket blew.

Seats are worn.

Replaced transmission and clutch at 120,000.

Performed regular maintenance as needed and expected in an older truck. This however, is very reasonably priced.

General Comments:

With a few minor upgrades this is a diamond in the rough.

Excellent highway abilities.

Off road this 4X4 is hard to beat. I take this truck mudding all the time.

I will be adding more comfortable seats, as the originals are worn out.

Maintainance is relatively inexpensive and parts or items are easy to obtain.

If you have the 4 cylinder engine I recommend going to higher gears if you want larger than 30x9.50x15 tires.

I would also get at least a 3 inch suspension left.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2003

15th Jun 2005, 08:25

Well written and I agree with the writers comments, as I have an '83 Nissan 4X4 too.

1983 Nissan 720 Pickup Double Cab 1.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance343000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Nomad van

Summary:

Reliable functional workhorse

Faults:

Head gasket at 240 000 km.

Spring in the front driver's seat has gone.

Water pump at 340 000 km.

Fuel blockage in the carby at 330 000 proved very difficult to locate and eliminate.

Rust along joins in the front RHS firewall.

Radiator core at 200 000k.

Alternator at 300 000 k.

General Comments:

Served me well over past 11 years.

Only let me down twice.

34 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2001

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 6 reviews