2001 Nissan Almera E 5dr hatch 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good, reliable, cheap car

Faults:

Light behind electronic odometer went after owning car for 6 months - £50 to repair.

General Comments:

Good, reliable, small family car.

Space in rear is cramped, even for small (i.e 8 year old) children.

Struggles when fully loaded with children/luggage.

Not much sought after second hand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2003

2001 Nissan Almera SE 1.8 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

I was planning its replacement within 6 weeks

Faults:

Door trim strip came unglued. (5 weeks to get a replacement)

Dash-top box lid and catch replaced.

Peg for parcel-shelf lifting cord replaced (and abother about to fail)

General Comments:

Very poor turning circle. I dread having to park it anywhere.

Sun-visor design is bad - the depth is good, but they are so narrow that there are large gaps at either side.

Driver's door design allows collected water to drip onto window and door-lock switches.

Front-end grip is not good in the wet - the limits can be easily reached.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

23rd Sep 2002, 06:25

Poor comments - but high marks given below??

4th Nov 2002, 17:53

??? So mechanically it was good?

They all sound like minor problems with the car. I bought a Y reg Nissan Almera about 2 months ago and I love it!!

The drive is a nice drive for a 1.5 it picks up quite quickly on the motorway. Pull away speed could be better, but it's only a 1.5.

The engine is so quiet, that took some getting used to, but now I love it, and if all that goes wrong with it is catches on dashboard and seals coming off, I think it's a good buy.

I do agree though about the bad window design and rain able to get into electrics on door.

2001 Nissan Almera Sport 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Do not follow the crowd, get the Sport brilliant performer

Faults:

The only problems I have had is a slight burning smell from the passenger side air vents, and to have the dials replaced due to a fault fuel gauge. Apart from these the car has been faultless, I am very impressed so far. As I am a high mileage driver reliability is very important.

General Comments:

The car may not have the best image of many cars on the road, but with the Sport plus it stands out that bit more. The car is quick for its size and easily out accelerates some of hot hatches. It is a good overall performer, the cabin is comfortable yet sporty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2002

2001 Nissan Almera SE 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

An excellent, well developed car which should meet most needs

Faults:

There is a rattle from the small storage pocket to the right of the steering wheel. It only occurs on cold mornings and can't be fixed...

Other than that, it's been completely reliable and hasn't missed a beat.

General Comments:

It's very comfortable, very enjoyable to drive with good handling and stability.

Passengers comment on how comfortable it is.

Its only fault is that a lot of heat seems to leak in to the passenger compartment from the engine bay which makes it uncomfortable in warmer weather. Air conditioning would help.

The central locking is a bit noisy.

The carpet in the front foot wells gives the impression of being a little too large for the car - it feels as though it was lifted and not replaced properly.

The engine could do with a little more power.

Apart from these issues it's a very good car - I'm very happy with it and would buy another one without hesitation. It feels like a car built by people who enjoy driving and who have taken the time to make the driving environment more comfortable and pleasant.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2002

14th May 2004, 03:03

Interesting review - but I thought the Almera SE (and S) from this year all had air-con? Most of the ones advertised (and all the ones I've inspected) seem to have it.

BTW, it's not the engine that needs more power - it has plenty, but the car weighs in around 1.2 Tons!

Compared with (eg) an ancient Maestro at around 0.8 Tons we can see why it feels so sluggish in comparison. A problem not exclusive to Nissan - the Golf, Focus, etc, are similarly obese. I blame the parents! <grin>

Drive safely - 'Flymo'

2001 Nissan Almera Activ 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Looks nice and handles well

Faults:

Too soon to tell, but I'm impressed with the stowage, plenty of little places to hide things. I love the curry hook, no more madras stained carpets!

One problem is the cassette in the player rattles when not in use, a wee bit annoying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2001