2005 Nissan Almera Reviews

2005 Nissan Almera S 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63172 miles
Most recent distance70241 miles
Previous carBMW 3 series

Summary:

Very reliable and dependable. Very pleased with it

Faults:

Air Con has failed. Was recharged, but a leak was then detected. Would be costly to repair, so I am choosing to leave it.

No other faults or problems. Everything works fine.

General Comments:

This car pulls very well, and hills do not present a problem. The handling is very acceptable for this type of car.

The seats are very comfortable, with good lumbar support.

The driver's side window and passenger window rattle when open, which is irritating, but more things are pleasing than not. The suspension is noisy over certain surfaces, but settles at speed, and is then not an issue.

The cabin is a pleasant place to be in my view, with useful features.

It starts first time in all weathers, and is totally reliable and dependable. Performed very well during last Winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2013

2005 Nissan Almera S 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2017 miles
Most recent distance52200 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

Bullet-proof reliable

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Totally reliable; not even blown a bulb in 52K miles.

Pokey 1.8L engine with 36 MPG.

Excellent brakes, and fairly quiet on Hankook tyres, but the suspension is always busy at low speeds and on poor roads, which can be tiring, but it's a good cruiser otherwise.

Comfortable seats for longer distances, and a decent sized boot.

It may look a bit bland, but it's a very under-rated car in my opinion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2012

2005 Nissan Almera SX 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5500 miles
Most recent distance27500 miles
Previous carFord Granada

Summary:

A great 'little' car!

Faults:

Cat' converter replaced at 3,600 under guarantee.

Rear discs seriously pitted and replaced at 25,000.

Front discs badly pitted and due to be replaced.

(I believe the deterioration of the front and rear discs was due mainly to the car having been being stored outside on the manufacturer's car park for many months before I purchased it.) Unfortunately the dealers would not replace these under guarantee.

To date the car is returning a genuine 40 - 45 mpg overall while driving within the law.

General Comments:

Having down sized from a 2 ltr Ford, I was quite surprised to find that when needed this motor can really move, providing you are prepared to use the revs.

The ride quality is firm but comfortable, with good road holding qualities.

The heating controls take a little getting used to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th November, 2010

2005 Nissan Almera SX 1.5L petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.5L petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 kilometres
Most recent distance54500 kilometres
Previous carCitroen Xsara

Summary:

Great all round car, I love it :-)

Faults:

A few problems, but more the drivers fault than the cars.

- Clutch went at 35000 kilometers

- Brake pads at 30000 kilometers

That's all really, but as I said, I used to rest my foot on the clutch, and I paid 300 euro for the part and labour.

General Comments:

Great car, I love it, it's light on the road, it has good mileage to the gallon. I find it very spacious and comfortable. Nissan have always been a good all round car, and the Almera keeps up the standard.

I would say buy one, it's worth it.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2009

2005 Nissan Almera SVE 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8i Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carNissan Almera

Summary:

A fine all round car for little cost..

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is my Second Almera, and my 5th Nissan...

I find the engine more than OK for my needs If I could use a manual gear box I would no doubt be better off.

If I had my way I would have a CVT auto box rather then a 4/5 speed stepped box.

I do like the dash set up e. g stereo/sat nav/Air con, all in one.

As for all the bells and beeps (very cleaver).

After a long run I feel quite fresh I would say it's quite comfortable.

With lots of grip, and reasonable R&H.

I do love the way this car comes to a STOP...

But one thing I HATE is the headlights,

No range, not as bright as they need to be.

On my last Almera a did change the bulbs witch did the job.

However the new model with revised front and rear light's, changing the bulbs has made no difference, (must be the design of the whole unit).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2006

6th Jan 2007, 11:16

I had the headlight units replaced under warranty on my Almera, after being stopped by the police for driving on sidelights (when the headlights were on!).

I was told by the dealer that heat had distorted the reflectors within the headlight units.

The replacement was 18 months ago, when the car was 2 years old, they have been OK since.

2005 Nissan Almera SE 1.5L petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5L petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired7700 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carKia Carnival

Summary:

If I had the money I'd get a VW Golf

Faults:

1. Rear seat legroom is pathetic even when short people occupy both front & rear seats.

2. With a child seat in place, either one large adult or two small children can sit in the rear seat.

3.The engine is very noisy & thrashy after 4000 rpm.

4. Plastics are of the low cost variety with lots of rattling and hard surfaces.

5. Cup holders are useless - taller soft drink bottles tip over.

General Comments:

1. Excellent fuel economy. Even after driving at 80 MPH+ on the M1 for more than 3 hours, I got 44 MPG.

2. Excellent "toe-heel" position when rowing through the gears.

3. Excellent A/C & heating system with an AUTO setting.

4. Fronts seats can accommodate very tall individuals, but shorter persons (like me) had trouble finding just the right spot.

5. A great around town car with superb low-end torque, low-RPM smoothness but slightly notchy gear change.

Nissan has always been famous for "above-average" engines and this car was no exception. Fit & finish is where they saved money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2005

10th Oct 2006, 09:58

Agree in general with this review, except for the fact that I regularly, and comfortably, fit 5 people in the car for long journeys. Never had any problems with leg room, and most of my mates are over 6'!!!

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews