1996 Nissan Altima GSX 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Love the car. Will keep it until it falls apart

Faults:

Distributor went out and had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Best vehicle I've ever owned. It is still in remarkable shape even though it is 8 years old. Everything still functional.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2004

1996 Nissan Altima GXE 2.4 from North America

Summary:

The most reliable car I ever owned

Faults:

Front brakes replaced at 75,000, rear brakes replaced at 100,000 miles.

Leaking exhaust gasket was replaced at 110,000 miles.

Catalytic Converter and muffler was replaced at 115,000.

General Comments:

Excellent car. This car has always started, and has never left me stranded. The car is peppy, comfortable and rides like it is still new at 115,000 miles. Other than changing the fluids religiously, brakes near the 100k mark, and a few other minor issues, the car has performed flawlessly. I continue to get decent gas mileage, and love not having a car payment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2003

1996 Nissan Altima GXE from North America

Summary:

Good for a subtle driver

Faults:

Replaced brakes and pads.

Replaced alternator.

Replaced water pump.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable and is a great first car. I have had it for 3 years now and it was great for the first two years. However, I have had a lot of problems with it in the past year and I no longer feel safe in it.

It has broken down and stalled on me a couple times.

It has bad acceleration and shakes heavily when going 85 miles per hour or more.

Brakes squeak constantly and the heat shield makes for a lot of useless noise, unless removed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2001

15th Aug 2001, 14:32

Since you said something about the shaking, I really think you may need a front wheel alignment. You may want to check that out!!

5th Mar 2003, 17:28

Positive:

Great pickup speed. Fast. Sleek.

Negative:

Replaced alternator thrice in the last 6 years. Replaced brakes. Strut problem.

General:

My husband bought it in '96. We still have it. We have driven it a few times at 90+ mph without problem. It worked fine the first two years. Then problems with brakes and struts began. It has stalled a few times. Replaced alternator thrice in the last three years (by AAA, Pep Boys and an auto shop). Brakes started squeaking a few years ago. We had to get it fixed at Pep Boys. It also has some minor problems like the speakers seem to have some loose connection. The volume keeps switching between high and low. Last week the car died again. I am waiting for a permanent solution to the problem. This time I will not be replacing the alternator without first finding out the exact problem with our car.

1996 Nissan Altima GXE 2.4 from North America

Summary:

A very heavy, badly designed breaking system car

Faults:

1- Engine oil leaking.

2- Strong vibration at speeds over 120 km/h as if the car's front tires were not balance. I have tried to balance and have aligned the car but the vibration comes back.

3- Egg like smell when activating the A/C for the first 10 seconds (girls hate this!)

General Comments:

1- This car refuses to accelerate unless we step on it all the way for about 2 to 3 seconds.

2- It will totally ignore your accelerating commands unless it is fully warmed up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2000

6th Sep 2004, 19:03

I fully agree with the above comments. The alignment, and gas economy are major issues. Very unreliable car.very very low resale value.

17th Sep 2004, 18:01

Yes I am having the same problems with this sick car... exactly the same.. got a BMW, but now the problem how do you get rid of this sick thing?? resale value is now about 1600$ with an original sticker price of 18000 back in 1996!!!1.