1997 Nissan Altima Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1997 Nissan Altima 1997.5 Limited Edition 2.4L four cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L four cylinder Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A wonderful car at a wonderful price!

Faults:

Transmission went bad in 2002.

CV shaft needed replaced in 2003.

A piece of the interior trim has come loose.

General Comments:

This car can be sluggish off the line, but otherwise is surprisingly fast.

Highway passing is generally smooth and quick.

At first I was unsure whether I liked the body style, but it has grown on me and now I love my bubble car!

The trunk is enormous, perfect for groceries or stereo equipment (or both)!

For what I paid for this car, sometimes I feel guilty like I stole it - a great bargain!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2003

21st Mar 2004, 09:51

I just recently a 1997.5 limited edition Altima at a great price with only 47000 miles. It drives great, the trunk is huge, its not the fastest off the line, but picks up nicely. Great on the highway and gets pretty good gas mileage. I would say its one of the best overall cars I had. I love it!! and the overdrive is a excellent feature.

1997 Nissan Altima GXE from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carChrysler Dynasty

Summary:

A low-maintenance good-performance car

Faults:

Electrical:

1) Door locks on back seat would sometimes not correctly activate with remote; happened around 2000 miles.

2) "Speed-down" function of driver's window stopped working. Around 4000 miles.

3) Driver's window would not go up, due too bad switch (85000 miles). Back window will not go up/down sometimes.

Mechanical:

1) Torn CV Boot, right side. Spilling grease. Left side one looks also ready for replacement. Around 90000 miles.

Inside:

1) Sun-screens have a lid for the mirror, and its plastic hinges have twice been damaged by regular use. Really bad design. Around 30 and 60K miles.

2) Fabric on top started separating, next to the back window; around 40K miles.

General Comments:

Like very much the car in general, except for:

1) Electrical failures (see above)

2) Turning-radius is too long.

3) Too low MPG for a 4-cylinder : 20MPG city driving, and no more than 28MPG on trips.

However I like very much that its Horsepower and passing capabilities are very good. They probably traded MPG for Horsepower.

4) It does not have a light under-hood, that is needed at night when checking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2002

1997 Nissan Altima GXE from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55454 miles
Most recent distance55560 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

This is the best deal that I ever made

Faults:

Nothing wrong right now. To be the first time driving this car runs perfect, smooth.

General Comments:

Good in gas per mileage.

Easy to handle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2002

1997 Nissan Altima SE 2.4 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48600 miles
Most recent distance49670 miles

Summary:

Great car, great price, check it out!

Faults:

Nothing that I can think of.

General Comments:

This is a great car overall, I really enjoy driving it. It handles more like a sports car than a sports sedan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

1997 Nissan Altima GXE from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33500 miles
Most recent distance36500 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Overrated. Get a Mazda 626 instead

Faults:

Awful gas mileage 14/24.

Uncomfortable seats.

Lousy standard radio.

Back right shock seems to be going.

General Comments:

Bought the car "certified used" from Brown's Arlington Nissan and immediately noticed poor gas mileage. It gets about 14 city, 24 highway (purports to get 21/29) and the dealership insists there's nothing wrong. They say I must be driving it strangely/badly/etc.

I've just started hearing a squeaking noise in the back right shock.

Wipers suck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th February, 2001

22nd Feb 2006, 21:36

I suggest you stick with your Altima and read some Mazda 626 reviews. Stay away from any automatic Mazda 626.

1997 Nissan Altima GXE from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carNissan Pickup

Faults:

Air bag sensor.

Windshield wiper motor.

Starter went out.

I've had all of the above electrical related problems in a three month time period.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2000

29th May 2003, 08:18

Amazing! At 72,000 miles my Altima has now had two out of the three same problems.

1997 Nissan Altima from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carNissan Quest GXE

Faults:

Never buy a car from CHAPMAN NISSAN in New Castle, DE. They claim to "re-condition" all used cars prior to sale. They charge premium prices for so-so cars. No warranties included - must buy an extended warranty.

Bad idle - Fast/slow and ROUGH. Dealership claims to have fixed it after we brought it back (THEY DID NOT).

TERRIBLE gas mileage.

The car needs brakes and we've only had it for 3 months.

Car has no acceleration power.

Transmission is rough.

The battery has died on this car twice due to leaving the headlights on.

General Comments:

Interior comfort - no leg room for driver - horrible for long trips. The center console should be narrower to allow for the legs of driver and the front passenger.

Safety: The back seatbelts do not clasp shut for adults - not long enough - only long enough for children or small adults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd October, 2000

26th Aug 2001, 15:52

Why do you blame the car for the battery dying after you left your headlights on... not once, but twice? It is the same battery as a lot of other cars. It has 150 horse power, 8.3 sec 0-60? That is pretty quick, and its gas mileage is 21/26. That is reasonable for those stats. I am 6'3" and I fit just fine into my Altima.

15th Jan 2002, 12:08

You must be one huge guy!!! The seat belts aren't long enough? Give me a break.

17th Jul 2003, 07:46

I AGREE!! YOU left the headlights on TWICE! That's your problem, not the car's. And, if you want to have more room, try moving the seat back.

9th Apr 2004, 11:31

Sounds like you are having problems with the DEALER, don't blame the car, I'm 6'4" btw and this is the only car I've ever tried where the seat's furthest position was too far...

5th May 2009, 19:29

Sounds to me like you bought it from a moron of a dealer. Car sounds like it was a lemon from the get-go, why buy it?

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 24 reviews