2007 Nissan Altima 2.5 S 4 cyllinder from North America


I have enjoyed it overall


One recall for the screen on the intake vent.

One recall for the keys. It was said that if you place them by a cell phone they could be deactivated.

Horribly funky smell from vents, when I use the air conditioner and defroster. I left it at my Nissan dealership an entire day and they claim to have not smelled anything. I smelled it as soon as I picked it up. I recently tried AC duct cleaner, but the smell has come back. It's embarrassing having guests in my car with that smell.

General Comments:

Comfortable for the most part.

Looks young and sporty, but not too sporty. I'd be comfortable carrying kids in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th March, 2008

31st Oct 2009, 08:10

It could be your cabin air filter..

1st Mar 2010, 02:47

Maybe something died in your vent.

16th Jan 2014, 08:42

I have the same problem. A friend said that the heater core may be leaking and stagnant water could be the cause.

2007 Nissan Altima 2.5SL 2.5 liter, 175 HP, 4 cylinder from North America


This is an awesome car for the price!!


Had the car for 3 weeks and nothing has gone wrong so far. Everything is just about perfect except the engine seems somewhat noisy and the seats are too firm for long distance trips.

General Comments:

Nissan engineers thought of everything. Layout of displays, gages, buttons, etc are very logical and easy to find without searching while driving.

Body design is spacious and very solid, engine and CVT give amazing power on demand, yet gets 35MPG on highway. Large gas tank is good for well over 400 miles. Gages and displays provide many really cool features, such as trip meters that show average MPG, average speed, elapsed time, outside temp. I really like the bar graph that shows instantaneous MPG because it makes me more aware of my driving habits so I get better MPG because of it.

Technology package is really cool feature, and my first GPS/map system. Had good reason to use it my first week of ownership and was really impressed with the operation.

However, I question wisdom of dual exhaust system on 4 cylinder engines. Actually, it has single pipe leading to the back where it has a Y divider that splits to 2 tailpipes and mufflers. This is supposed to help power, but adds extra weight and more to go wrong with little benefit.

Overall, this is a great car, and I hope it will be as good as my 1999 Altima that just rolled over 200,000 miles and still running great on original spark plugs. That's right, never had a tuneup and still runs great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2007

15th Apr 2008, 17:07

On dual-exhaust: I seriously doubt in the this application it was done for performance. It's a cosmetic decision to appear 'sporty'.

21st Apr 2008, 07:38

Since it's an Altima, even the 4 cyl is actually fairly sporty due to 175hp; but more to 180 lb ft of torque. I agree, though. The dual exhaust is for sporty looks. At least, in this case, its not a complete fabrication.

2007 Nissan Altima SE 3.5 from North America


This car is great and highly recommended


Nothing yet. I just bought the car a few months ago.

Unfortunately, the center console cover pops open from time to time.

I will get that checked out when I go in for the first oil change.

General Comments:

This Altima is seriously fast. The best part about it is the lack of "shift shock", which in my opinion adds to its lightning-like quickness. Just give it the smallest acceleration and you will leave most cars in the dust way behind you eating your exhaust!

It has 17 inch rims and a sport suspension, so it is a little firm over the bumps. However, the ride itself is quite smooth and quiet. It hugs curves and totally owns the road.

The interior is a great improvement over previous Altimas. If you get a top of the line Altima, you will feel like you are in a somewhat luxurious car, not so much in an econobox or a run of the mill rental car.

Speaking of econo box, the glove compartment is gigantic. I read somewhere that you can put a laptop in there, but I have not tried it yet.

Awesome navigational and stereo system. I am talking 8 speakers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd June, 2007

29th Jun 2008, 22:32

I purchased a 2008 Altima 3.5 SE and I have to admit I'm extremely happy with my car, the interior looks and feel like you're in high class luxury vehicle. The performance is excellent, great acceleration when passing vehicles. There is absolutely NO shift shock. The ride is smooth, quiet, and superb.

5th Mar 2010, 13:10

I am the original reviewer here. I want to add a few comments two years after my review. First of all, my car, and other Nissans with an Intelligent Key, were recalled due to key fobs not transmitting anything to the vehicle. I was stranded late at night due to this malfunction. Although it was fixed in a matter of minutes at the dealer, it was the frustration of Nissan not telling its owners of this malfunction. Also, I was dumbfounded when several mechanics at Nissan actually wanted to jump start the car.

In addition, I have had two car batteries in 2 years. Granted, I have driven 55,000 hard fast miles, but still, two batteries in two years makes me wonder if there is some sort of problem.

Quite recently, I ever so lightly rear ended an older Mazda. While absolutely happened to the Mazda, not even a paint scratch in the bumper, my car has somewhat extensive damage. It's driveable; nothing mechanical has been damaged, but you can tell from a mile away that my car was involved in a crash. I have seen accidents involving Altimas and this seems to be the case. I have seen bumpers come off the Altima and the other car gets a minor blemish.

All in all, while I am very happy with my car, I realize foreign car ownership is not trouble free.