2010 Nissan Altima SL 2.5 from North America


I would buy it again


After a long highway trip, the transmission would stay in high gear after a stop. Dealer replaced the valve body in the transmission because of a defective stepper motor (25,000km). Since this incident the car performed flawlessly...

General Comments:

Good economy. Exceptional as a highway cruiser. Powerful for a 4 cylinders.

Comfortable and it is a silent ride. The Altima gives more for the money. Dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2016

17th Oct 2016, 13:09

The Altima is a good car. A bit noisy when the engine is cold, but that's my only complaint. Also it is easy to maintain. If I compare with the Camry & Accord of the same year, I find the Altima superior on the highway.

2010 Nissan Altima S 2.5 from North America


Great new car, no problems at 20k



General Comments:

This is a great car, that was bought new and was lady driven. This is the 2.5 with the ECV transmission.

We have had no repairs on the car, just normal oil changes.

The interior is still nice, with nothing broken.

The tires are still great, as is the exterior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2012

2010 Nissan Altima S 2.4 from North America




2 bad batteries within 6 months, no reason for why the batteries died.

Bad brake switch.

Bad gas gauge sensor.

Passenger power window broke.

Radio amp was not working correctly.

Always in the shop. Piece of crap.

General Comments:


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th October, 2011

2010 Nissan Altima CVT 2.5 liter 4 cylinder from North America


The Altima is a BAD car!


The car leaked transmission fluid at about 1,000 miles - bad seal on the torque converter.

Needed new transmission at 3,500 miles after the car leaked more transmission fluid.

Also had many problems with the electrical systems - mostly minor, but still a huge pain.

General Comments:

Consumer reports says that this car is just so great, but it isn't true at all.

The seats are pretty uncomfortable after you are in the car for more than 10 to 20 minutes.

I thought that foreign cars were supposed to be reliable and better built than American cars, but that is not true at all.

Should have just stuck with my Sebring - never had problems with it or any other Chrysler product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th July, 2011

2010 Nissan Altima S 2.5 gasoline from North America


Nissan makes junk


Car leaked transmission fluid at 100 miles - defective seal on the torque converter.

Car leaked brake fluid at 1,545 miles - defective master cylinder.

Car leaked transmission fluid at 2,345 miles - needed new transmission.

Car leaked brake fluid at 2,713 miles - bad ABS control.

Car leaked brake fluid at 2,900 miles - problem unknown.

General Comments:

I've had the car for 8 months and it has been in the shop 5 times for repairs. It is junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2011

30th May 2011, 22:18

Sounds like you got a lemon. I wouldn't say all Nissans are junk though.

I have a 1997 Nissan Altima with 245,300 miles and it's the best I've ever had, been in the shop once for an alternator, one set of brake pads and a serpentine belt. Not bad at all for the 2 years I've owned it.

23rd Jun 2011, 10:33

I do own Nissan Altima 2.5S, and it is much much reliable than most car makes, I doubt that you are rating another car. :D.

23rd Jun 2011, 16:58

I have owned several Nissans over the last 15 years, and I am sorry you got a lemon or problem car, but in all fairness to the Nissan Altima, it is a very basic car. A little above the Honda Civics, Hyundai Elantras, Toyota Corollas and many others.

Many of these basic Altimas, when Nissan have their blow out specials, go for as little as 17,999.00 before taxes and funny fees.

Also if you are tough on cars, have multiple drivers, only have one car in the family, or are one of those people that are in and out of their car 24/7... this car might not be for you.

The Nissans I have owned need a gentle and respectful touch... warm ups... no hot rodding... and any type of maintenance... Generally will last a long time. Also this is Nissan's bread and butter car... it is the car that keeps the money flowing in to the corporation. It is a car that Nissan has invested a lot of money into. It is also one of Consumers Report's top rated cars. Why you got one of the rare lemons is beyond me...