1990 Nissan Bluebird Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1990 Nissan Bluebird SE 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4500 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

Low cost motoring at its best

Faults:

Most recently I have had to replace both rear shock absorber.

The steering rack was replaced when I first got the car, this was repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

I have had almost 10 years of trouble free motoring with this car and I can honestly say that it has been a pleasure to own.

For any one looking to buy a good second hand car this is a must, I have towed my caravan all over the UK. without a problem, no road too long and no hill too steep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2002

1990 Nissan Bluebird SSS X11 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 kilometres
Most recent distance92000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Effortless tourer

Faults:

Only trivia; the remote door lock switch on the driver's door, remote release for the fuel flap and the remote switch (on the brake pedal) that locks the transmission in park.

Oh! And a new battery and set of spark plug leads caused by careless servicing.

Lastly, a complete set of tyres (the old ones all had legal tread but were suffering from perishing cracks from advanced age!

General Comments:

For the price and despite the age, this low mileage model represents fantastic value.

It is smooth, comfortable, quiet (amazingly so considering the frame-less windows), economical (35mpg), and has plenty of power for normal use.

However, the lowered roof of the pillarless hard-top body restricts the rear seat to children or small adults.

We were also warned that the Nissan transaxle doesn't stand up well to towing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2001

1990 Nissan Bluebird SGS 2.0 twinspark from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 twinspark Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Leone

Summary:

The most reliable and competent car ever - I'm after another one!

Faults:

Nothing much ever went wrong with it (unlike my old Subaru), the Nissan is a fantastic car that only died after a crash. A sorely missed reliable friend.

Had a drivers seat strut welded up once (for free). No other costs in 4 years at high mileages with regular servicing. Didn't even use much oil.

General Comments:

The SGS is the bargain basement company model, but mine was a joy to own, although air-conditioning was missed.

The twin-spark 2.0L engine overtakes like a rocket, but provides decent economy and never, ever stops.

Only the seats were a bit sloppy by the end of it.

A conservative looking car that hasn't dated badly and is just the medicine for a family who don't want to spend a fortune on maintenance and repairs.

The only performance drawback is the lack of a limited slip differential in the SGS - making it loose grip on loose surfaces like steep gravel driveways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2001

1990 Nissan Bluebird DLX 2.0 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

Bland looking but extremely reliable and well-featured

Faults:

The car has been totally reliable until this year, when it failed its MOT for the first time, because of a leaking power steering rack. The Nissan dealer quoted £600!!! for a Nissan rack and £400!! for a non-Nissan. I told them no thanks, and I'd find one from a breakers yard, six months later I am still looking, so thankfully it's not my first car now, and at present sits forlornly on my drive, such a pity, because apart from that there's nothing else wrong with it.

General Comments:

I have owned this car from new, and been all over the country and Europe in it. It has never let me down. It has been a taxi, and then a runaround for myself and my wife, and a back up car to our Almera.

The 2.0 litre diesel engine returned around 40 mpg, and cruised quite happily at 90 mph plus where speed limits allowed!

It has had electric everything, and had a comfortable interior, with albeit a quite harsh ride on bumpy roads.

It has never missed a Nissan serivce, and in particular always had the oil and filter changed every 4500 miles. 10 years on from me buying it as a new car, it would still be chugging away, but for the steering rack.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2000

1st Jul 2001, 16:23

Well this review has made me feel a little better, I just bought one and found a water leak, hopefully it ain't going to cost me much dosh, but the news on this model is good... PHEW.

2nd Jul 2002, 10:12

To be honest I'm very surprised about the price of the steering rack.

I had mine replaced (it was a borderline pass at MOT, but I got it done anyway, it wasn't leaking, but there was a bit of free-play in it) and it cost £58.75+VAT from a motor factor. This was for a Sunny not a Bluebird, but surely the prices between the two cars can't be that great!!!

1990 Nissan Bluebird LX 2.0 petrol from Finland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance380000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fiesta

Faults:

Chassis has a little bit rust all over it. Finnish climate is cruel. Otherwise it is a reliable car. Mechanical parts have required normal repairs.

General Comments:

This car has never left me standing on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2000

1990 Nissan Bluebird LX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired86150 miles
Most recent distance88756 miles
Previous carBMW 535i M

Summary:

Smoooooooooooooth

Faults:

Nothing yet!

General Comments:

After selling my BMW (for a smaller car) I was looking for something more pleasing to the eye, until my brother told me about a car that several of his friends owned, the Nissan Bluebird. Reluctantly I phoned a private ad, took a test drive and have driven in comfort ever since.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th May, 2000

1990 Nissan Bluebird 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired92800 miles
Most recent distance108500 miles
Previous carFiat Tipo

Summary:

A high performance, comfortable, reliable Godsend

Faults:

Nothing so far, touch wood.

General Comments:

I love driving my Bluebird. My previous car spent more time in the garage than on the road until the Bluebird came to our rescue. I hope it lasts forever. I don't think that todays cars are up to this standard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2000

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 15 reviews