1998 Nissan Micra Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1998 Nissan Micra Shape 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

If you get a good one, a cheap run about

Faults:

The foam on the seat back has been replaced twice, and has collapsed for a third time.

Since owning the car, I have had the heater matrix replace 6 times.

The E.C.U. blew, leaving me stranded.

The gearbox has had to be looked at three times whilst under warranty.

The passenger side door has started to rust with no prior damage to paintwork.

General Comments:

The car is fairly quick for a 1 Litre and handles quite well.

Inside is a bit bland, however, for a cheap car you cannot really complain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2002

1998 Nissan Micra 1.0 16v from Singapore

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired44100 kilometres
Most recent distance51100 kilometres
Previous carMazda RX2

Summary:

A little gem of a car. Exceeds expectations

Faults:

Replaced the rear tyres. They weren't worn; they were just too old.

Did a wheel balance on 4 wheels. Judder above 120km/h. Re-aligned the wheels. I suspect the previous owner drove up a kerb too many times.

Rattle under the passenger seat (unsolved).

General Comments:

This review is for the Japanese manufactured 1998 March 1.0 16v 4 door, sold in Singapore for US$33,000 brand new (welcome to Singapore).

Cute looking exterior. Perfect for active girls. Unfortunately I'm not it.

Well appointed interior. Mine came with leather, power mirrors, power windows (4) and airbag as standard.

Seats took a while to get used to, but I'm OK now. Wish they were a little more plush and supportive.

Steering wheel and gear knob are antiseptic treated (what were those japanese boys thinking?).

UV cut glass really keeps the interior cool on a hot day.

Water repellant glass makes it seem like it's got Rain X permanently (I like this feature; makes water bead off without the need for wipers when you go beyond 110 km/h).

Goes really well in town.

Comfortable on the highway as long as it's smooth.

The car loses composure on rough surface.

Overtaking needs a bit of planning ahead.

Handles quite well on those 155 70 13 tyres, but the car will roll quite a bit.

Rear suspension is way too soft. Fine if you're alone. Pack it in, and you're going to bottom out on undulating surfaces.

Quiet interior.

Excellent brakes.

Wish the rear seat was split folding, and was able to fold flat.

Wish the interior floor carpet and boot carpet was a stronger, more robust material. It looks a little flimsy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

24th Jan 2004, 23:23

Update on this Singapore registered Micra/March.

Its now done 107000 km and is going great. I've upgraded the wheels to 15" with Kumho 195/45/15 tyres and they stick to the road like glue. I've also added non-standard OEM spec KYB shock absorbers that make the car far more civilised and a front anti roll bar that did not come with my local spec. Car handles great.

The car is showing little signs of age, a little timing chain noise is heard on startup, and then the auto-tensioner takes up the slack. original exhaust is sounding a little louder and there is a little vibration felt on the steering wheel at idle (engine mounts?)

Have also added a Webasto canvas sunroof and the car feels like a million dollars.

1998 Nissan Micra GX 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Economical and cheap to insure

Faults:

It overheated more than once. The central locking also went in the driver's side, a new lock was put in.

General Comments:

For a new driver I would highly recommend this car. It was cheap on petrol. It was how easy to park it was that I miss! The seats were not that comfortable, but the interior was nice and the dash wasn't bare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2002

1998 Nissan Micra SR 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles

Summary:

Reasonably economical reliable small car!

Faults:

The car has the additional NATS (Nissan Anti Theft System) alarm fitted - this utilises the cars horn as a siren which is quite poor. However, it does provide a handy remote central locking facility. This has failed on over 10 occasions. The failure results in the fact that the remote key fob, when used disables/enables the alarm system but does not unlock the car.

It has been back to the dealer (Brincars Nissan in Staffordshire) on numerous occasions. Although they have provided a fast, polite and efficient service they have failed to solve the actual problem - providing only a short term fix. This is even the case after a replacement alarm control module. Removing the fuse that allows power to the system seems to reset the module and cause it to function correctly. However this is inconvenient - and I am led to believe that this is an inherent problem with no cure.

General Comments:

The car has good performance via its 1.3i 16v engine. However the 1.0 models are more fun to drive.

Apart from the problems indicated above the car has been extremely reliable with not a single problem that has meant it cannot be driven. However I am dissatisfied with the quality of interior trim as it now rattles in some places. Rattles when discovered have previously been taken back to the dealer for prompt rectification.

They are very comfortable but on anything other than a smooth M-Way style surface the car can bump around considerably. The body roll can also be worrying - although the car has never spun out even with intense driving.

As far as running costs are concerned - Nissans economy figures are complete rubbish - it averages around 37mpg. It also eats front tires for breakfast. Servicing costs can also be high. A 'C' service (36,000) is around £200 at the time of writing.

Overall the car is enjoyable to drive and reasonably economical. However can be uncomfortable in some scenarios.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2000

1st May 2001, 03:31

I currently drive a 1.0 litre, whose performance is less than fun. So, why do you say that a 1.0 is more fun than a 1.3?

24th Aug 2001, 05:12

I own a 1996 1.3 SR, I bought it second hand from a Nissan dealership.

The car is good to drive and you can out accelerate more sporty cars.

I have unfortunately had many problems with my car, the NATS immobiliser has failed once and stopped me from going to work, the ECU has failed and that was another day off work. Then the ultimate happened when the sills started to rust, Nissan would not honour their 6 anti-perforation warranty as the previous owner had the car serviced only once by a non-Nissan dealer, even though Nissan genuine parts were used. Luckily the garage paid half as a gesture of goodwill.

Overall I have enjoyed the car and I have since upped the performance with an induction kit and performance exhaust etc.

I have driven a brand new 1.0L and was not impressed at all, there were rattles already and and the engine was very noisy and had poor fuel economy.

1998 Nissan Micra Twister 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Nice looking, reliable, economical mini-class vehicle

Faults:

Cental locking (added extra, not factory fit).

General Comments:

A great little car. Ideal for urban driving but I have been pleased with its performance and comfort on long trips (bearing in mind the class of car).

It is a four door and passengers are amazed at the space in such a small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2000

1998 Nissan Micra Shape Auto 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

Knocking from rear suspension, noise from tailgate trim, both sorted by dealer under warranty with no hassle.

General Comments:

Very reliable, well put together car, CVT auto is great, hardly any penalty on performance or economy. 3 year warranty a real bonus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 1999

1998 Nissan Micra Equation 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent package. Gets from A to B reliably and cheaply.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

1998 Nissan Micra Twister (Special Edition) 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is my second Micra. The improvements in the 98 model are not just cosmetic (bumpers, bonnet, lights etc). The car is genuinely quieter and more refined. Steering/stability improved. The gearbox is not quite as slick as before however (although this is a minor quibble). Air con too!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 1998

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews