1995 Nissan Micra Mauritius from UK and Ireland - Comments

19th Feb 2007, 02:50

Just to let you know that it has just failed on its MOT with 2 CV boots needing replacement and CO emissions too high. It cost me £180 and whilst driving today I have noticed a knocking noise when the car has a complete right lock. Also, I had to replace the battery in January and that's about it. Still happy with the car, but could anyone tell me what the knocking noise is, cheers. I will keep updating this review.

11th Apr 2007, 05:16

Knocking noise on full lock is most commonly the CV joint. You say you had to have the CV boot replaced, this would have lead to the loss of the grease that lubricates the joint and in turn the wearing of the joint itself.

26th Apr 2007, 04:57

So can you tell me what needs to be replaced, cheers mate.

29th Dec 2007, 12:57

These are fantastic cars to drive; pokey and precise.

Yes, they could do with a rev counter.

Just by putting some rims on these turns them into go-carts.

The paint really does shine after some wax/polish.

They suffer from rust at the back arches, but other than that they're bullet proof.

The engine has timing chains. I am sure the 1.3 would be great as long as it has a rev counter :) then you can really drive the car to the max.

9th Aug 2008, 15:18

Original reviewer - After a year without my Micra, I have now decided to buy a Micra. I am going to either buy a 98' Reg or possibly the same Micra that was my first car (Micra 95' Mauritius)

I will keep an update of what car I buy and how well it goes. I have 100% faith in these cars and recommend them for drivers of all ages.

15th Sep 2009, 13:26

@ Original Reviewer.

I would recommend the 1.3 litre & if you can, get a Japanese one as they come with a better ECU than the European model.

I got mine from Japan with ECU chipped and slight mods, the car now does 0-60 mph in 6.7 seconds and keeps accelerating like this all the way through the gears.

Mine, at the moment has 177,650 Km on the clock and still I haven't had a problem since I got it. Got it at around 169,000 Km, and I don't drive it easy.

26th Sep 2009, 18:48

^^ thanks for the advice mate, am hopefully having a 1.3 engine dropped in my 96' Micra which should see it increase in power.

Love these little cars... you on the MSC (Micra sports club) by any chance? If not then join up dude. My forum name is Scouseboy.

23rd Oct 2009, 09:35

Hey, bit of an update... as of Sunday 25th October 2009 I will be the proud owner of a black '97 SR. So this will be my 3rd Micra (K11). I think sticking with Nissan has proved worthwhile, as they are reliable, cheap to run, nippy and easy to modify :)

If you own a Micra and would like some good advice / new friends etc. then join the Micra Sports Club (MSC) at: www.micra.org.uk

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available. New comments appear in the Members Area before the main site