Nissan Note Reviews

2008 Nissan Note Acenta R 1.6i 16v 110 BHP from UK and Ireland

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6i 16v 110 BHP Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance23500 miles
Previous carNissan Tino

Summary:

Brill Underdog :)

Faults:

4 new tyres.

General Comments:

Fantastic for a 1.6. I use Shell Optimax, which is 99 RON over 95, and it makes a difference. The car feels more responsive, and I have managed to get 45.7 MPG on the motorway at 70 MPH.

Overall, it is a brilliant car. I am only 25, but this is my car; I have no kids and not married. But so much better value for money over a Focus or Astra, and nippier than both of them in 1.6 form. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2011

11th Sep 2011, 14:42

Got it up to 47 MPG now on my holiday. Brilliant little car :)

12th Sep 2011, 11:56

Up to 47.1 MPG now, it keeps getting better :-)

13th Sep 2011, 13:22

Back from holiday, I have managed 48.1 MPG average. That's was doing between 65-70mph. 5 MPG more than what Nissan say :D

29th Jun 2014, 23:19

if your holiday was few more days longer, you could have achieved 50 MPG it seems. Good on ya mate. Fuel economy never stops improving :)

2006 Nissan Note SE 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A hoot to drive..

Faults:

Nothing...

General Comments:

Great car.

It was supplied as a lease car, and I was disappointed when I saw it, as I'd enjoyed my Corolla 1.6 so much.

The interior seemed more utilitarian, and there was little space between the front seats. The stereo was very basic, but it has effective aircon that keeps it cool in the summer, and mist free in the winter. The front cupholders are near to useless, as they will only take a child-sized cup.

Visibility is great, you seem to sit high in the car. Very maneuverable, easy to get in and out of, and to park too.

Rear seats slide forward and backward to give either more legroom or more boot space. The boot is quite modest in size really. Seats are comfortable and the driving position good, although it doesn't allow for a lot of adjustment.

My daughter liked the seat-back fold up tables and cupholders!

So I was led to believe this odd shaped vehicle is a kind of stretched Micra...

It's nothing of the sort. The engine is really responsive, as is (unusually for an auto) the gearbox. You put your foot down, and you find yourself in the comparatively wide power band, and pulling strongly. The engine even has quite a nice sound.

The suspension feels a little lumpy around town over pot-holed roads, but when you get to a corner - this little beast just hangs on and drives round. There's a fair amount of roll, but the suspension is supple and gives you gentle understeer on the limit, when the whole thing can be tempted into a four wheel slide.

It is a forgiving, fun car to drive. The brakes are good enough for the performance of the car, and will bring it to a stop as quickly as you like. The tyres are not low profile, but give plenty of grip, and also aid the car's 'chuckable' forgiving nature.

When you're giving it a bit of welly, the engine is quite noisy, but ease off and the cabin is quieter on the motorway at 90 than say a 00-06 Civic, yet can keep up with the traffic better due to the pokier engine. If you compare the figures, there's nothing between these vehicles, but the Nissan is a driver's, rather than a duffer's car. I have owned both.

And the biggest surprise to me was that no matter how heavy my foot got, it never returned worse than 30mpg. This is probably just as well, given the Note has a smaller tank than a Civic.

This is the most fun-to-drive small hatchback you can get.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2011

2008 Nissan Note Acenta 1.4 petrol from Finland

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance3450 kilometres
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Everyman's car and very nice too!

Faults:

Had it for 2 months and as expected, no problems with the electrics, engine or finish.

Driver's door latch will need adjusting at 1st service as it needs too much slamming.

Otherwise, first class.

General Comments:

I can't understand why there are not more about. Perhaps the conservative-minded are put off by the looks?

PROS:

Extremely frugal on petrol, worst 8.2l/100km best 5.2l/100km. Engine powerful enough for long trips.

Very comfortable and the interior space and stowage is breathtaking for such a compact car.

Strong headlights, good ventilation AC, comfortable front seats, rear less so.

Excellent steering & brakes, parking it is simplicity itself, no need for parking sensors!

Rear tables are a very nice touch for when having a break or picnic. A car for all walks of life and ages.

CONS:

The sun visors are too small and this is annoying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2008

10th Oct 2011, 14:50

Update.

Car is now out of its 3 year warranty, and in that time did not have to go back to the dealer for anything. Very pleased. Apart from a scratch or two, the car looks excellent inside and out; proven durability.

Fuel economy is very satisfying, will go to 4.8 l/100kms if run at 80 kms; who needs a diesel with this parsimony? A wonderful small car that has lots of space and desirable features.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 4 reviews