1992 Nissan NX2000 Reviews

1992 Nissan NX2000 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired141000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carFord Taunus

Summary:

Incredible little 4 banger... will leave and stock Honda far behind

Faults:

Interior:

Back seat not meant for humans, incredibly small, can't actually sit in it if over 5'5". But that doesn't really matter seeing as how me and girlfriend are the only ones ever in the car.

Drivers seat had pretty bad rip, but nothing a nice black seat cover didn't fix... seats are very comfortable over all.

Crack the dash all the way from the front to the back.

Exterior:

Some bad rust on the drivers side door, front bumper is cracked.

CV axle boots were cracking.

Motor mounts is loose, makes a horrible vibration when the car is cold at low RPMs.

General Comments:

For having 144k miles, this car runs like a dream, the acceleration rocks, I can easily leave 20ft of rubber off the line. This car has monster potential. With a turbo, some exhaust and an intercooler, this car can run high 11s, low 12s in the quarter mile... now if can just convince my girlfriend to let me spend a couple grand...

Interior:

Driver and Passenger have very comfortable space in the cabin, but forget the backseat. There is ample leg and head room, Shifter and wheel are in very natural positions.

T-Tops are awsome. I bought this car for $950 and the T-tops alone are worth every cent! The wind is not ear numbing, its just a nice breeze, even at freeway speeds.

Exterior:

Styling is very unique, you won't see anything like this car on the road.

Drivetrain:

Increadible potential... but even stock, one mean little mother. revs easily to 5 or 6000 RPM, good power out of first three gears, haven't really got a chance to max it out yet, but I can get to 60 MPH in third gear...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2005

29th Nov 2005, 19:56

I bought my 1992 Nissan NX 2000 new for $15,000. I love my baby.

It still turns heads with its cherry red color, nice tires and wheels, bra and shades for the headlights.

Everyone I know has much newer cars, but they just do not compare.

I love it when someone thinks they can pass me on a corner, but I have to replace my 40,000-mile tires at 14,000 miles because of this.

I do not understand why it did not retain the value.

20th Mar 2006, 20:17

Hey Wats up, I bought my nxr out of a junk yard for 300 dollars and I love it. I recently blew the motor in a drag race, but I wouldn't trade the car for the world. I'm gonna replace the motor and keep on the strip. I'm running the 1/4 in 7.4 seconds so its running

great.

4th Sep 2007, 00:14

A 7 second nx? not even in your dreams!!

13th Mar 2008, 13:56

I have a 1992 nissan nx2000 and I LOVE it!!! I bought it for $500 last year, it was my first car. best car I've ever driven. the only problems is that the transmission went out, and the seats ripped. o, and the backseat is tiny! love my car tho!

6th May 2009, 22:14

I am gonna buy one, but I need you guys to tell me how is it on gas?

22nd May 2009, 09:17

I have '93 NX 2000 with 112,000 miles. It runs great. I need to replace the CV joints and a cracked windshield. It can get as high as 40mpg on the highway if you drive it like a little old woman. If you drive it like it was meant to be driven, gas mileage is more like in the mid-twenties. This car hangs on twisty curves like it is on tracks.

18th Mar 2010, 19:28

I have a 93 Nissan NX2000 turbo with the Skyline racing chip, and let me tell you about that when your car is all done up like mine, you get so many ladies, plus that's all that matters right?

1992 Nissan NX2000 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired134000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Summary:

Good, reliable sporty car

Faults:

The drivers seat has ripped more from the time that I bought it. The dash has a big crack from being in the sun too long. Brake calibers seem to be going.

General Comments:

Quick car for age. Average out of third gear, but when in fourth and fifth your gone. Good steering and turning. Small and easy to park in tight spots. Sputters some time and need to check the oil a lot. Other than that it's ice!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th September, 2003

3rd Jan 2004, 22:16

This car is rated at 6800rpm, this guy must have no idea how 2 through 5 are true power gears.

If you find your self having to repetitively check the oil, it might be a good time to see a good mechanic.

I own a 91 NX2000, & I love it. It is a power to weight monster. I have spanked Civic's, Integras and an RX7.

I have big plans for my NX. I have also been involved in the SCCA, building a Neon.

The only problem I see with the NX versus the 300 Z's is the suspension. There is too much weight transfer, it gets a little loose at 60 in a corner and tapping the brakes. This too shall be resolved.

All in all, it is a killer car. It is fun to drive & very affordable.

1992 Nissan NX2000 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired176000 kilometres
Most recent distance275000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Good little sports car

Faults:

Clutch, wheel bearings, CV joints, tires, struts... but I bagged the hell out of it.

General Comments:

I payed very little, expected little... but got a lot. Made me want to deal with Nissan further. I drove this car to hell and back and it has remained a very reliable automobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2003

11th Nov 2007, 02:26

You made a mistake on the type of car. If it has a 1.6L engine then it is NOT an NX2000 it's a NX1600. The NX2000 has an SR20DE engine the NX1600 has a GA16DE engine. I suggest you swap the 2.0 engine is really fast and easily modifies.

20th Jan 2008, 17:34

I have owned an NX2000 since it was brand-new in 1992. It continues to serve me brilliantly, and remains as spunky and fun to drive as it was when it was new. I love this car and have no desire to replace it.

1992 Nissan NX2000 2.0 twin cam from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 twin cam Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Racer

Summary:

Very quick acceleration and reliability combination

Faults:

The clutch got worn from too much hard driving, but fair enough, it took a year to happen.

General Comments:

Ultra reliable, strangely keeps going strong although I mistreat her.

Good interior, targo-top roof, comfortable seats.

Very quick acceleration, can beat anything over 75 meters, but hasn't got the power out of 3rd gear.

Love to see this car with a turbo!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th October, 2001

3rd Jan 2004, 22:22

This car has a big brother. the same sr20 with a turbo, v rated tires and moves.

26th May 2004, 02:56

My wife's nx2000 beats most everything too!

Graeme.

8th Aug 2006, 19:02

Does anyone know the safety information for the NX2000? We love it, but feel skittish about a side impact with huge Hummers and SUV's on the freeway.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 4 reviews