1987 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1987 Nissan Pathfinder SE 2.4 petrol from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance874000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Wow, I want a fleet of these

Faults:

Clutch slave cylinder, fan clutch, upper A arm bushings, drivers side headlight housing, all sensors, rear latch assembly.

General Comments:

Can go anywhere, off road it is the best I've have for a street legal car, and on road it's quiet and smooth.

Overall it been a really good car, almost 900,000 miles and still drives like a used but well maintained car, and it hasn't been cared for at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2008

1987 Nissan Pathfinder 2.4 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired197000 kilometres
Most recent distance199500 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

A truly comfortable capable off road or town vehicle

Faults:

Points needed replacing. This has been done no further problems. Will look to install CD ignition.

General Comments:

This vehicle is great very comfortable on highway or off road, and is unstoppable.

There was also no dust intrusion into cabin, even though the vehicle is now 21 years old.

The back seat comfort is a little uncomfortable on longer trips due to the backrest being too upright, but a pillow between backrest and your back should help.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2008

1987 Nissan Pathfinder SE from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership1987
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carMazda B2000

Summary:

Darn good vehicle, would drive to the end of earth

Faults:

Changed Slave Clutch/Replaced AC hoses.

Seats have not worn out.

General Comments:

This 4x4 will be with me forever. I have over 5,000 miles in the 4x4 area. Used in the Superstition Mountain area.

Use it to go to work every day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2005

24th Nov 2005, 08:30

I'm living in northern Mexico close to the Texas border were the sun has no mercy. I had a '87 Pathfinder (red) which I gave away to my sister in-law. She is still driving it.

This 4x4 SUV is a tank, ever since I bought it used in '95 it had already about 80K miles on the ODO. It was originally from New Mexico and was in very good conditions when I got it. The paint job was completely intact, even though the sun in our area is tough.

I added another 100K to the ODO over time and had no major issues except for the normal stuff such as belts and hoses. Changed the tires and the alternator, but that's about it.

Even after 18 years of sun bathing the color still looks like new! Rust? No way, here in northern Mexico cars don't rust!

Plastic parts is a different story, they dry out and break - some simply pulverize. The dashboard has cracks all over, not even the good old Armorall could prevent that from happening.

My wife was pushing to get a newer looking car (design-wise) and wanted to get rid of the good old Pathfinder. Don't get me wrong, it was not due to malfunction of any kind, she simply did not want to spend all that money to upgrade, you know CD player, etc.

Well, as I said above, we could not sell it for what it is worth, so we simply kept it in family.

Now we drive a Nissan (of course) X-Trail and are really happy with it.

Nissan really rocks, nice designs, reliable solid cars. Not the cheapest ones, but worth every penny.

1987 Nissan Pathfinder 2 door 4x4 sport 3.0L 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance325000 kilometres

Summary:

You can't kill these things

Faults:

When I first bought the TRUCK at 200,000k everything worked it was a great truck. Shortly after it all started, a tick started at 210,000k an annoyance, but expected. The starter went at 220,000 and at 275,000. bad gas mileage, but with a 3.0L it is normal. The gas tank got a hole in it at 260,000 the fuel pump relay had a bad ground wire at 260,000. The exhaust manifold has a leak, but it still sounds o. k happened at 270,000. Idle control module went at 300,000 little rust around wheel-wells back hatch hydraulics stopped working at 260,000 they broke off the body at 310,000. Headlights went, but a swift kick was all they needed. heat, a/c stopped working at 285,000, also the dash lights stopped working, the 4x4 is now done, the injectors are now done. The truck is now sleeping and will be revived when I don't have to e-test it.

General Comments:

It has 325,000k and it still moves.

Put it through hell and back and it loved it.

Can go anywhere any other truck can go and is still as comfortable as a sedan.

Have just bought another nissan.

Can't kill them they always come back for more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2004

29th Jul 2004, 08:10

I couldn't agree with you more. My husband bought his 87 pathfinder in 1989. He's still driving it everywhere. It looks kind of bad and it's a little loud, but it just keeps going. He said he was going to drive it until it dies.

15th May 2007, 14:48

I've had my Pathfinder (1987) for six years. I drive it, my son drives it and now my daughter is driving it. This is the best vehicle I've ever bought! When it FINALLY breaks, I will look for another one. This vehicle has taken us everywhere around town (Pensacola) and we've even been to Strawberry Plains Tennessee twice. I love this S.U.V.! I know I will never find one like it again. It's still easy on the eye's, as long as I keep new tires on it. Missy from Pensacola, FL.

1987 Nissan Pathfinder 2.4 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired227000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Solid Off-Road, Car-like On-Road

Faults:

Ignition Points Burnt out.

Starter motor is on it's way out. Needs to be reconditioned.

Exhaust runs too close to passenger foot-well and has melted the carpet.

Seats (front and rear) have very little comfort on long trips however trim has held together and in "As New" condition for a 15 year old car.

General Comments:

I knew very little about the service history when purchasing my Pathfinder, but have been very happy with the reliability of it.

It's ability off-road is excellent. It goes where some brand new vehicles get stuck. I have yet to find a track to stump my pathfinder.

The only problem I have with my car is the fuel economy is not the greatest. I get approx. 400-500 kilometre's per tank. I suspect this is because the engine is under-powered and has to push a little over 1.6 tonnes without a load.

It definantely needs the 3.0L V6 of the next model.

Plenty of passenger and luggage room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2003

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews