1989 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1989 Nissan Pathfinder SE V6 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 3.0L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance258000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

I'd like to make a Nissan commercial when I hit 300,000 miles!

Faults:

Replaced water pump at 63,000 miles.

New distributor at 120,000 miles, but now not really sure if that was necessary.

Just replaced all radiator hoses, but have a leak coming from somewhere other than radiator, hoses or pump.. will update when known.

General Comments:

I've never been more impressed with a vehicle before. It just runs like a champ. I kept the oil changed regularly, and that seemed to keep it happy. The only thing I don't like are the seats, I think they are uncomfortable and I hate the way everything you drops slips into the well under the seat and can't be retrieved unless you stop and get out of the vehicle. Love my pathfinder!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2003

23rd Mar 2005, 00:08

Good luck with the 300,000 mile quest... I made 305,000 with my '88 SE before I sold it. The truck was fantastic, but Nissan Motor Corp. was a disapointment.. in that they were rather indifferent about this feat! It was basically- "That's nice" "Want to buy another?" Needless to say, I bought a '96 p-finder (private sale.. not Nissan used) and love it too! It's a bit more civil than the '88. I currently have 100,100 miles on it and counting. Again, good luck with your p-finder for many miles to come.

26th Feb 2008, 22:09

My 1989 Nissan Pathfinder was sold with 303,955 miles and still running like you just drove it off the showroom floor.

I originally bought it used in 1991 with already 120,000 miles on it.

Same original clutch.I've replaced the starter 4 or 5 times.

Same original paint. It was a 2WD manual 5-speed.

The interior and exterior were in excellent shape when it sold it.

I recently bought a used like new 2006 Nissan Exterra 4WD.

Since my Pathfinder did so well I stuck with Nissan. I did 17 years with the Pathfinder, i can do another 17 with the Nissan Exterra. Thanks Nissan for building great cars that last a long time.

John C Schuler Jr.-Jackson, CA.

1989 Nissan Pathfinder XE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance187760 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

A nice reliable sport utility vehicle

Faults:

My transmission went out twice. It first broke about two months after I drove it. Repairs came to about $1,200. It's alot of money because i have a automatic transmission. Then after that I worked perfectly for about two and a half years and then the transmission broke on me again. So then that cost me about $800. Fixed broken exhaust manifold bolts. Brake lines have problems. I spun out a total of three times on the freeway trying to avoid bad Los Angeles drivers.

General Comments:

This truck has a solid body. It controls very well, but lacks power. I would be happy if this truck had about 160 horsepower. I just want enough to past motorists when I change lanes and just enough to go up hills with ease. I happy with what I got. It's a very reliable truck. I would buy another one. The only downside is the transmission, but other than than it's a great truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2002

25th Jan 2005, 16:20

What is it with the transmissions in the pathfinders? I have a 1989 that has had 3 transmission go bad.

16th Aug 2005, 17:10

Automatics wear out faster.

3rd May 2009, 16:36

The stock transmission coolers below the radiator on these are a "fin" type. They are very prone to clogging and cannot be cleaned. When the clog, the transmission overheats very quickly and destroys it. Installing an aftermarket transmission cooler, completely bypassing the stock unit will solve this problem and your transmission will be good to go for a few hundred thousand miles.

1989 Nissan Pathfinder XE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance278000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

This is an extremely reliable vehicle

Faults:

Small in-line valve to the radiator replaced twice (cost about $16.00 each time).

Standard maintenance, brake work, replaced the muffler once.

Presently have a leak in the clutch seals, but at 272,000 miles who's complaining?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2001

1989 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 miles
Most recent distance205500 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Keeps on tickin'

Faults:

I love my Pathfinder. I have had it for 3 years. The clutch didn't need to be replaced until 175,000 miles!!! That's quality!

I have had a few problems, but what do I expect at 205,000 miles! It still runs very strong and I would recommend one to anyone!

Keep the oil changed and the engine will last forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2001

30th Sep 2004, 03:14

Totally agree with you. My 89 pathy runs for over 300.000 km and no problem so far.

29th Mar 2006, 17:47

I fully agree with the above comments. Our 2WD 89 Pathfinder has 284,000 miles on it, we bought it with 196,00 miles on it. Very reliable, had to have the starter replaced when we bought it, and every 60,000 we do the water pump and timing belt. I put Castrol Syntec 10/40 in every 3,000 miles, and it has never needed more than a 1/2 a quart between changes. I really love the truck. Too bad the new ones arn't made as well.

24th Mar 2007, 21:36

Totally agree. I bought a 1989 in Los Angeles back in 1994. Back then it had 80000 miles. I shipped it down to Costa Rica where 4x4s are needed, drive it in really bad roads and I just changed ball joints, bushings, alternator and clutch last month. Always change oil every 3000 miles and it will run forever. Now it has 180000 miles on it and still running strong. I love this tank.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 8 reviews