1996 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1996 Nissan Pathfinder EX 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Great till 95,000 miles, Miserable from there on!!

Faults:

I have replaced the brakes and struts almost every 30,000 miles. I have now replaced them 3 times in the time I've owned it. Note: you will replace the struts on Pathfinders. They blow when you roll over anything.

Other repairs include:

A new plunger and locking device for the tire tailgate (it locked shut after years of use). Repair performed at 90,000 miles.

New Clutch and Timing at 95,000 miles.

So, I thought the vehicle would be great for another 60-70-80K at this point - Dead wrong.

Since 95,000 miles, I've had a problem with front and rear control arms, a leaking miserable sunroof, a broken antenna, bad oxygen sensors (all), loose and rattling heat shields, a terrible loss of compression, extreme vibration above 65MPH, a broken factory CD player, and on and on.

General Comments:

The Nissan Pathfinder was fun to drive and own through 90,000 miles. Since then, it's been nothing short of a nightmare. Repairs have run almost $6000 at this point, and they will only go higher if I'm still thinking about running it till 160K.

If you own a Pathfinder and are considering selling it - do so before you get to 100K!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th August, 2003

16th Sep 2003, 21:49

This owner must realize that every vehicle has it's share of lemons. For nissan it appears to be 1 in about 150. Sounds like he has one. Certainly not the norm.

29th Jan 2004, 05:48

I certainly agree with the first comment. I heard of a few problems from owners of 96-97 pathfinders; mainly 96. But as you said, each car maker has lemons. I know my 1990 Pathfinder is a totally different vehicle than the one on this post (body style changed in 1996), but I have had minimal problems so far. I have the original transmission, engine, and rear suspension (still not bouncy at all). And I have 245,000 miles. So please do not criticize an entire make or model based on ONE bad experience.

1996 Nissan Pathfinder SE from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A great looker that's just as dependable

Faults:

Truck has been great. There was a problem with the oxygen sensors on the engine around 90,000 miles, but this was under recall and was promptly taken care of at the dealership. I just had to put a set of brakes on the front, and the Pathfinder has a caliper assembly that makes this replacement a little spendy ($395). Keep the oil changed and repairs should be minimal.

General Comments:

This truck has been extraordinarily dependable, and the SE model with running boards, roof rack, and spare tire on the back really looks sporty. I still think this truck looks great even when it's been out several years (7 now). Still competitive in looks even with 2003 models. (Can you tell I love this truck?) Will continue to buy Nissan long after this truck runs down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2003

1996 Nissan Pathfinder XE 3.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carMazda MX3

Summary:

Great SUV in the summer, but scary in the winter unless you want it in 4x4 all the time!

Faults:

Brakes required replacement frequently.

Struts required replacement twice.

General Comments:

This car has been nice to own, it drives quietly and is quite comfortable.

I find it difficult to drive in the winter unless it is in 4x4. It tends to slide around in the back.

Haven't had many repair problems other than struts and brakes.

The passenger seatbelt is awkward for most people to buckle up because it is located lower than the seat.

Lots of cargo space, great for road trips, shopping, camping etc.

The floor mats have worn out quickly and I have replaced them twice. The pathfinder logo has come unstiched on all the driver's side mats.

Heat not distributed evenly (passenger side is cooler than driver's side when heat is on).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th November, 2002

24th Feb 2006, 14:12

After reading about the winter driving, I would recommend replacing the tires with a good brand. I also have a Pathfinder 4x4. It was not a good winter vehicle UNTIL I put a different brand of tires on, now its perfectly fine.

1996 Nissan Pathfinder XL-V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired41702 miles
Most recent distance69332 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Reliable, reliable, reliable!

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong is that the switch to change air flow location has broken.

General Comments:

The seats are very overstuffed and are very firm, thus making the seats very uncomfortable.

The seat-belts have edges that will scratch up your neck.

Overall, I recommend this car to ANYONE who wants a reliable car suited for trips, highways... you name it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2001

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 9 reviews