1998 Nissan Pathfinder SE from North America

Summary:

There are probably better cars for your money

Faults:

Charcoal filter blew up - charcoal all throughout the engine.

Brake pad ejected - brakes went out while driving.

Transmission failed.

DEATH WOBBLES - common in this generation of Pathfinders, should be recalled, but has not been.

Bad gas mileage.

General Comments:

I loved this car... for a while. The first two years I owned it.

Gas mileage was never great. However, the handling in snow, and the ability to pack it full of camping gear or Ikea furniture was great.

However, at about the 175000 mile mark... things went downhill. FAST. To fix everything that has gone wrong with my vehicle, would cost thousands more than what it is worth (if it were in perfect condition). Gas mileage has dropped to about 10mpg, probably due to charcoal filter.

The transmission blowing was the last straw. I am going to have to ditch it - basically at a loss of what I paid for it. Not a good "older" car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd July, 2011

1998 Nissan Pathfinder 3.3 from North America

Summary:

Pricey to maintain and expect the worst when climbing steep hills

Faults:

- Resonator comes with a price tag of $500-700 including taxes (CAD).

- Brakes and rotor $400.00 labour + $600 parts.

It's a gas drinking monster. 100km/15L city.

Lacks torque, no power whatsoever when going up the hill.

Transmission overheated on steep climb at 100/km speed for 10 minutes at 4000 RPM. Got stuck on the summit of a mountain for 3 hours. Had to be towed back to the nearest town due this issue.

I was told by the mechanics that this is common with Pathfinders, and it's worst with Ford trucks (blowing a tranny).

General Comments:

Expect to pay a high price for maintenance.

When climbing a steep hill, don't rev over 3000 RPM.

Lots of room and cargo, big score here.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2008

1998 Nissan Pathfinder from North America

Summary:

Safe, reliable and peace of mind

Faults:

The running boards are loose. The wheel wells needed to be repaired due to rust.

General Comments:

The Pathfinder has been a great choice for me. It's reliable. Excellent on winter roads (but make sure you keep it in 4WD whenever you're on ice).

Quiet ride. Handles well.

I did a lot of research on SUVs because I need one for my work and I'm glad I chose this Pathfinder.

You'll want to check the wheel wells of the one you're considering. My '98 model had rust problems. I had some body work done and it's like new.

Gas mileage is obviously more than the Camry was. About 30% more. But for me it's worth the safety on the highway winter roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2006

1998 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.3 from North America

Summary:

Worth its weight in gold if you don't mind the poor mileage

Faults:

Ash tray lid broke off. Front brakes need to be replaced.

Something wrong with the steering, you can feel every single bump in the road and the steering wheel likes to bounce around a lot.

The vehicle itself seems to bouncy a lot more too, when hitting bumps or going over depressions, etc.

General Comments:

This is a very good vehicle. It is very reliable and we have had zero major problems with it so far, but I believe some little things need to be replaced.

My major pet peeve about this thing is its gas mileage, which is horrible, and the power. It has very little passing power and I believe it to be big time under-powered.

Almost every time I try to get into 4L and back to 4H the gears grind like crazy - Yes, I have it in neutral and it's parked, so I don't know what I'm doing wrong.

As well, the 4x4 doesn't like to disengage sometimes, I find this very annoying if I'm trying to drive on the highway since you're not suppose to go over 80km/hr in 4x4 mode.

In spite of these relatively little problems, I am glad I got this vehicle, and I plan on buying a early 90's one just for fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st June, 2004

3rd Sep 2005, 20:30

Just want to update. At about 180000km mileage, the transmission blew up completely. The warranty people were disgustingly incompetent and cheap. They wanted us to get a used transmission of equal mileage, instead we got a rebuild kit, but had to pay the difference. The tranny shop we had to send it to were completely incompetent, and were so rude my mom got mad at one of the workers.

Interestingly, about a week after we got it back, the vehicle died while on the highway. We obviously thought it was the tranny and had it sent back to the shop. Turns out the computer somehow got loose and was melted on the engine. How does the computer get loose??? No, I don't think so. It's obvious that they either moved it by accident or that one employee did it on purpose. Either way it cost thousands to get it replaced, and we had to pay for it. The transmission has never been the same. It doesn't feel right and it makes odd noises. I don't trust it anymore and it will replaced ASAP.

1998 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.3L from North America

Summary:

Shop around before buying

Faults:

Brakes squeak like crazy for the first minute of the drive. Took it to the dealer, he couldn't fix it!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2000

10th Jun 2002, 00:03

When warning others to shop around before purchasing a vehicle such as yours, you should state more examples of why you are disappointed with it. I read several other reviews praising the vehicle with several reasons to warrant such praise. I think I may buy one.

27th Nov 2004, 20:57

I obtained a '98 Pathfinder in August of 2000. It had 16000 miles on it. Now (November 2004) I just turned over 106,000 miles, and the vehicle has been mostly trouble-free. The only major non-routine repair has been replacement of the right-side exhaust manifold due to a crack. I am told by several other owners that this is a design defect, and might be replaced by Nissan if the truck has less than 100,000 miles. Bose stereo (factory option) is non-repairable by local shops, and must be sent to an independent specialty shop. Independent service facilities have served me well in doing routine maintenance. Change oil every 3 to 4 thousand miles; otherwise, follow Nissan maintenance recommended. Excellent vehicle, still running great and looking good.