1999 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews

1999 Nissan Pathfinder SE 6cy from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6cy Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

A great all around SUV

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong, I replaced the time belt, and I replaced the water pump as a preventive measure. I replace the battery every 24 months also as a preventive measure.

General Comments:

The vehicle is driven in a hot and humid area. No problems so far. A great SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2007

1999 Nissan Pathfinder LE 3.3L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

A smooth, attractive, expensive gas guzzler

Faults:

Shocks, Struts, breaks all wear out fairly quickly (about 100 000km in my case). Car has trouble starting in winter, fuel pump broke loose.

General Comments:

The Pathfinder is a fairly popular car among Canadians, however, it is not to my liking.

The car is fairly comfortable, and it has a lot of room with the seats folded. The interior is quite nice looking and driver-friendly. It is also an attractive vehicle.

However, the performance just sucks!!!

Acceleration is very bad, the maintenance costs are through the roof and my biggest dislike is the fuel economy. insurance costs are also high for this type of vehicle.

So, if you need ride quality, comfort, and cargo room, consider the pathfinder. But don't expect much more out of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2005

18th Oct 2005, 10:26

I very much agree with the comments made. This vehicle will not be nice to you if you do not have it regularly maintained. I don't even have 200,000km on my Pathfinder and I already have major problems. I got the shocks, struts replaced, fuel pump broke, the original paint is chipping off and I had to get the batteries replaced. I spent about $5000 getting it all fixed. Other than this pretty good vehicle.

1999 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

A classy SUV

Faults:

The CD player stopped working within a month and was replaced. The driver's window needed lubrication because it was going down so slowly.

General Comments:

This car is great on long trips except for gas mileage. It could also use a little more power for passing on hills. I find it comfortable and especially love the cargo room when you put the back seats down. It affords me all of the room I need to transport almost anything. It seems very well built and very reliable. The only really annoying thing that I find with this car is that on certain rough roads you do get some rattling. It has been checked and I have been told that everything is tight so the rattling mystery continues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd May, 2004

3rd Aug 2005, 11:38

1999 Nissan Pathfinder. 16 mpg-poor for 6 cylinder Nissan. Struts and shocks needed replaced and muffler pipes corroded at 70,000. Intake manifold gasket leaked at 72,000. 2-wheel drive not good on ice/snow in town, but go slow and smooth on icy mountain highways and is OK. 4WD is OK. Antenna broke-costs $300 to replace-said it needed the entire assembly, but I doubt it really did. Replace the transmission fluid when recommended, or engine starts to stall, fouls-very obvious. Remote entry replacement is $300. A/C doesn't get very cold, even after serviced. All recommended service due dates seem to be correct, or the sectors will actually break down or malfunction. I love it, but it is expensive and always needs the recommended maintenance items on time as recommended.

7th Oct 2005, 10:38

Pathfinders are prone to all the problems outlined by the previous comment. Shocks, struts, and exhaust system wear out very quickly. Mine barely has 175 KM and I had to replace all of these. (Not to mention the fuel pump). Performance is also questionable. Acceleration and power is atrocious. other than that, it's a fairly good vehicle.

12th Oct 2005, 13:44

Power brakes vacuum assist top hose check valve went out at 73,000 miles. At cold starts, it braked hard and had no brakes, or at least no power brakes, for a few seconds until vacuum system 'pressurized,' then it had brakes while driving, but when let sit (not running) for a few hours, vacuum lost pressure again. It was troublesome to figure out. Interesting-didn't cost much to fix, once it was diagnosed.

1999 Nissan Pathfinder SE from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance100100 kilometres
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

I now hate Nissan for its customer service

Faults:

Rust problem on tailgate.

The rear wiper broke and it tore the metal sheet, causing a 1"x2" spot of rust around the rear wiper.

It appeared after the 3ys/60000 km warranty and have to pay for this to return it (This was a lease).

Other than that, worked very well except a 30$ part called a link kit on the front right suspension that I had to change.

General Comments:

Great construction/Well built.

Warranty strictly applied by manufacturer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2003

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 4 reviews