2007 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews

2007 Nissan Pathfinder LE from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Frustrating

Faults:

Having the same problem as many of the 2005 Nissan Pathfinder owners are having - The inter-cooler cracked mixing antifreeze into the transmission.

This is a $6700 repair: $5000 for transmission and $1700 for new radiator, flushing, and fluids.

General Comments:

Loved this vehicle before this happened - Now just frustrated. Thought this design flaw would have been fixed with the 2005's. If you have a 2005-2007 Pathfinder, I would recommend getting a by-pass or other preventive measure before this happens to you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th December, 2009

2007 Nissan Pathfinder Elegance 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance99000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

Amazingly practical!

Faults:

We have had very minor issues with the Pathfinder. They are detailed below:

1. Dipping side mirror on passenger side failed - replaced under warranty

2. Rear passenger door handle snapped - replaced under warranty

3. Rear passenger rubber strip to stop water going in door broke - replaced under warranty

4. Passenger side door handle key hole capping broke - replaced under warranty

5. Squeaking suspension (front) - repaired under warranty - they couldn't tell us the cause but doesn't squeak anymore! :)

General Comments:

This is an amazing car. We have the 7 seater Elegance with all the options, leather, 3 zone climate etc.

We were looking for a large 7 seat SUV for over 6 months and the Pathfinder is the only one which satisfies all the criteria for us.

We live in a remote farming area and needed a "real" 4wd which could handle bad roads and fields if needed. Very few alternatives for this need. We also have 3 small children and wanted the flexibility to carry other passengers too. The seats in the boot are excellent compared with other SUVs in the same class.

We opted for the automatic and have been very happy. We understood from the start that performance and fuel economy would suffer, but after 6 months we are very happy with the decision. I did try a new manual 3 months ago, but prefer the auto still.

From the other reviews around the internet and on this forum too, I would highly recommend the Pathfinder if you need it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2009

2007 Nissan Pathfinder Aventura 2.5 TD1 Euro V from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 TD1 Euro V Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance1312 miles
Previous carToyota RAV4

Summary:

Brilliant go anywhere family transport

Faults:

Nothing - it's new.

General Comments:

It is as big as a Hampstead bedsit, weighs almost as much as three Lotus Elises, and struggles to get past a ton ten, but I freakin' LOVE this Pathfinder!

It is sumptuously comfortable, build quality seems peerless, stereo is fantastic, acres and acres of practical space, loads of toys and 27 mpg overall so far.

It doesn't matter slightly that it doesn't handle, or that rear visibility is so hopeless they had to fit a camera and a telly screen.

It's a riot to tack this thing around, and to surge along on 300 lb ft of torque from 1800 revs. It's the anti-Lotus, and all the better for it.

Incredible go-anywhere family servant, that thumbs its nose at more prestigious European badges, that are far worse 4x4's than this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2007

3rd Aug 2007, 12:46

Original poster here - a month later and this pathfinder has been FANTASTIC through the dreadful rain and weather!

In auto x4 mode it picks a path through deep fords, and offers a great sense of security. We had to drive through a field turned into mud soup by rains, and the pathie just glided across it.

Also used it to go on holiday in, a boot-full of luggage, four passengers and a dog hardly dents the lugging power.

Excellent car I am looking forward to putting a lot of miles on.

2007 Nissan Pathfinder from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10

General Comments:

This is a great buy for a large size SUV. I compared this with the 4Runner, and others, but this is by far the best looking, has more interior room and is very smooth to drive.

It's very high up in stance; when you are sitting in it, most other SUVs feel smaller when you pull up beside them.

I found some underground parking places too low in clearance for it, but if you need an all round SUV for winter and summer, loads of room in the back to haul stuff and very reliable, this is the choice.

I got four grand off sticker for it, from incentives, and it's the best price for the class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th June, 2007

15th Dec 2007, 20:41

I trade my Grand Cherokee for a Path, expecting that the advertised 270 hp would give me the same satisfaction when I floor it. Is there anyone who can explain me why my 190 hp Cherokee leaves it in the dust???

4th Mar 2008, 23:06

Because new Pathfinder drivers will most likely not race with you from the lights in your 190 hp Jeep. But trust me, they will race a new 4Runner...

18th Jun 2013, 23:56

Not sure why you "don't know" if you would buy another car from this brand if your Pathfinder is so amazing? Just wondering...

By the way, I also love my 2007 red Pathfinder, but I still like driving my 2000 Toyota 4Runner better. It simply feels more "truck-like", whereas the Pathfinder feels more like a van.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 4 reviews